It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

3

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Under the new and hopefully improved 2013 guidelines, the winner each week will receive a $5 Amazon gift card.  This past weeks winner is:

 

Tanya at Mom’s Small Victories!!!!

 

Well I was pretty much absent this week.  I wasn’t planning on being absent but working hard and playing hard usually means something has to give and unfortunately this past week it was this space here.  Bookclub was last Tuesday, Wednesday I was working out with friends, Thursday was wine and horduerves with my cousins, and I was gone over the weekend doing a 7k In the cities and I took my laptop with me but had little time to be on it.  Hope fully this upcoming week will be a better turn out.  Here is what I did manage to post this week:

 

The Tale Of Lucia Grandi by Susan Speranza

 

BIG News from here!

 

Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli (Bookies Review!)

 

 

That’s all 😀  This week I am at the Pink concert Tuesday evening (I know.. I know.. so mature of me 😛  ) and then I am helping at the Library book sale Thursday – Saturday so I am going to hope to get in a little reading:

 

1a2

I have been standing on the side of life, watching it float by. I want to swim in the river. I want to feel the current.
So writes Mamah Borthwick Cheney in her diary as she struggles to justify her clandestine love affair with Frank Lloyd Wright. Four years earlier, in 1903, Mamah and her husband, Edwin, had commissioned the renowned architect to design a new home for them. During the construction of the house, a powerful attraction developed between Mamah and Frank, and in time the lovers, each married with children, embarked on a course that would shock Chicago society and forever change their lives. In this ambitious debut novel, fact and fiction blend together brilliantly. While scholars have largely relegated Mamah to a footnote in the life of America’s greatest architect, author Nancy Horan gives full weight to their dramatic love story and illuminates Cheney’s profound influence on Wright. Drawing on years of research, Horan weaves little-known facts into a compelling narrative, vividly portraying the conflicts and struggles of a woman forced to choose between the roles of mother, wife, lover, and intellectual. Horan’s Mamah is a woman seeking to find her own place, her own creative calling in the world. Mamah’s is an unforgettable journey marked by choices that reshape her notions of love and responsibility, leading inexorably ultimately lead to this novel’s stunning conclusion.

 

 

 

1a4a

Women-to-women relationships in the workplace are . . . complicated. When they’re good, they’re great. But when they’re bad, they can ruin your day, your week—even your year.

Packed with proven advice from two of today’s leading experts in workplace relationships, this one-of-a-kind guide gives women the tools they need to navigate difficult situations unique to women-to-women relationships—whether with a boss, a colleague, a client, or an employee.

Have you dealt with a woman in the workplace who:

  • “Accidentally” excludes you from important meetings?
  • Seems intent on taking you down professionally?
  • Gossips about you with other coworkers?
  • Makes you look bad by missing deadlines?
  • Forms a “pack” of mean girls to make your life miserable?

Mean Girls at Work isn’t just about surviving difficult situations. It’s about transforming a toxic relationship into one that benefits and supports both of you.

This book is also for women who engage in mean behavior . . . but don’t know it. After all, who hasn’t gossiped about a female coworker? Who hasn’t rolled her eyes in the presence of a woman she doesn’t like? Who hasn’t scanned another woman head to toe—which is just a nonverbal way of saying, “You’ve just been judged”? The authors provide invaluable advice to the more subtle ways of being mean—even if they’re not intended.

 

For the record – I do not work with a mean girl… I work with an awesome girl…. I just think the book sounds interesting 😀

 

I want to read more than this, but I am going to keep it low this week.  How about you – what are you reading and how is your reading this time of year?  Add your post to the line below where it says click here.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

For those of you who review mainly Middle Grade (MG) and/or Young Adult (YA) reads, please also add your link to this meme as well:

3a

31 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I made a mistake and my entry at number 4 links to last week’s post. Can you please delete that if you have a chance, Sheila? Sorry for the confusion. I entered the correct link later. Thank you!

  2. I have Loving Frank on my list but I haven’t gotten to it yet. Enjoy your week!

  3. are you reading Loving Frank as a first time read? I really liked this one! I didn’t know the big moment in the book – was shocked! Enjoy 🙂

  4. Have so much fun at the concert I saw pictures from a friend’s Pink adventure and it looked like an amazing production

  5. A full busy life full of things that you enjoy is perfection… Congratulations on getting to work on such an exciting literary event! Have fun at your library book sale and I hope people buy lots of books!

  6. I used to work with a bunch of Mean Girls at a an all female workplace – *shudder*

    Enjoy your reading week

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  7. My book club read Loving Frank a couple of years ago and everyone really liked it. Horan is a very talented writer. It looks like the Bookies had another amazing meeting to discuss Milkweed! Have fun at Pink! That should be an amazing show.
    Happy Reading!
    Rebecca

  8. This week I am going to finish Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt (it’s due on Thursday!). Next up is Midnight Blue-Light Specieal by Seanan McGuire (or maybe Beautiful Creatures). Also would like to get How to Talk to your Cat and Uh-Oh Some Observations from Both Sides of the Refrigerator Door out of the way.

  9. I’ve read nothing but great things about Loving Frank. I hope you enjoy your books. Yay for the Pink concert! Pink is amazing no matter what age you are. 🙂

  10. Loving Frank has been in my TBR pile for months. I really want to read it… I’ll get to it, just.. so many books, so little time. :~)

  11. Wow, I entered late today but what a pleasant surprise! Thanks for the prize! I love reading everyone’s recommendations and lose all concept of time when I visit the great bloggers that have linked up.

    The latest Pink song is totally my anthem when I get up in the morning, “You’ve gotta get up and try, and try, and try…Gotta get up and try, and try, and try”. With a full time job, 3 boys, a blog, a chronic illness, all i can do is keep trying. Love that song and I’m jealous you’re going to the concert too!

    Thanks again! Look forward to visiting some other blogs tomorrow. Good night for now!

  12. Thanks so much for coming up with such a fun meme! I discovered so many great blogs through it, and commenting on 10+ blogs felt like a breeze. Have a lovely week and all the best to you!

  13. Mean Girls at Work looks interesting. I think that’s a common trend at many workplaces. Hope you enjoy your books and have a great week!

    I did visit (and commented on) ten blogs today too. 🙂

Hmmmm... what do you think?