It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between!  D  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner:

Lydia – The Lost Entwife


WOO HOO!!!!  Please choose an item out of the Reading Cafe Grab Shelves  and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

In case you wonder why I offer a book giveaway for those who visit others who do this meme, it is because I LOVE community.  Book Blogging is all about sharing our love for books with one another.  By visiting some of the other participants – you never know where you may find that next awesome read – or a blog that becomes one that you want to read more often.  :D

What a week.  I was at camp from Monday afternoon until Friday afternoon of this past week which was AWESOME and did not interfere with my reading whatsoever.  In fact I posted quite a bit this past week:

After by Amy Efaw (audio review and giveaway!)

The Help by Kathryn Stockett (audio review – SO GOOD!!!)

Cut by Patricia McCormick (book review)

Recap of my Camp experience – where I was and what I did

Meet My New Laptop  – Asus (Ah – uess)

Secrets Of Longevity by Dr. Moa Shing Ni (book review)

On top of all that I have two books almost completed and three audio that will end within the next day or two.  It really was a productive book week!  😀

For this week I am super excited.  I finally feel I am over that “book hump” where I just wasnt finding the time to read.  In fact I am tackling a series this week…. check it out. 

 

 

Chased by a madman preacher and possibly the rest of his townsfolk as well, young Todd Hewitt flees his settlement on a planet where war with the natives has killed all the women and infected the men with a germ that broadcasts their thoughts aloud for all to hear. This cacophanous thought-cloud is known as Noise and is rendered with startling effectiveness on the page. The first of many secrets is revealed when Todd discovers an unsettling hole in the Noise, and quickly realizes that he lives in a much different world than the one he thought he did.

Sometimes….. sometimes, it takes a swift crack to the head to get my going…. 😛  This past week I seen the third book in this trilogy and read a review on it that knocked my socks off.  Since then I have heard chatter about how awesome this series is and how you need all three and well – I bought all three.  😀 

 

 

 

 

Todd Hewitt, 13, is locked in a tower in New Prentisstown, a space colony, and separated from Viola, after the dramatic cliff-hanger in The Knife of Never Letting Go (Candlewick, 2008). Tracked down by the manipulative mayor of the all-male community he escaped, he is unaware that Viola is also under guard and recouping nearby. The noise that clatters through men’s minds makes it difficult for Todd to keep any secrets about his intentions to find Viola and accompany her on a mission to contact her people, who are on their way to colonize this unsettled and fractured new world. The previous war, which killed most of the women and made slaves of the aboriginal alien Spackles, has pitted the survivors against one another. The “Answer,” composed of women and a few men who lost daughters and mothers in the war, come to blows with the “Ask,” the mayor’s group of fundamentalist men and their Spackle slaves.

Yup -book two… I hope I love these… I could use a real strong series…. 😀

 

 

 

 

The genocidal tyrant Mayor Prentiss leads an army on one side, the terrorist healer Mistress Coyle heads a band of revolutionaries on another, and a massive legion of native Spackle threatens from a third. All three sides see only the complete annihilation of the others as the sole option for victory and survival, and they might be right, no matter how Todd and Viola use their formidable wills to advance peace as an influx of new colonists nears. It’s a thick book, approaching Russian-novel territory, but it rarely feels bloated; and readers invested in the story will likely concede that Ness has earned the space. His rapid-fire litany of impossible choices makes for captivating thought fodder, and what has already been a potent display of the power of voice to drive, amplify, and transform a story gets a third, unexpected soloist. And in so doing he shows just how deep and complex, as well as how versatile, a symbolic narrative device like Noise can be.

so.. the plan is – I love this series so much that I fly through them one after another.  At least… that s the plan.  😛

 

 

 

 

Many years have passed since civilization’s brush with apocalypse. The world’s greatest threats have all been silenced. There is no anger, no hatred, no war. There is only perfect peace… and fear. But a terrible secret has been closely guarded for centuries: Every single soul walking the earth, though in appearance totally normal, is actually dead, long ago genetically stripped of true humanity.

Fleeing pursuit, with only moments to live, a young man named Rom stumbles into possession of a vial of blood and a piece of cryptic writing. When consumed, the blood will bring him back to life. When decoded, the message will lead him on a perilous journey that will require him to abandon everything he has ever known and awaken humanity to the transforming power of true life and love.

But the blood will also resurrect hatred, ambition, and greed.

Yup – here I go, Dekker again.  This is for the next Faith In Fiction read. 

 

 

 

Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who one night dreams of a distant treasure in the Egyptian pyramids. And so he’s off: leaving Spain to literally follow his dream.

Along the way he meets many spiritual messengers, who come in unassuming forms such as a camel driver and a well-read Englishman. In one of the Englishman’s books, Santiago first learns about the alchemists–men who believed that if a metal were heated for many years, it would free itself of all its individual properties, and what was left would be the “Soul of the World.” Of course he does eventually meet an alchemist, and the ensuing student-teacher relationship clarifies much of the boy’s misguided agenda, while also emboldening him to stay true to his dreams. “My heart is afraid that it will have to suffer,” the boy confides to the alchemist one night as they look up at a moonless night.

