It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme. Fair warning… this meme tends to add to your reading list!

Last week I was in Florida for a fun weekend with my college son. Thank you to Vicki at I’d Rather Be At The Beach for hosting while I was away. 😀

34

Since I came back Monday evening last week, I was able to put up a couple posts…

A little bit of the Florida recap

City Of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

A chance to feel like I was on on e of those “Picker” shows….

City Of Glass By Cassandra Clare

You may see a pattern in my reading… I am devouring the Mortal Instrument books!  As for what else I am reading/listening to…

2

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.
6aGrace Stanton’s life as a rising media star and beloved lifestyle blogger takes a surprising turn when she catches her husband cheating and torpedoes his pricey sports car straight into the family swimming pool.  Grace suddenly finds herself locked out of her palatial home, checking account, and even the blog she has worked so hard to develop in her signature style.  Moving in with her widowed mother, who owns and lives above a rundown beach bar called The Sandbox, is less than ideal.  So is attending court-mandated weekly “divorce recovery” therapy sessions with three other women and one man for whom betrayal seems to be the only commonality.  When their “divorce coach” starts to act suspiciously, they decide to start having their own Wednesday “Ladies’ Night” sessions at The Sandbox, and the unanticipated bonds that develop lead the members of the group to try and find closure in ways they never imagined.  Can Grace figure out a new way home and discover how strong she needs to be to get there? 
9In David Vann’s searing novel Goat Mountain, an 11-year-old boy at his family’s annual deer hunt is eager to make his first kill. His father discovers a poacher on the land, a 640-acre ranch in Northern California, and shows him to the boy through the scope of his rifle. With this simple gesture, tragedy erupts, shattering lives irrevocably.
 
In prose devastating and beautiful in its precision, David Vann creates a haunting and provocative novel that explores our most primal urges and beliefs, the bonds of blood and religion that define and secure us, and the consequences of our actions—what we owe for what we’ve done.
Thats what is  happening here.  What are you listening to?  Please add your Monday What Are You Reading post where it says click here. 😀

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

For those of you that read mainly middle grade and childrens books, be sure to also link to the younger version of It’s Monday by using the link below!

aaa1

20 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I really liked the first three books in the Mortal Instruments series. I am a fan of Mary Kay Andrews but I haven’t read Ladies Night yet. I did start it but never got to finish it. Goat Mountain looks like a good book discussion book.

  2. A little getaway to Florida sounds nice, looks like you had a great time. Goat Mountain sounds very interesting, and maybe shocking if what I think happens, happens. 🙂 That definetly sounds like a good one.

  3. You’re welcome, I loved hosting last week!
    I didn’t link up this week since I’m still reading the same books from last week, but I’ll be back next week.

    Glad you had such a good time in Florida!

Hmmmm... what do you think?