It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

Hey there!  Welcome to It’s Monday, What Are You Reading!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme. Fair warning… this meme tends to add to your reading list!

It was a pretty fair week I think – a little audio, a little reading.. here is what I posted this week:

This Part Was True by Deborah McKinlay (fantastic read!)

I Am Abraham by Jerome Charyn (incredible book!)

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – Bookies thoughts

Every Day by David Levithan (audio review)

Locking My Keys In The Car (non bookish….)

Masters Of DOOM by David Kushner (Narrated by my audio crush… ; ) )

 

As for what I will be listening to and reading this week:

For My Ears:

1cWest Hall, Vermont, has always been a town of strange disappearances and old legends. The most mysterious is that of Sara Harrison Shea, who, in 1908, was found dead in the field behind her house just months after the tragic death of her daughter, Gertie. Now, in present day, 19-year-old Ruthie lives in Sara’s farmhouse with her mother, Alice, and her younger sister, Fawn. Alice has always insisted that they live off the grid, a decision that suddenly proves perilous when Ruthie wakes up one morning to find that Alice has vanished without a trace. Searching for clues, she is startled to find a copy of Sara Harrison Shea’s diary hidden beneath the floorboards of her mother’s bedroom. As Ruthie gets sucked deeper into the mystery of Sara’s fate, she discovers that she’s not the only person who’s desperately looking for someone that they’ve lost. But she may be the only one who can stop history from repeating itself.

Kind of excited about this one!

For my Eyes:

1b

Brooke has been happily married to her college sweetheart for fifteen years. Even after the C-section, the dog poop, the stomach viruses and the coffee breath, Scott always winks at her in just the right moments. That is why, for her beloved, romantic, successful husband’s fortieth birthday, she is giving him pictures. Of herself. Naked.

Newlywed Samantha learns of her husband’s cheating heart when she finds the goods on his computer.

High-powered career woman Katherine works with heartbreaker Phillip, the man who hurt her early on in her career.          

Brooke, Samantha, and Katherine don’t know each other, but their stories are about to intertwine in ways no one could have imagined.

And all three are about to discover the power of friendship to conquer adversity, the satisfaction of unexpected delights, the incredible difference one human being can have on other lives–and that they have all they could ask for, as long as they have each other.

I’ve started this one and I am liking the quick pace.

 

I didn’t even start one of the books I said I was going to read last week so I am going to leave it at this. 😀  I would love to see what you are reading…. (seriously, I need more audio suggestions!)  Please add your “What Are You Reading” where it says click here.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

For those of you that read mainly middle grade and children’s books, be sure to also link to the younger version of It’s Monday by using the link below!

2aaa

50 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Winter People and All You Could Ask For both sound great. Love that Wil Wheaton is your audiobook crush. I love him from Star Trek NG and it makes me want to listen to Masters of Doom just because of him narrating. Ha ha.

  2. I’m curious about Winter People, and I love the cover. Elizabeth Chadwick’s The Summer Queen was brilliant on audio if you feel like some historical fiction.
    Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

  3. My commute is so short now—maybe five minutes!—that I rarely hear audio books. Wish I had some good ones to share with you.

  4. Just finished “The Turtle Catcher” by Nicole Lea Helget, one of our Wine and Words authors. Interesting Minnesota tale about German immigrants before and during World War 1. Put it on your list to read, Sheila, I want to discuss this with you!

  5. I’m starting Winter People today too. I was going to read the print but heard good things about the audio, so l’ll be listening instead. And since we are in the midst of yet another blizzard, I’ll have something to entertain me while stuck in the house.

  6. I just finished The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry on CD. I loved the story and the narration. On your recommendation, I plan to start Ready Player One audio in a few days after I finish up Billy Crystal’s Still Foolin’ Em (which is laugh out loud funny in many places and his narration is wonderful). Happy reading and thanks for the recommendations!

  7. I’ve read a lot of good reviews about Winter People – I hope you enjoy it! I’m in the middle of a few books but need to finish my book group book now. Book discussion tomorrow! 🙂

Hmmmm... what do you think?