It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

Hey there!  Welcome to It’s Monday, What Are You Reading!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme. Fair warning… this meme tends to add to your reading list!

What a busy week but I am on the other side of it. I think after today I will feel rested and ready for whats next. 🙂  (Myself and an amazing team ran a GIANT garage sale this weekend that raised $5,300.00 (lets just say…. I ache from moving stuff 😉 )

Not a lot of reading or computer time this past week but this is what I posted:

The Unbearable Book Club For Unsinkable Girls by Julie Schumacher

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green – 2nd time around and still FANTASTIC!

Sleep Donation by Karen Russell

I have reviews to write just need to get on it 🙂  Here is what I am planning on for this week:

For My Ears

 

1bPaintings have been falling off of walls, a loud and loyal dog has gone missing, a specter has been seen walking the pier at midnight — strange things are happening all over the town of Stain’d-By-The-Sea. Called upon to investigate thirteen suspicious incidents, young Lemony Snicket collects clues, questions witnesses, and cracks every case. Join the investigation and tackle the mysteries alongside Snicket, then turn to the back of the book to see the solution revealed.

 

 

1e

Billie Breslin has travelled far from her California home to take a job at Delicious, the most iconic food magazine in New York and, thus, the world. When the publication is suddenly shut down, the colourful staff, who have become an extended family for Billie, must pick up their lives and move on. Not Billie, though. She is offered a new job: staying behind in the magazine’s deserted downtown mansion offices to uphold the “Delicious Guarantee”–a public relations hotline for complaints and recipe inquiries–until further notice. What she doesn’t know is that this boring, lonely job will be the portal to a life-changing discovery.
Delicious! carries the reader to the colourful world of downtown New York restaurateurs and artisanal purveyors. And from the lively food shop in Little Italy where Billie works on weekends to a hidden room in the magazine’s library where she discovers the letters of Lulu Swan, a plucky twelve-year-old, who wrote to the legendary chef James Beard during World War II. Lulu’s letters lead Billie to a deeper understanding of history (and the history of food), but most important, Lulu’s courage in the face of loss inspires Billie to come to terms with her own issues–the panic attacks that occur every time she even thinks about cooking, the truth about the big sister she adored, and her ability to open her heart to love.

 

1eee

Paula McLain’s New York Times–bestselling novel piqued readers’ interest about Ernest Hemingway’s romantic life. But Hadley was only one of four women married, in turn, to the legendary writer. Just as T.C. Boyle’s bestseller The Women completed the picture begun by Nancy Horan’s Loving Frank, Naomi Wood’s Mrs. Hemingway tells the story of how it was to love, and be loved by, the most famous and dashing writer of his generation. Hadley, Pauline, Martha and Mary: each Mrs. Hemingway thought their love would last forever; each one was wrong.

Told in four parts and based on real love letters and telegrams, Mrs. Hemingway reveals the explosive love triangles that wrecked each of Hemingway’s marriages. Spanning 1920s bohemian Paris through 1960s Cold War America, populated with members of the fabled “Lost Generation,” Mrs. Heminway is a riveting tale of passion, love, and heartbreak.

 

I think that is the plan.  What is your plan? Please add your Its Monday What Are You Reading post link below where it says click here.

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

For those of you that read mainly middle grade and children’s books, be sure to also link to the younger version of It’s Monday by using the link below!

2aaa

22 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Hi there Sheila. I always love your posts about book clubs and share it in my bookclub’s FB page – lots to think about there. I am a huge fan of Lemony Snicket – do let me know how this new series is going! 🙂

  2. Garage sales are such hard work but sounds like it was very successful! I saw a good review for Delicious this week, hope you enjoy it too. Mrs Hemingway sounds fascinating. Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

  3. I read Delicious this week and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I may have to get the Snicket book for some of our long travels this summer as I think it would appeal to all of my kids and that’s no easy task!

  4. Sounds like a busy but productive week for you! I just read a review of Delicious in the newspaper yesterday – it looks great! Can’t wait to hear what you think.

    I see on your sidebar that your book group is reading Moloka’i next. We just read it for my online family book group, and I absolutely LOVED it! A really fascinating historical context and an endearing main character – hope you enjoy it!

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Book by Book is now on Facebook!

  5. You know, Sheila, I have THE FAULT IN OUR STARS at my bedside (in the midst of a dozen others in the “closer” queue) for a good year now. Still hasn’t made it into first place. WAY too much to read and no time to do it *sigh* And wow—the 2nd time? I’ve heard it’s great. It MUST be! 😀

Hmmmm... what do you think?