It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

3

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Under the new and hopefully improved 2013 guidelines, the winner each week will receive a $5 Amazon gift card.  This past weeks winner is:

 

Angie S!!!!

 

It was a fairly decent week, I feel like I am Stella… and I am starting to get my grove back.  😛  What does that mean?  It means, I am enjoying books again!  Not that I didn’t enjoy books, but that I didn’t have time to enjoy books if that makes sense.  I am coming off a HUGE busy season and books while logged to read… were not. 

Finally… I am reading again.  SO what happened here this past week:

 

The Road by Cormac McCarthy (I felt it was a must read in my lifetime… see if I was right.  😀 )

 

In The Belly Of Jonah by Sandra Brannon (Our book club read and oooohhhh so much fun – check out what the author sent us for our review!)

 

 

Gods In Alabama by Joshilyn Jackson.   *Audio book lovers, do not pass on this one!!!!*

 

 

Not too bad this week.  I actually had some book time and with Monday and Tuesday off this week (YAY!!!) that should continue.  Here is what is on tap:

 

1a5

What happens when happily ever after…isn’t?

     Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah.

     And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped by his literary existence and hates that his entire life is predetermined. He’s sure there’s more for him out there in the real world, and Delilah might just be his key to freedom.

     Delilah and Oliver work together to attempt to get Oliver out of his book, a challenging task that forces them to examine their perceptions of fate, the world, and their places in it. And as their attraction to each other grows along the way, a romance blossoms that is anything but a fairy tale.

 

 

 

 

1a6

On Long Island, a farmer finds a duck pond turned red with blood. On the Lower East Side, two boys playing at a pier discover a floating human torso wrapped tightly in oilcloth. Blueberry pickers near Harlem stumble upon neatly severed limbs in an overgrown ditch. Clues to a horrifying crime are turning up all over New York, but the police are baffled: There are no witnesses, no motives, no suspects.
 
The grisly finds that began on the afternoon of June 26, 1897, plunged detectives
headlong into the era’s most baffling murder mystery. Seized upon by battling media moguls Joseph Pulitzer and William Randolph Hearst, the case became a publicity circus. Reenactments of the murder were staged in Times Square, armed reporters lurked in the streets of Hell’s Kitchen in pursuit of suspects, and an unlikely trio–a hard-luck cop, a cub reporter, and an eccentric professor–all raced to solve the crime.
 
What emerged was a sensational love triangle and an even more sensational trial: an unprecedented capital case hinging on circumstantial evidence around a victim whom the police couldn’t identify with certainty, and who the defense claimed wasn’t even dead. The Murder of the Century is a rollicking tale–a rich evocation of America during the Gilded Age and a colorful re-creation of the tabloid wars that have dominated media to this day.

I have no idea how this got on my IPOD.  Do I download it?  I can’t recall but I am listening to it…

 

 

 

1a7

In the isolated Cape Cod village of Prospect, the Gilly sisters are as different as can be. Jo, a fierce and quiet loner, is devoted to the mysteries of her family’s salt farm, while Claire is popular, pretty, and yearns to flee the salt at any cost. But the Gilly land hides a dark legacy that proves impossible to escape. Although the community half-suspects the Gilly sisters might be witches, it doesn’t stop Whit Turner, the town’s wealthiest bachelor, from forcing his way into their lives. It’s Jo who first steals Whit’s heart, but it is Claire–heartbroken over her high school sweetheart–who marries him.

Years later, estranged from her family, Claire finds herself thrust back onto the farm with the last person she would have chosen: her husband’s pregnant mistress. Suddenly, alliances change, old loves return, and new battle lines are drawn. What the Gilly sisters learn about each other, the land around them, and the power of the salt, will not only change each of their lives forever, it will also alter Gilly history for good.

OOH,  doesn’t this sound good?

So that’s my reading plan and I am THRILLED about it.  I also want to see what you are reading this week!  Please add your What Are You Reading link below where it says click here and then others can come and see what you are reading as well.  You never know where that next great read may come from….

(On Twitter our hashtag is #IMWAYR)

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

For those of you who review mainly Middle Grade (MG) and/or Young Adult (YA) reads, please also add your link to this meme as well:

3a

71 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Between the Lines was imaginative but I had issues with it, hope you enjoy it Sheila. And The Gilly Salt Sisters sounds great. Happy reading now you’ve got your groove back lol

  2. I’m glad you liked Road. I’ll have to take a look at Gods in Alabama on Audible.
    BTW- did you receive my email? Just let me know when you get a chance….no rush. 🙂
    Have a great week!

  3. Am glad you are enjoying books again now you have more time – I know the feeling! 🙂 I loved The Road, although as you said it is extremely depressing!

  4. I didn’t know that Tiffany Baker had another book out. The Gilly Salt Sisters sounds really good and I will definitely be checking to see if my library has the audio of it!

    Have a great week!

    1. I read THE ROAD, and I don’t think you should feel that it is a necessary read in your life. I sure could have lived without it. People talk it up a lot, but I wasn’t impressed.

  5. Oh, I have been wanting to read Between the Lines – I am a big fan of Picoult but haven’t read her last several novels, and this one is especially intriguing since she co-wrote it with her daughter. Can’t wait to see what you think!

    Will go check out your review of The Road – I didn’t read the book but saw the movie – talk about depressing! I didn’t like how hopeless it was – I prefer a glimpse of hope in my post-apocalyptic stories!

    Enjoy your books this week – glad you are back on track!

    Sue

    Book By Book

  6. The Road, it sits in my tbr glaring at me. I will read it someday but I’m almost afraid to. I can do bleak but this one sounds like the bleakest thing ever written and I’m not quite up for that right now.

      1. 🙂 My hubby has brought home the dreaded flu bug and shared it WITH ME!! I visited 20 blogs and I am going to take a bunch of meds and try to kick this thing outta me ASAP!!!

  7. I checked out Between the Lines at the library, but returned it unread. Too many books checked out at once. So, how is Forgotten? This is the only book by the author I have yet to read. I loved Arranged and Spin, so I think I will enjoy this one too.

    I commented on 11 blogs.

  8. Glad you’re getting your reading groove back.
    I’ve gotten to read more since I settled in at my Mom’s a week ago. Also got to visit my childhood library armed with my sister’s card. 🙂

  9. The Road…loved that book! Let me know when you’ve seen the movie. I want to know what you thought of it. Great reading plans too. The Gilly Salt Sisters sounds intriguing.

    Have a great week, Sheila!

Hmmmm... what do you think?