It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

3

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Under the new and hopefully improved 2013 guidelines, the winner each week will receive a $5 Amazon gift card.  This past weeks winner is:

 

Earl from Chronicles of A Childrens Book Writer!

 

I am super pumped!  I just came off a HIGHLY productive weekend and that always makes me feel good.  Saturday I tackled College Sons bedroom packing up all the papers and posters and goodies he left when he went to college 4 years ago and then proceeded to redo the room with its own full makeover, painting, etc…. in with that I mixed in serving at church from 3:30 – 6:30 on Saturday and 9 – 11 on Sunday, a benefit Saturday evening followed by a concert, and today I spoke this afternoon to a group of people about the camp I work with, grocery shopped, shampooed the downstairs carpet…. and listened to audio 😀

 

So what actually was posted this week?

BEA:  Book Blogger Connection form.  With a little prodding (and poking!) a few book bloggers encouraged me tos et up a BEA connections form for those of us going tp the book expo at the end of this month.  This form is so those going can know who else if going and maybe plan a dinner together one night as a group.  Everyone who signs up will get a copy of the connections spreadsheet.  If you, or some book blogger you know is going to go to BEA please direct them to this form. 😀

 

Requiem by Laurel Oliver (Its not often that the third book in a trilogy trumps the first two… but I think it just happened!)

 

The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater (wow.  Maggie does it again but in a whole different way)

 

I did ok this week and I have been cruising on the audio I have going now believing I will finish all three this week and start new ones, as well as the book I am reading.  The plan for this week is:

1

AFTER FOUR HARROWING YEARS ON THE WESTERN Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day’s journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby’s cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby.

Tom, who keeps meticulous records and whose moral principles have withstood a horrific war, wants to report the man and infant immediately. But Isabel insists the baby is a “gift from God,” and against Tom’s judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. When she is two, Tom and Isabel return to the mainland and are reminded that there are other people in the world. Their choice has devastated one of them.

Sounds good right?

 

 

 

1a3

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

I have been listening to this one this weekend and holy smokes it is good!

 

 

 

There will be more audio but I am tired and running late on this post so this is what it is. 😀  How about you, what are you reading this week?  Please add your link below where it says click here:

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

And for those of you who read mainly YA or Middle grade books, feel free to also link up the younger version of # IMWAYR as well

3a

43 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Wow, sounds like you did have an amazing weekend! I worked and did some grocery shopping. I wanted to do some cleaning but that didn’t happen. Big surprise…

    I’ve heard really good things about The Light Between Oceans. I think it sounds like a good book for discussion and I look forward to hearing what you think of it!

  2. Glad you had a good weekend. Great idea with the spreadsheet for BEA. I may get there some day.
    Good to know you liked The Raven Boys and The Maze Runner is one that sounds good to me. Have a great week!

  3. I love the cover of The Light Between Oceans and it sounds good too! Congratulations on a productive weekend! Enjoy your week!

  4. Awesome, I love winning things! Thanks! It’s great to come off a productive weekend. Hopefully it’ll carry over to the week ahead. And, it’s true what you wrote that hardly the final book in a series manages to bring the books justice. Although, some do!

  5. Wow a very busy, productive week. The Light Between Oceans was sad and beautiful and I loved The Maze Runner, actually listening to The Scorch Trials now. Have another great week and enjoy your reads 🙂

  6. I’ve heard good things about The Maze Runner series but never looked in to it myself. Although I am trying to stay off of series for a while. I look forward to your thoughts on it.

  7. I can’t wait to read Raven Boys! It seems as if Maggie is able to write stories that are so different from each other, I was surprised like that with The Scorpio Races.

    Light Between Oceans seems really awesome, and I want to read The Maze Runner as well. You have some great choices here for this week, Sheila 🙂

    I have added your link on my blog post again, please let me know if you’d rather I didn’t!

    Here’s my It’s Monday!… post for this week. Happy reading 🙂

  8. The audio of Raven Boys is downloaded on my iPhone, and Requeim is waiting on my Kindle! I liked Light Between Oceans – we read it for my book club. Have fun reading this week!

  9. Sounds like you had a very productive weekend. Just like you I caught the Spring cleaning bug and tackled the backyard and part of the garage yesterday. Enjoy your reading!

  10. I’ve heard The Light Between Oceans is wonderful. I listened to The Maze Runner with my kids on a long trip and while my daughter and I were bored silly, my sons both enjoyed it and the oldest went on to read the rest of the series. Hope you enjoy both books.

  11. I’m missing a book club discussion this week on Lt Between Oceans; it’s got lots of great stuff in it to think about.

  12. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Hmmmm... what do you think?