It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

This past weeks winner:

Shannon from I Run Teach Read!!!

Congratulations!  Please email me your book choice out of the Reading Cafe at journeythroughbooks@gmail.com. 

 

If you read this post last night (Sunday here in Central MN), you know I just got home Sunday evening from a weekend 173 mile bike ride… I am sun burned but oh so happy.  Great ride… We raised money for a camp for families, and children with AIDS.  This is one of my favorite rides of the year and I feel like a rock start having done my first Century in one day (100+ miles!!!!) I am now updating this post to add in my past week and plans for this week.  Last night I was just too tired to do it. 😀

My reading has suffered greatly this Summer from all the activities, however I would not trade it for anything… I have had a great summer.. and still have many busy weeks ahead filled with fun adventures.  This past week, here is what I put on the blog:

 

The Bel Canto Read-A-Long Party (are you ready to read another great books and maybe win some cool things?  Join in this read-a-long!)

 

 

When Will There Be Good News by Kate Atkinson (a book I listened to on audio, but would recommend reading the book instead)

 

House Party Overview (I had a house party for the upcoming movie Hope Springs… ) here are the pics – we had so much fun!

 

 

Northern Minnesota Weekend (two weekends ago I spent some time with friends up North)

 

 

Paper Towns by John Green (LOVE John Green – if you have not indulged.. .you must!)

 

 

As for this week, I am still not expecting anything fantastic on my reading… I think I have been reading the same books for three weeks now, just no time to pick it up!  😀  I do however have some audio yet to review and hopefully another one or two this week.  That said, my reading goals for this week are small”ish”:

 

 

Irene and Nate Stanley are living a quiet and contented life with their two children, Bliss and Shep, on their family farm in southern Illinois when Nate suddenly announces he’s been offered a job as a deputy sheriff in Oregon. Irene fights her husband. She does not want to uproot her family and has deep misgivings about the move. Nevertheless, the family leaves, and they are just settling into their life in Oregon’s high desert when the unthinkable happens. Fifteen-year-old Shep is shot and killed during an apparent robbery in their home. The murderer, a young mechanic with a history of assault, robbery, and drug-related offenses, is caught and sentenced to death.

Shep’s murder sends the Stanley family into a tailspin, with each member attempting to cope with the tragedy in his or her own way. Irene’s approach is to live, week after week, waiting for Daniel Robbin’s execution and the justice she feels she and her family deserve. Those weeks turn into months and then years. Ultimately, faced with a growing sense that Robbin’s death will not stop her pain, Irene takes the extraordinary and clandestine step of reaching out to her son’s killer. The two forge an unlikely connection that remains a secret from her family and friends.

Years later, Irene receives the notice that she had craved for so long—Daniel Robbin has stopped his appeals and will be executed within a month. This announcement shakes the very core of the Stanley family. Irene, it turns out, isn’t the only one with a shocking secret to hide. As the execution date nears, the Stanley’s must face difficult truths and find a way to come to terms with the past.

This has been on to read list for two months now.  Currently it is my Book Club choice for August so it goes up next 🙂

 

One more note – if you use Twitter, please post about what you are reading there under the hashtag #IMWAYR

 

Please link up your Monday What Are You Reading below… and please stop back tomorrow when my head is clearer and see what I am reading too 😀

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

And if you read mostly YA and middle grade books, please also add your link to this Version of IMWAYR

 

 

42 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Well, it’s good to be home, good to be happy, and good to get some sun – though you got a little more than you wanted to. If you’re happy through a sunburn, then you are HAPPY! Get a good rest, hope you get to read a bit, and have a great week

  2. Are you still doing the contest with an entry for every ten blog visits? I’ve done two sets of ten so far, two entries? or is it just one entry now for the week? 🙂 Either way, I’ve visited about 24 blogs, if counted right (it is late, lol)

  3. Oh goodness, you survived a 173 mile ride while I was lounging at a picnic yesterday afternoon.

    My audiobook copy of Bel Canto is waiting for me at the library today so I should be able to participate for sure. It will have to bump a few books out of the way though!

  4. Glad to hear you are having such a great summer, Sheila! And you should be proud of your accomplishments!!

    I am dying to read Paper Towns.

    Enjoy your books and your summer activities this week!

    Sue

Hmmmm... what do you think?