It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

 

Last weeks winner: Sam from The Little Munchin Reader!

Congratulations!  Please choose a book or bookish item from the Reading Cafe!

Email me your choice at journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

Well it is another Sunday and I am pretty sure  I posted nothing this week besides a couple morning posts to say “heyyy….. I am alive”. 😀  My week was so busy each night that I did not pick up a book all all – until today.  I did get some audio time in but I did not finish any… just made a dent.  I do have a few posts to write but did not get them finished yet.

So I will move right on to the next section… what I plan to read this week.

Nashville music star and family man, Cole Michaels, is persuaded to embrace an ‘American Dream’ theology that promises comfort, happiness, and success. But when the unimaginable happens, Cole blames God and abandons his faith. More vulnerable than ever, he is clueless that an evil character with an unspeakable secret is using every available resource to find him.

Can two old sages, a beautiful blonde, a violin called the Mysterious Lady, and a Triumph motorcycle help prepare Cole for his ultimate trial?

Many (many) years ago I read this author and LOVED his writing.  I watched his sire for years and seen no clue of anything new coming out so I kind of forgot about him.  I was thrilled when he emailed me a little while ago to say he seen my reviews and would like to know if I would review his new book.  Uh – YEAH!!!! 😛

In a Norman Rockwell town in North Carolina, where residents rarely lock homes, retired army colonel John Matherson teaches college, raises two daughters, and grieves the loss of his wife to cancer. When phones die and cars inexplicably stall, Grandma’s pre-computerized Edsel takes readers to a stunning scene on the car-littered interstate, on which 500 stranded strangers, some with guns, awaken John’s New Jersey street-smart instincts to get the family home and load the shotgun. Next morning, some townspeople realize that an electromagnetic pulse weapon has destroyed America’s power grid, and they proceed to set survival priorities. John’s list includes insulin for his type-one diabetic 12-year-old, candy bars, and sacks of ice. Deaths start with heart attacks and eventually escalate alarmingly. Food becomes scarce, and societal breakdown proceeds with inevitable violence; towns burn, and ex-servicemen recall “Korea in ’51” as military action by unlikely people becomes the norm in Forstchen’s sad, riveting cautionary tale, the premise of which Newt Gingrich’s foreword says is completely possible.

I think (I hope!) this is a book my friend Amy recommended to me about a year ago.  I am anxious to give it a try.

I think the audio’s I am listening to this week will be ending and that will generate dome reviews.  I also have a movie review and my book club review to finish.

This week should be more productive with another quiet weekend coming up 🙂 

So… I am curious what are you reading?  Please add your Its Monday link below where it says click here.  I am hoping to get around to visit many of you this week.  Thank you all for making this meme so much fun!  😀  If you post about this meme on Twitter please use the hastag IMWAYR.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

 

and those of you who read mainly children’s through YA reads – please also link your post here:

24 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Ideas “One Second After” and I really enjoyed it ! It makes you really stop and think about how well you are prepared for a disaster.

  2. Ah – one of those busy with life weeks! I listened to One Second After and enjoyed it. But when I went to look I realized I never did post a review, just the rating. Ah well. Life does get busy. 🙂 Have a great week.

  3. Looks like a GREAT reading week for you.

    I am reading an e-book called CROSSED by C. J. Graves. I just finished an amazing book THE AVIATOR’S WIFE by Melanie Benjamin. Review on my blog.

    My next read will probably be THE SECRET KEEPER by Kate Morton or LIVE BY NIGHT by Dennis Lehane.

    Have a great week everyone. I didn’t put up a post for this meme.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  4. Forgotten Road looks good! I hopped around the blogs and found a couple new ones to add to my TBR. Thanks for hosting this!

  5. One Second After sounds very much like the plot of the new NBC TV show, Revolution, which we have been enjoying very much. I will be interested to hear what you think of it!

    Enjoy your books this week – hope you have more reading time!

    Sue

  6. ooh – One Second After sounds kind of scary. It’s also a little nervewracking that something like this IS entirely possible. Look how people act after a fire or other disaster, looting, etc. Except in Japan – where the survivors were so patient and still using manners and consideration. Makes you wonder, doesn’t it?

    On that note – Happy Thanksgiving! 😉

Hmmmm... what do you think?