It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

This past weeks winner:

Lori from Escape With Dollycas!!!

Congratulations!  Please email me your book choice out of the Reading Cafe at journeythroughbooks@gmail.com. 

In two words… Wiped Out.  I had a FANTASTIC weekend hanging out with good friends at the cabin and we ran around and biked and explored Minnesota and I have massive tan lines and now, home, unpacked, laundry done, dinner cooked, dogs walked…. I am wiped out.  Again.  AND I am not complaining…. I love the amazing people in my life.  😀

This past week in books was nothing impressive.  I am reading and I did read… and I am still reading, just not as much or as quickly as I would like to.  Here is what I posted this past week:

Along For The Ride by Sarah Dessen (Camryn’s YA Review)

Objects Of My Affection by Jim Smolinski  (Can anyone say “hoarder?”)

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – seriously the go to book of the month – perhaps, the year!

AND, if you have read Gone Girl, talk to me about it on this Spoiler Page – open discussion on the book!  😀

Yeah…. that’s it.  I am still (STILL) reading Yes! Chef, and listening to a couple audios that I think will finish soon so here is what I think is up next:

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life – dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge – he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues – and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

Flying through this one on audio right now!

Marcia Brady, eldest daughter on television’s The Brady Bunch, had it all. But what viewers didn’t know about the always sunny, perfect Marcia was that off-screen, her real-life counterpart, Maureen McCormick, was living a very different – and not-so-wonderful – life. Maureen tells the shocking and inspirational true story of the beloved teen and the woman she became.

Maureen takes us behind-the-scenes of America’s favorite television family. But the real story begins after The Brady Bunch ended. Maureen found herself tangled in a fast-paced, drug-fueled Hollywood existence that ultimately lead to the biggest battle of her life.

There is no question: Maureen McCormick is a survivor. Here’s the Story is the empowering, engaging, shocking, and emotional tale of Maureen McCormick’s courageous struggle over adversity and her lifelong battle to come to terms with the idea of perfection – and herself.

It was just another ordinary day at McKinley High—until a massive explosion devastated the school. When loner David Thorpe tried to help his English teacher to safety, the teacher convulsed and died right in front of him. And that was just the beginning.

A year later, McKinley has descended into chaos. All the students are infected with a virus that makes them deadly to adults. The school is under military quarantine. The teachers are gone. Violent gangs have formed based on high school social cliques. Without a gang, you’re as good as dead. And David has no gang. It’s just him and his little brother, Will, against the whole school. 
 
In this frighteningly dark and captivating novel, Lex Thomas locks readers inside a school where kids don’t fight to be popular, they fight to stay alive.

Keira Johnson, a 50-year-old mother of two grown sons, believes she lives a good Christian life without secrets– until she discovers a life-jarring fact her late mother kept hidden all her life. Kiera was born out of wedlock, and the man she had always known as her father had adopted her as an infant.

Meanwhile, Keira’s beloved 17-year-old niece, Kirsten, has just discovered an unwanted pregnancy. Her boyfriend, Jose, is bound for college and Kirsten does not know what to do. As the family comes together for a reunion, Keira and Kirsten struggle with their fractured pasts and jumbled present. Will truth and honesty be the catalysts that allow the entire family to find peace?

That is probably more than enough for the week.  I have a 150 mile bike ride next weekend that will keep me busy and this week has a couple little challenges but nothing major 😀 

What are you reading this week?  What did you read last week?  Please add your What Are You Reading Link below where it says click here 😀

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

and those of you who read mainly children’s through YA reads – please also link your post here:

96 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Quarantine and Reunion look like my kind of reads!!! And I loved Along for the Ride-it was the 1st Sarah Dessen book I ever read. I’m hooked on her even though I’ve only made it to one other of her books. 🙂
    Our book tastes are so similar!

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

    1. It is a two day ride for AIDS. I am hoping if the weather is nice to do a 25 mile ride prior to the first days ride (that morning) so I can make it a 100 mile day, that would be my first ever… and has been a goal for a couple years now. 😀

  2. Good to see Paper Towns on your list, looking forward to your thoughts. Reunion sounds like my mum’s story so that one has me intrigued and Quarantine looks like one I’d love.
    Have a wonderful week and a great bike ride this weekend 🙂

  3. Gone Girl is so incredibly popular at my library. I am glad you liked it. Objects of My Affection sounded interesting to me and so did her other book that you mentioned (name escapes me now). I’m curious about Quarantine too and look forward to reading what you thought of it.

  4. Chair dancing as I check out the Reading Cafe!!!! Busy day today, grandson here and our kitty Sherlock was getting better but had some seizures today so we are all very worried. Hopefully he will bounce back again.

  5. All the books sound good – I hope you enjoy them!
    Good luck with your ride this week!

  6. WOW! 150 mile bike ride coming up this week!? Have you been able to see any of the road races in the Olympics? I’m sure you’d definitely be one to love them. It’s been fun seeing them even without being a bike rider and because of them my hubby is now begging for a bike. 😉

    I’ve heard nothing but good things about Gone Girl, so I’m curious about your review now too. Glad to see you’re also enjoying more John Green!

    Have a fabulous reading week and enjoy the biking! 🙂

  7. Because of your review I am reading Gone Girl-am just about to begin part two. I truly enjoy your blog!

  8. I still haven’t read anything from John Green, I know I have to, and I’m glad you’re going through his books & enjoy them 🙂

    I really disliked Quarantine: The Loners, still haven’t written the review, because I don’t want it to be a rant 😦

    Happy reading & have a great week!

  9. Gone Girl rocked!! You have great books that you’re working on and with that bike ride, you will be a very busy lady!! 😀

  10. It seems like everyone is talking about Gone Girl! Can’t wait to read it.
    You will love The Raven Boys. So great, with such awesome characters.

  11. Sounds like a wonderful, fun-filled week! I have Gone Girl sitting on my shelf but haven’t gotten to it yet – really need to.

    And I still need to read a Sarah Dessen novel!

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

  12. I’m like others, seeing Gone Girl everywhere-guess I’d better put it on the list. So many to check on… I just bought Paper Towns-am wanting to read it, too. Love John Green. You’ve got some awesome books on your list this time. Thanks for all-loved all the comments too. Hard to keep up!

  13. Running around visiting today. Yesterday was crazy with Sherlock relapsing and setting up my very first book tour for an author. Sherlock is a little better today but worried about the tour. Want it to be a success.

    Have a n awesome week!!!

  14. Sounds like you’ve got lots of reading going on. Happy reading!

    Ashley @ Dr. Pepper Diva

    P.S. Congrats Lori!!!!

Hmmmm... what do you think?