Beastly by Alex Flinn

Kyle Kingsbury is one good looking guy.  And… he knows it.  He is that guy that looks amazing, has a way with words, and has the money to back it up thanks to daddy.  Kyle can have any girl he wants and has her…. but one girl annoys him, the class freak Kendra.  She calls out Kyle every chance she gets and he makes a decision to get even.

At a school dance he sets Kendra up for an epic fail and humiliates her.  Feeling good about himself, as Kyle usually does, he goes home only to find that Kendra has also come to his home and curses him by telling him he will be just as ugly on the outside as he is on the inside.  Instantly, Kyle turns into a scarred, tattooed beast.

The cure, Kendra tells Kyle is to find someone who loves him for who he is on the inside.  And well…. good luck with that. 

Even the family money can not find a way to return Kyles looks and his father embarrassed now by his son sends him away to a home with his maid to live out his days out of the public spotlight. 

Will Kyle ever be able to find someone who could love him as hideous as he is when he can not even stand to look at himself? 

The movie Beastly: Also recommended

Honestly?  I had no intention of reading this book.  I think I seen the movie cover before I seen the book cover and it just screamed “Teen angst!” 

But then, as occasionally happens I read a review of this book over at my friend Reagan’s blog, Miss Remmers Reviews.  It was enough to make me curious and so I found a copy and poked my head inside. This is one of those books that even though you know that you know that you know the outcome – how it will all come together, even who the characters will be that makes it happen… it was still…

wonderful.

Yes – I too was surprised by my enjoyment of this book, so much in fact that after the read – I rented the movie and really enjoyed that as well.  Vanessa Hudgens and Alex Pettyfer do an amazing job together and it just made me fall more in love with this modern day retelling of Beauty and The Beast.

You may recall that I read and reviewed Cloaked, also by this author.  Alex Flinn has a way with putting a pretty interesting twist on the fairy tales of our past, and I enjoyed the modern day recap.

Amazon Rating

Good reads review

The 2011 WHERE Are You reading Map has been updated to include Beastly

I borrowed this book from my local library!

39 thoughts on “Beastly by Alex Flinn

  1. You know I debated about reading this one. I saw the movie and thought it was just ‘eh’ but I wondered if I had read the book would I have liked it more. I thought Neil Patrick Harris stole the show.

  2. Every time I see the movie trailer, I remember how much i want to see the movie. I felt the same way initially about the teen-angst element, but there’s just something about the concept that intrigues me. I’m glad to hear the book is just as good. Will have to watch or read soon. Thanks for the review 🙂

  3. “Beastly” is one of my favorites. I use it as a class novel with my sophomores and I love the reaction the boys give me. They complain that it is a “chick” book and refuse to read it. By the end of the first chapter they are the ones begging me to let them take it home so they can finish it on their own. 🙂

  4. My kids watched Beastly on the way back from California a few weeks ago (I was busy reading!) – they thought it was really good, too. Glad you enjoyed both the book and movie.

    Sue

  5. I haven’t read the book nor watched the movie so I’m pretty neutral. I definitely do not like the movie covers. I might give it a try one day.

  6. Haven’t read the book yet but my daughter and I watched the movie and I thought they did a good job of making a modern version without straying so far away from the tale that it was hardly recognizable.

  7. I love love love LOVE this book but I agree with you, the movie-tie in cover is awful! Too emo, too dark, too gothic too teen angst for a fairy tale book. I like the original cover much better. I have not read Cloaked but I want to. My husband read A Kiss in Time and loved it, and coming from a man that is saying a lot!

Hmmmm... what do you think?