It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

This past weeks winner:

Laura Fabiani from Library Of Clean Reads!

Congratulations!  Please email me your book choice out of the Reading Cafe at journeythroughbooks@gmail.com. 

I think this week was pretty good… here is what I posted:

Fairest by Gail Carson Levine (A YA book review by Camryn)

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

These Girls by Sarah Pekkanen

Long Gone by Alafair Burke

Wife 22 by Melanie Gideon

 

My “Summer Recommendation” guest post over at Ryan’s – Wordsmithonia while he is on vacation!

Literary Blog Hop – taking place through the 27th of June – answer my question and go into a drawing for a book of your choice valued up to $20.00

 

You may notice, lo and behold… no audio book reviews up this week!  WHAT?  😯  The reason is that starting on Monday, this is Audio Book Week and I am planning on reviewing only audio books this week!    I have a great line up that I think you will enjoy if you are an audio book person or not (Laurel…. I still am working on you!).  I will also have many giveaways and I am working on a few surprises as well.  😀   

Here is what I plan on reading or listening to this upcoming week:

 

Two sisters and the cousin they grew up with after a tragedy are summoned home to their family matriarch’s inn on the coast of Maine for a shocking announcement. Suddenly, Isabel, June, and Kat are sharing the attic bedroom–and barely speaking. But when innkeeper Lolly asks them to join her and the guests in the parlor for weekly Movie Night–it’s Meryl Streep month–they find themselves sharing secrets, talking long into the night–and questioning everything they thought they knew about life, love, and one another.
 
Each woman sees her complicated life reflected through the magic of cinema: Isabel’s husband is having an affair, and an old pact may keep her from what she wants most . . . June has promised her seven-year-old son that she’ll somehow find his father, who he’s never known . . . and Kat is ambivalent about accepting her lifelong best friend’s marriage proposal. Through everything, Lolly has always been there for them, and now Isabel, June, Kat–and Meryl–must be there for her. Finding themselves. Finding each other. Finding a happy ending.

OOH – can not wait!!!

 

 

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

 

 

One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, Will Grayson crosses paths with . . . Will Grayson. Two teens with the same name, running in two very different circles, suddenly find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, and culminating in epic turns-of-heart and the most fabulous musical ever to grace the high school stage. Told in alternating voices from two YA superstars, this collaborative novel features a double helping of the heart and humor that have won them both legions of fans.

 

 

I have other books I will be working on if I get through what I have here.  NOW I am curious what you will be reading this week!  Is it a new release?  Is it an oldy but a goody?  Is it a random find?  Please link below where it says click here so we can all come and check out what you are reading.  😀

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

and those of you who read mainly children’s through YA reads – please also link your post here:

65 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I have A Fault in Our Stars on audio waiting for me too. I might get to it this week, depending how quickly I get through my next one.

    1. LOL Alita, I was on audible and when I picked The Fault in The Stars it gave suggestions to others I might enjoy… after listening to the sample I couldn’t resist. (I also got Looking For Alaska….shhhh! 😉 )

  2. Lots of John Green there! I own Looking for Alaska, but I haven’t read it or any of his other books yet. I think I should remedy that soon. Enjoy your week!

    1. Yeah…. I was on audible listening to samples and wound up with three of his… a little scary as I have never read or listened to his books. 😯 BUT it sounds from the reviews that they are good!

  3. I enjoyed your reviews of Wife22 and These Girls. I hope to read both someday. I am a fan of Sarah Pekkanen and I have an ARC of Wife22. The Meryl Streep Movie Club also sounds like something I’d enjoy. I love book clubs but I’ve never been in a movie club 🙂

  4. I’m reading The Meryl Streep Movie Club this week as well!

    Wishing you a great reading week!
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d out

  5. Looks like you had a busy week catching up! I can’t wait to see what you think of The Fault In Our Stars. Have a wonderful week & happy reading Sheila 🙂

  6. I’m ashamed to say I still haven’t tried John Green 😦 I know I should, so I hope you’ll enjoy both The Fault in Our Stars & Will Grayson, Will Grayson! Happy redaing & have a great week!

  7. I have the Meryl Streep Movie Club book, too but haven’t gotten to it yet.

    I also saved a bunch of audio reviews for this week and I can’t wait to participate in all the discussion posts!

    Have a great week!

  8. The audiobook for TFIOS is great, but reading it yourself is still the best way to go. Kate Rudd is an amazing narrator, but that book is so special that it just begs to be read rather than listened to.

  9. I am so not an audio book person but we’re leaving for vacation and facing a 16 hour drive so I’m contemplating what we can listen to as I drive. Our standbys tend to be either the Harry Potters or the Percy Jacksons just because they are well done and not objectionable given the kids in the car. My teenaged daughter has fallen in love with Car Talk podcasts though so we might do a number of those instead. Other than car rides though, I just don’t play well with audios.

  10. I loved The Fault in our Stars and Will Grayson Will Grayson! I wonder how the audio is on THe Fault in our Stars. I had a lot of fun hopping around today and hit the 10 blog mark again. Yay for summer! 🙂

  11. Still waiting for some rain down here. Slight chance of showers on Thursday. It is just too hot to enjoy my deck swing 😦

    Visited 10 so fat. Much better than I did last week!

  12. I finished “Pushing Up Daisies” by rosemary Harris and today I will be starting her 2nd in the dirty Business series “The Big Dirt Nap”. Wrote a review for Pushing up Daisies on amazon & goodreads. Loved it!

  13. It’s audiobook week, yay! I love audiobook recommendations! Do they do this every year? Maybe I’ll get my act together and participate next time.

  14. I’m interested to see what you think about Will Grayson Will Grayson on audio. I wasn’t a huge fan, but I know a lot of people that enjoyed reading the book…so maybe it was the audio? I hope you really enjoy it and I’m completely wrong! 😉

    Have a fabulous reading week!

  15. I’ve just started ‘The Painted Bridge’ by Wendy Wallace. This came in the post as a surprise competition win; it was one I really wanted to win too.

  16. Love the Fairest and Gail Carson Levine in general! Have you read her other books like Two Princesses of Bamarre or Ever? Brilliant reads!
    Will Grayson sounds like it could potentially be a really good read!
    Have a lovely week 🙂

Hmmmm... what do you think?