Into The Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes

1a8

In 2007 Catherine Bailey is afraid.  She is afraid to leave her home.  She is afraid to be in public.  She double checks door locks. Locked in her own world of OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder) her inner fears have completely taken over her life.  (If you have ever seen the movie Copy Cat – and I highly recommend you do – it is something like that).

But things were not always this way for Catherine Bailey.  Flash back 4 years to 2003 and you find Catherine was a bright confident business woman.  She has a great group of friends and enjoys the company of men.  One man in particular has her captivated and really… this is where Catherine’s life starts to unwind in a way that seems to spiral faster and faster out of control….

Written in a “then and now” sort of style, readers slowly see what happened to cause Catherine’s world to collapse as the past connects to the present and beyond… and things really are not over… until they are OVER.

 

 

My thoughts…

Holy creepfest batman.

As I prepared to write this review I am still dealing with a multiple of thoughts running through my head.  One thought thinks, “this felt a little like Gone Girl… crazy twists and turns!”  Another thought is going “I want to watch Copy Cat again… this book reminded me of the beginning of that movie!”  But as I write… I know saying either of these things (even though I did) does not give the book its own identity and I can tell you, Into The Darkness deserves its own identity. 

Is it flawless?  Of course not.  There was a section that felt a little long-winded to me while I waited to get to something… something… more.  (Fear not dear reader, MORE is exactly what I got.

Overall… the word “IMPRESSED” seems to really sum it up.  Well written, exciting, and a warning that there are a couple harsh moments (gory?  graphic?) that I feel I should mention, but I must say that they are again, well written, and dare I say necessary to give you the full reality of what is happening. 

Looking for a good evening curl up and say “NO WAY!” read?  Grab a copy of Into The Darkness. 

 

 

Thank you to the AMAZING team at TLC Book Tours

that placed a copy of this thought provoking read in my hot little hands.

9

19 thoughts on “Into The Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes

  1. The movie Copy Cat that I’m thinking of was from several years ago, with Sigourney Weaver…is that the one? She couldn’t leave her house…she was agoraphobic. Maybe there’s another Copy Cat movie that I don’t know about….

    Anyway, the book sounds good, and when you compare it to Gone Girl, I definitely want to learn more.

  2. This was the book I read immediately after Gone Girl! I LOVED it and couldn’t believe I had gotten so lucky to get 2 fantastic books in a row! I recommended this to Lori N. and I think she read it too. Great book!

  3. This was such a GOOD book but oh so dark! I had a hard time putting it down but at the same time I didn’t want to know what was going to happen next 🙂 I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it as well. I’m looking forward to reading more by this author!!!!

  4. I loved this book too, wasn’t it creepy? She has a new book coming out, Dark Tide. I thought I asked for a review copy, but I am not sure now. Anyway, looking forward to that too.

Hmmmm... what do you think?