It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

3

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Under the new and hopefully improved 2013 guidelines, the winner each week will receive a $5 Amazon gift card.  This past weeks winner is:

BookGoil!

(Congratulations!  I will email you the gift card)

It was a good week! I was busy and am still (STILL!) listening to the same three audio books but, I feel I am moving forward.

Here is what I posted:

The BIG reveal of the author event I have been working on – Wine and Words!

Book Chat with Randall Arthur (author of the unbelievably good Forgotten Road)

 

Wow.  No book reviews.  No audio reviews.  😯  That may be a first.  Hopefully, a last.  I have Sarah Pekkanen’s new book reviewed and ready to go live tomorrow and the book club book will be posted this week as well.  With a little luck, I can finish some audio. 

As far as this week, I am keeping it light… one book:

 

1a9

Once, a long time ago, I walked down a night-darkened road called Firefly Lane, all alone, on the worst night of my life, and I found a kindred spirit. That was our beginning. More than thirty years ago. TullyandKate. You and me against the world. Best friends forever. But stories end, don’t they? You lose the people you love and you have to find a way to go on. . . .

 

Tully Hart has always been larger than life, a woman fueled by big dreams and driven by memories of a painful past. She thinks she can overcome anything until her best friend, Kate Ryan, dies. Tully tries to fulfill her deathbed promise to Kate—to be there for Kate’s children—but Tully knows nothing about family or motherhood or taking care of people.

Sixteen-year-old Marah Ryan is devastated by her mother’s death. Her father, Johnny, strives to hold the family together, but even with his best efforts, Marah becomes unreachable in her grief. Nothing and no one seems to matter to her . . . until she falls in love with a young man who makes her smile again and leads her into his dangerous, shadowy world.

Dorothy Hart—the woman who once called herself Cloud—is at the center of Tully’s tragic past. She repeatedly abandoned her daughter, Tully, as a child, but now she comes back, drawn to her daughter’s side at a time when Tully is most alone. At long last, Dorothy must face her darkest fear: Only by revealing the ugly secrets of her past can she hope to become the mother her daughter needs.

A single, tragic choice and a middle-of-the-night phone call will bring these women together and set them on a poignant, powerful journey of redemption. Each has lost her way, and they will need each one another—and maybe a miracle—to transform their lives.

An emotionally complex, heart-wrenching novel about love, motherhood, loss, and new beginnings, Fly Away reminds us that where there is life, there is hope, and where there is love, there is forgiveness. Told with her trademark powerful storytelling and illuminating prose, Kristin Hannah reveals why she is one of the most beloved writers of our day.

Fly Away Home is a sequel to Firefly Lane and a pleasant surprise for those of us who read and loved that book… (I still remember exactly where I was when I finished reading Firefly Lane. 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

And for those of you who read mainly YA or Middle grade books, feel free to also link up the younger version on IMWATR as well

3a

39 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. You would think that reading a lot of books at one time the way we do, the finish dates would be spaced out pretty evenly. But no. Not for me anyway. I keep finishing and starting everything at the same time, so it’s either feast or famine. Good luck with your books this week!

  2. I need to read Firefly Lane. I have always loved the cover of that book! Garlic and Sapphires sounds like an interesting book. I look forward to hearing what you and your book group thought of it. I am always looking for ideas of books for my book discussion groups to read. Have a great week!

  3. Ooooohhh–I can’t wait to read Fly Away. Love me some Kristin Hannah!

    You have GOT to read One For the Murphys if you haven’t already read it. It’s a book for about 4th grade and up. I think you will LOVE it! 🙂

    Can’t wait to visit some blogs tomorrow night but for now I must sleep…..

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

  4. You had a big week with the launch of Wine & Words … congrats!! I love Kristin Hannah and can’t wait to read Fly Away Home, just have to read Firefly Lane first. I think I’ve now read 5 of her books just not that one, not sure why?

  5. I still haven’t read Firefly Lane though its been on my shelf for ages!
    Have a great week!

  6. I haven’t read Kristin Hannah yet but, from what my sister says, her books aren’t light – you’re gonna need a box of tissues handy. Have a great week, Sheila!

  7. I can’t wait to read Fly Away, like everyone else! 🙂 Hope you have a great reading week! (I’ve been to 20 blogs this morning! Everyone is reading such great stuff!!!)

  8. Good for you for picking a reasonable amount of books this week. I always have a problem with setting the reading bar too high and then at the end of the week I usually don’t even get half of the list I want done. I haven’t heard of the book you’re going to be reading this week but I wish you luck and I hope you enjoy it. I hope you have an amazing Monday!

    My Post: It’s Monday!

    Reese’s @Reese’s Reviews: MA2F

  9. Pingback: Citizen Wife
  10. Oh, wow! I didn’t know there was a sequel to Firefly Lane! I loved that book – like you said, I remember exactly where and when I read it (by my neighbor’s pool – she lent it to me), and I cried my eyes out 3 separate times during the course of the novel – lol

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

    Book By Book

  11. I visited twenty blogs during the week and left a comment on each one.
    I am reading Knots and Crosses by Ian Rankin.

  12. I just visited 20 more blogs and left a comment on each one.
    That means I have visited 40 blogs this week.

Hmmmm... what do you think?