It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

3

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Under the new and hopefully improved 2013 guidelines, the winner each week will receive a $5 Amazon gift card.  This past weeks winner is:

*no winner… no one signed up for it 😛

 

What a fun week!  I had a library Friends board meeting, a fund raiser for the Library that raised $850.00, College son came to town and we had lunch and went rollerblading, a board meeting for Camp, and the BIG Survivor Finale tonight so a pretty good week!  😀  As far as the blog, well this is what happened here:

 

Return To Sullivan Island by Dorothy Benton Frank

 

 

While We Were Watching Downton Abbey by Wendy Wax (So much fun!)

 

 

For fishing opener a Fish Story

 

 

More to The Harry Potter story… it may be fan fiction.., but it’s also a Potter hit!

 

 

 

The Maze Runner by James Dashner (oooh its about time I read this one!)

 

 

It was a pretty good week… I actually posted, that was fun 😀 .  AND I am actually reading and moving forward on audio which feels like it has been a long time coming.  So here is what I am reading/listening to:

1a3

At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over working in teams. It is to introverts—Rosa Parks, Chopin, Dr. Seuss, Steve Wozniak– that we owe many of the great contributions to society. 

In Quiet, Susan Cain argues that we dramatically undervalue introverts and shows how much we lose in doing so. She charts the rise of the Extrovert Ideal throughout the twentieth century and explores how deeply it has come to permeate our culture. She also introduces us to successful introverts–from a witty, high-octane public speaker who recharges in solitude after his talks, to a record-breaking salesman who quietly taps into the power of questions. Passionately argued, superbly researched, and filled with indelible stories of real people, Quiet has the power to permanently change how we see introverts and, equally important, how they see themselves.

This is so me… I started this one a while ago and I am getting back to it now.  It really in interesting and accurate.

 

 

 

1a5

American life can be excessive, to say the least. That’s what Jen Hatmaker had to admit after taking in hurricane victims who commented on the extravagance of her family’s upper middle class home. She once considered herself unmotivated by the lure of prosperity, but upon being called “rich” by an undeniably poor child, evidence to the contrary mounted, and a social experiment turned spiritual was born.

7 is the true story of how Jen (along with her husband and her children to varying degrees) took seven months, identified seven areas of excess, and made seven simple choices to fight back against the modern-day diseases of greed, materialism, and overindulgence.

Food. Clothes. Spending. Media. Possessions. Waste. Stress. They would spend thirty days on each topic, boiling it down to the number seven. Only eat seven foods, wear seven articles of clothing, and spend money in seven places. Eliminate use of seven media types, give away seven things each day for one month, adopt seven green habits, and observe “seven sacred pauses.” So, what’s the payoff from living a deeply reduced life? It’s the discovery of a greatly increased God—a call toward Christ-like simplicity and generosity that transcends social experiment to become a radically better existence.

I have been fascinated about this book since I heard or if… now its time to read it!

 

How about you?  What are you reading this week?  Add you link below! 

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

And for those of you who read mainly YA or Middle grade books, feel free to also link up the younger version of # IMWAYR as well

3a

31 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Happy Mothers Day – of course its mid afternoon on Monday here in Australia so teh celebrations are long over but the Survivor finale still to come!

  2. 7 looks like an interesting book. I do like self-help and decluttering/simplification books. It’s always crazy how people are able to blog about some sort of experiment they’re doing and it becomes a book!

  3. I’ve heard of the Maze Runner (the only one I’ve heard of, besides Harry Potter, lol) A lot of the 6th graders at my school loved it. And the author visited one of the schools in our district. They won a contest, and he came to a class. The kids loved it. After that, interest in books picked up quite a bit – it was cool.

  4. Happy mothers day! I really want to know more about Downton Abbey… so many people are raving about it, and I am so clueless! 😦

  5. I still haven’t read Maze Runner. I’ve been so on the fence going back and forth… I should just bite the bullet and read it already or I’ll never be able to watch the movie. 🙂 I hope you have a fabulous week!

  6. I was watching Survivor last night as well. I was glad life long fan Cochran won. I really like Dawn at first but her paranoia just got to me and I guess to the other players too. Intrigued by the idea for next season. Feeling maybe it is a family against just a random group, Should be interesting./

    Visited 10 so far.

  7. Sounds like you had a fun and full week! Did you know that Jeff Probst wrote a children’s chapter book called Stranded? We bought it for our library, I am going to read it over summer break. 🙂

  8. Okie dokie. Visited about 20 blogs. And I listened to the audiobook of The Maze Runner and loved it. I really need to catch up with the rest of the series though.

  9. Hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day! 🙂 I visited 10 blogs this time. I’ve been slacking for a while so I took some time this morning to get around and comment. Thanks for hosting, as always! 🙂

  10. I have way too many books going at once right now –
    The Best of Us, The Mountains Echoed, Always Watching, The Round House, Calico Joe, The Eternity Cure, and Sullivan’s Island. (2 audios)

    If I don’t pick one to focus on, I won’t finish any of them before July!

Hmmmm... what do you think?