It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Since I was out of town last weekend I never got the previous winner posted so this is the two week ago winner and this past weeks winner using random.org (because that is how I roll!)

 

Last weeks winner:  Lori from Escape With Dollycas!

 

Wow what a whirlwind week.  I had something every single evening for the past seven days and today – (Sunday) I did pretty much nothing other than I visited a friend this morning and then vegged at home watching two movies and playing a little online scrabble which is a total time suck…. and I really should have written the reviews I still have pending.  😛

Anyhoo, this past week was BBAW (Book Blogger Appreciation Week) and that was a lot of fun.  I did not get to participate to the level I had wanted to due to my heavy week, but this is what I did manage to post:

 

My interview with a twelve year old blogger!

Seconds Away by Harlan Coben review and giveaway!

What my book room looked like… and what it is looking like now.

The Bel Canto party has started!  Have you read it?  Come chat with me about it!

Hanging out with Author Sandra Brannon!

 

Oh and I am still taking participants for the awesome Banned Book Week!

 

Sadly, I am about 4 reviews behind… I just havent had time to write them – but this week looks mellower and promising 😀

As for this week, here is what I am planning on reading:

 

Rose Mae Lolley is a fierce and dirty girl, long-suppressed under flowery skirts and bow-trimmed ballet flats. As “Mrs. Ro Grandee” she’s trapped in a marriage that’s thick with love and sick with abuse. Her true self has been bound in the chains of marital bliss in rural Texas, letting “Ro” make eggs, iron shirts, and take her punches. She seems doomed to spend the rest of her life battered outside by her husband and inside by her former self, until fate throws her in the path of an airport gypsy—one who shares her past and knows her future. The tarot cards foretell that Rose’s beautiful, abusive husband is going to kill her. Unless she kills him first.

Hot-blooded Rose Mae escapes from under Ro’s perky compliance and emerges with a gun and a plan to beat the hand she’s been dealt. Following messages that her long-missing mother has left hidden for her in graffiti and behind paintings, Rose and her dog Gretel set out from Amarillo, TX back to her hometown of Fruiton, AL, and then on to California, unearthing a host of family secrets as she goes. Running for her life, she realizes that she must face her past in order to overcome her fate—death by marriage—and become a girl who is strong enough to save herself from the one who loves her best.

I started listening to this a few days ago… its actually kind of hilarious…

 

 

 

 

The third Liv Bergen mystery picks up right where the second one left off: the murder of Liv’s sister-in-law has been solved, but an older rancher has been bludgeoned to death in a style eerily reminiscent of a long-inactive killer known only as the Crooked Man. FBI agent Streeter Pierce, still on assignment in Sturgis, South Dakota, must now turn his sights on tracking down the killer, who happens to be his nemesis from ten years earlier. Pierce doesn’t complain, though; he’s falling in love with Liv Bergen and sets in motion an unconventional way to recruit her for the FBI’s training camp in Quantico, Virginia, as they work the case together. But is Liv falling for the brilliant, exotic-looking agent Jack Linwood instead? Once again, Liv’s vast knowledge of the Black Hills of South Dakota–the territory General Custer made famous–and the modern day ranchers and environmentalists who live there leads her to unearth critical clues about the Crooked Man. Aided by her elfin sister with rainbow-colored hair, a sad-eyed bloodhound, and a terminally ill Norwegian widow, Liv ultimately identifies the deranged killer. But will her barrage of questions be enough to fend off a fatal blow from the very cane he used to crush the skulls of thirteen other victims?

I adore Sandra and I am excited to dive into her third installment of the Liv Bergen mysteries!

 

 

 

 

Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear, too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives. But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?

Yes, I have read this before…. but man… I loved it so much!  Now I am going in a second time in audio.

 

I am looking forward to what you are reading.  Please add your link below where it says click here and please, it you Tweet be sure to use the hashtag:  #IMWAYR

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

and those of you who read mainly children’s through YA reads – please also link your post here:

58 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m still behind with book reviews too Sheila, good luck to us both catching up lol. I’m still hoping to get to the Chaos Walking series this year lol
    Hope you have a more relaxed, less frantic week and happy reading 🙂

  2. Backseat Saints sounds like a fun book! I will have to add it to my TBR list.

    I am glad you had a relaxing Sunday. Sometimes that is exactly what you need to rejuvenate after a big week. It is also fun to play online Scrabble. Haven’t done that for awhile. I used to play Words with Friends. Now I relax by going on Pinterest all the time. It’s gotten to be addicting 🙂

    Have a great week!

  3. Sounds like you had a fun week and a relaxing day today. I still need to get to that Ness series.
    I managed to visit 11 blogs so far tonight. Yay. 🙂 Have a great week!

  4. I’ve only read one Joshilyn Jackson book but I’ve seen her speak multiple times and she is hilarious herself! Does she narrate the audiobook? I could listen to her talk all day. I really want to catch her on audio some day. Enjoy your week!

  5. I’m a little jealous of Widows Might. I really want to read the entire series.

    I have 8 finished books I still need to write reviews for, so don’t worry about it 🙂

    Have a great week!

  6. Yay! Yay! Yay! for listening to The Knife of Never Letting Go! Love that audio so so much! Nick Podehl does an incredible job with the narration I think. I’m so eager to see how they translate the noise to the big screen for the movie!

    And I love the sound of Backseat Saints! I may have to give that one a go now that I’m reviewing chick lit/women’s fiction again! Thanks! 🙂

  7. I am definitely adding Backseat saints to my reading list, sounds great and i am a fan of the author already

    Have a great reading week!

  8. ooh boy – Backseat Saints sounds very interesting. Especially with the intense subject matter that is written with humor – what a mix.

    I’ve started many books as usual and finished one. Story of my reading life. 🙂

  9. I am reading A Lovely Indecent Departure by Steven Lee Gilbert a début literary thriller, just fifty pages in but I think this is going to be a page turner.

  10. Sheila, glad to hear your week sounds not so hectic as last. I loved Backseat Saints, you’re in for a treat. I am reading Black Water Rising by Attica Locke. Her new book, The Cutting Season is due out soon and already getting good reviews. Have a great week!

  11. Looks like you’ve got a fun week of reading. I’m still wading through 900 pages of English history, but I’ll get to start a new book this week, I think.

  12. I really enjoyed The Knife of Never Letting Go too! I really need to read the other two books. They are going on my TBR during Dewey’s 24-hour Readathon in October.

  13. Very busy here, too! I only managed that one BBAW blog post last week!

    I really need to read the Chaos Walking trilogy – it’s been sitting on my shelf for ages, and my son loved it. Who has time for a trilogy of long books??

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

  14. Okay, I saw your book room. Color me jealous. 😉 It’s going to look so great!

    It has been awhile since I linked up here. I do more of a Weekly news post, but I credit you so I figured it was okay to link up. Hope it is!

Hmmmm... what do you think?