“Tell your heart that the fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself,” the alchemist replies. “And that no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dreams, because every second of the search is a second’s encounter with God and with eternity.”

I have never experienced this read – and have to admit… I didn’t even know what it was about.  Already listening to it. 

 

 

Thats my week – I think I will be plenty busy with these and thank goodness for the long weekend coming up 😀

Now its time to see what you are reading – join in by adding your link to where it says “click here” below.

 

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

102 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. You had an awesome week Sheila and this one looks quite interesting. I have Forbidden on my shelves and I look forward to your thoughts on the Ness series. Have a wonderful week.

  2. Those should keep you busy for a while! I’ve just started Domestic Violets and it’s really good so far. I’m not sure what I’ll read next – maybe The Mailbox. Have a great week, Sheila!

  3. I still need to read the Chaos Walking trilogy too. I look forward to reading your thoughts!

    I am eager to try The Help on audio after reading the book and watching the movie. I really liked Octavia Spencer’s portrayal of Minnie in the film so I am excited to hear her give voice to the character on the audio.

  4. Our library is closing in mid september for a month to do some new wiring and carpeting (they are adding an entire wing – so exciting!) So anything we check out now we get to keep until Oct 24 – so I just picked up the three Patrick Ness books on audio tape! I also have Forbidden to read on my Nook for next month! Happy reading!

  5. I have Patrick Ness’s series on mt tbr, have heard so many good things about it and The Alchemist is another one I’ve been meaning to read for ages. Hope you have another productive week 🙂

  6. Hi Ms. Sheila! You really did have a great book week. Not to mention a great blog week!

    I just wanted to take a minute to say you are a wonderful blogger and a huge inspiration to all of us bloggers out there in the blogosphere. Keep up the great work! We ❤ you!

  7. I have seen this series too. I hope you enjoy it. I’ll be reading Forbidden in September. Now I have to go see your new computer. 🙂
    Have a great week!

    1. Well – its a win win for me Angie…. if I drive to the cabin (3 1/2 hours) we listen to audio… if Al drives I read… either way thats 7 hours of bookish time this weekend for sure – plus cabin laziness….LOL

  8. Oh you are in for such a huge treat with the Patrick Ness books! I remember reading the first few chapters of the first book and thinking, “Has everyone gone mad? People actually like this book?” but sticking with it because I trusted everyone who recommended it to me. Shortly thereafter I was hooked. 🙂

  9. Yes! I cannot wait to hear what you think of The Chaos Walking series! Wow. Just wow. They are unbelievable. Now, that being said…if for some reason you can’t get into the book version, well, and even if you do…you have to have to listen to the audiobook versions! The narrator, Nick Podehl, is one of my all time favorites. He really brought the whole series to life for me. You’ll love them! I can’t wait to hear what you think though! Enjoy!

    Have a fabulous reading week! 😉

  10. Great variety of books. I kept with my current obsession this week – SciFi, specifically dealing with space travel and drama. So much drama. 🙂

  11. Glad you liked The Help. One of my favourites this year. Such a good book. I have passed it round all my friends. I have read the first book by Patrick Ness and loved it. Hope you enjoy.

  12. You will like the Chaos Walking series. I am on book 3 and have really liked them! I was a bit aprehensive as I’ve been disappointed lately by the last book in a trilogy, but so far so good! Looking forward to Forbidden.

  13. I have the Chaos Walking series sitting on my bookshelf and have wanted to read it for quite a while, but something always pulls me from it. I hope you enjoy it as I’ve heard great things about it. I’m off to explore some sites, so enjoy your reading week.

  14. I read the Alchemist for the first time just a year or two ago. It was interesting. I’m sure it would have been a nice book to listen to. That series of books you found by Patrick Ness sounds excellent – and I don’t generally like YA. I’m adding them to my list of books to check out.

  15. I’ll be curious to see what you think of The Alchemist. Personally I loathed it when I read it years ago. It’s one of the possible summer reading books for my kids for 8th grade and two years running now I have insisted that they go with the other option because I refuse to endure the whining I know this one will result in (plus I won’t read it again to help them out in any way, shape, or form).

    1. I am listening to it on audio and enjoying it but I have a feeling if I had read this one I would not feel as connected…. some times the narration (story telling) is really what does it for me 😀

  16. I haven’t heard of any of these books, so I am looking forward to your reviews of them. I had a pretty slow reading week last week and am hoping this week it picks back up.

  17. This day just slipped away and I only made 22 stops and now I have to get off this computer. I can’t believe how fast time flew!! Have a great week Sheila!!

  18. I hadn’t heard of that series yet – looking forward to hearing what you think!

    I read The Alchemist years ago for a book group and enjoyed it. Very thought-provoking. Lots of quotes made it into my quote journal!

    Enjoy your books this week!

    Sue

Hmmmm... what do you think?