It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

Hey there!  Welcome to It’s Monday, What Are You Reading!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme. Fair warning… this meme tends to add to your reading list!

I had a nice quiet weekend would made for good reading and listening time.  Here is what I posted this week:

Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain

When Paper Hits The Road – (A lesson on censorship to close to home)

Movie Review:  Monument Men

The Author Line Up for Wine and Words 2014!  (VERY Exciting!)

All You Could Ask For by Mike Greenberg

 

And a fun post I was honored to be a part of – “Ask The Blogger” over at The Novel Life (this weeks topic, Social Media)

 

After having a nice afternoon of some reading today – I have stirred up an urge to keep on going… here is what I have planned for this week:

For My Ears

1d

Is it possible to write a sidesplitting novel about the breakup of the perfect marriage? If the writer is Nora Ephron, the answer is a resounding yes. For in this inspired confection of adultery, revenge, group therapy, and pot roast, the creator of Sleepless in Seattle reminds us that comedy depends on anguish as surely as a proper gravy depends on flour and butter.Seven months into her pregnancy, Rachel Samstat discovers that her husband, Mark, is in love with another woman. The fact that the other woman has “a neck as long as an arm and a nose as long as a thumb and you should see her legs” is no consolation. Food sometimes is, though, since Rachel writes cookbooks for a living. And in between trying to win Mark back and loudly wiching him dead, Ephron’s irrepressible heroine offers some of her favorite recipes. Heartburn is a sinfully delicious novel, as soul-satisfying as mashed potatoes and as airy as a perfect soufflé.

I started listening to this one today and am enjoying the humor… I dont think I have ever read Ephron before. 

 

 

 

1

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

I have so enjoyed Rainbow Rowells writing as of late, I would love to keep on going. 😀

 

 

 

For My Eyes:

1dd

When Felix Brewer meets Bernadette “Bambi” Gottschalk at a Valentine’s Dance in 1959, he charms her with wild promises, some of which he actually keeps. Thanks to his lucrative—if not all legal—businesses, she and their three little girls live in luxury. But on the Fourth of July, 1976, Bambi’s comfortable world implodes when Felix, newly convicted and facing prison, mysteriously vanishes.

Though Bambi has no idea where her husband—or his money—might be, she suspects one woman does: his mistress, Julie. When Julie disappears ten years to the day that Felix went on the lam, everyone assumes she’s left to join her old lover—until her remains are eventually found.

Now, twenty-six years after Julie went missing, Roberto “Sandy” Sanchez, a retired Baltimore detective working cold cases for some extra cash, is investigating her murder. What he discovers is a tangled web stretching over three decades that connects five intriguing women. And at the center is the missing man Felix Brewer.

Somewhere between the secrets and lies connecting past and present, Sandy will find the truth. And when he does, no one will ever be the same.

I am reading this one this week for a tour and am excited to start it!

 

I think it will be a good week to get in some good reads.  While I have a commitments each day, they are pretty small and I should be home most evening s for my favorite time to read. 🙂  I am curious what you are reading this week! Please add your link below where it says click here:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

For those of you that read mainly middle grade and children’s books, be sure to also link to the younger version of It’s Monday by using the link below!

2aaa

53 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I love Nora Ephron! One of my favorite books by her was I Feel Bad About My Neck. She is sorely missed! What a talent and a sense of humor she had!

  2. You picked some winners! I loved Heartburn (and the movie, starring Meryl Streep and Jack Nicholson is also fabulous!). Attachments and After I’m Gone are favorites of mine, too. Enjoy!

  3. Your Wine and Words event sounds great, good luck with it and hope it goes fantastic. I really want to read Attachments…

    Have an awesome week!

  4. Fascinating blog posts this week. Congrats on a great line up for the Friends! And, I can’t even with people thinking it’s ok to censor books. Everyone who wants to challenge or ban a book should be forced to read it and discuss it. Sometimes they just aren’t informed of the content. Have a great rest of your week!

  5. Nice to have a quieter weekend with reading time. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on Attachments, I loved Eleanor & Park. And I’m yet to read a Nora Ephron book, *my bad* … will wait for your verdict lol
    Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

  6. After I’m Gone will be the next one I’m reading this week as well, and Attachments looks like fun. Have a great week!

  7. I’m adding Attachments to my TBR List. I just read Fangirl for a bookclub pick and I have Eleanor and Park on my ereader. (posted link to my post for Central NJ JASNA)

  8. Looks like a great week of reading. I sadly haven’t heard of any of these books before but that’s half of the fun of this weekly. I’m always adding new books. Have a fantastic week. Thanks so much for hosting this lovely weekly. Happy reading

  9. For someone who doesn’t like creepy/scary… I enjoy Laura Lippman! I think I like that these books COULD happen and that makes it okay? or I”m crazy, you can decide (ha). I can’t wait to read this one.

Hmmmm... what do you think?