LOve Life by Rob Lowe

1ca

I LOVE LOVE LOVED Rob Lowe’s book Things I Only Tell My Friends when I listened to it on audio in 2011.  His narration is superb and if you are an audio person and seriously even if you are not….) you are in for a super treat by listening to either of his books.

In Love Life, Rob (oh may I call him Rob?  😉  ) not only covers his loves through his life of family, relationships, and his sons; but also his love of acting.  Just listening to him share some of his moments from Behind The Candelabra, Killing Kennedy, The Stand, and Untouchable, just to name a few, caused me to go out and rent some of these movies.  Just a couple of days ago I watched Behind The Candelabra, and tonight I hope to see Untouchable; two of the movies Rob discusses as taking great liberties with his character and finding it to pay off. 

 

“Adventure is important in life. Making memories matters. It doesn’t have to be a secret seaplane and a historic sports moment, but to have a great life you need great memories. Grab any intriguing offer. Say yes to a challenge and to the unknown. Be creative in adding drama and scope to your lfe. Work at it like a job. Money from effort comes and goes, but effort from imagination and following adventure creates stories that you keep forever. And anyone can do it.”
Rob Lowe, Love Life

 

What is enjoyable about this audio for someone like me who grew up on his movies is not only the memories; but also to listen to his humor as he describes totally blowing lines during a live show where he actually gave away part of the plot that should not have been released yet; but in a panic recovered nicely.

It’s also refreshing to listen to someone who truly loves his wife and his family; and instead of the so often “its all about me you can hear in memoirs”, you can tell that Rob truly loves his wife as much as he did when he married her and adores his two sons who he has made a n effort as they have grown, to be a part of their every day lives, separating the husband and dad from the actor.

Finely written and utterly engaging, if you have any interest at all in the man, his career in front of the screen and behind the scenes), or the movies he partakes in the ones he wanted to be, and the ones he should have been in…. absolutely do not hesitate to read on listen to this book.

I eagerly await what he will write about next.

 

16 thoughts on “LOve Life by Rob Lowe

  1. Great! I loved his first book, and now I will read this one after your fine review. I really am not a movie goer – but who knows after reading this book. I loved him in the West Wing though. Will have to see if I can get the audio, or whether I will have to just read it.

  2. Enjoyed your review. I have read both books. Haven’t listened to the Love Life audio yet but will. I knew many of these stories. I heard him tell the Sasquatch story on Leno years ago when it just happened. But even though I knew a lot of them from following him for so many year; he went far more into the stories and draws you in with his writing. I laughed out loud at the coaching story. Cried at others. I like that they’re not chronological. The stories he chooses speak to a bigger theme. I got to meet him several times during A Few Good Men in London. So I loved those stories. He leaves you wanting more. Off to buy 3 more copies for gifts today. ^..^

  3. This looks like a good one! Have you read/listened to Billy Crystal’s recent memoir? I loved it, and your review made me think of it because he’s another actor who has a stable relationship with his wife, whom he’s been married to since his 20s. It was quite refreshing. (Plus I love Billy Crystal’s sense of humor.)

Hmmmm... what do you think?