It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

This past weeks winner:

Lauren from Gimme More Books!

Congratulations!  Please email me your book choice out of the recently cleaned up and LOVELY Reading Cafe at journeythroughbooks@gmail.com. 

A BUSY holiday as it turns out for me – what stared out to be a rainy dreary day turned into a sunny day with a plan!  I went from sweater and jeans to a tank and capris in the afternoon, cleaned up out back deck – hauled out the patio set, went grocery shopping and had two other couples over for dinner.  FUN.  YES.

Here is what happened here this past week:

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver (Review by Camryn)

Blue Asylum by Kathy Hepinstall

Arranged by Catherine McKenzie (ooh so good!!!!)

Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner

City Of Bones by Cassandra Claire

Eat This!  NOT That! By David Zinczenko (a book that will make you think before you eat…)

I will post what I am reading this upcoming week tomorrow morning.  It has been a gorgeous day in the sun and now I just want to hang out a bit with my hubby and the TV 😀  I have tomorrow off from work (woo hoo!!!!) so I should make it around to visit many of you, be sure to link your Monday posts below!

As for this weeks agenda, this will be an interesting week as after today with the holiday it will be a short week and I will be in New York by next Sunday so I will keep it a little lite…

She was the world’s biggest-ever ship. A luxurious miracle of twentieth-century technology, the Titantic was equipped with the most ingenious safety devices of the time. Yet on a moonlit night in 1912, the “unsinkable” Titantic raced across the glassy Atlantic on her maiden voyage, with only twenty lifeboats for 2,207 passengers. A Night To Remember is the gut–wrenching, minute-by-minute account of her fatal collision with an iceberg and how the resulting tragedy brought out the best and worst in human nature.

I have always wanted to read this book… I recently acquired it on audio and I think I will be listening to this one in my car.

Based on a remarkable true story, The Secrets of Mary Bowser is an inspiring tale of one daring woman’s willingness to sacrifice her own freedom to change the course of history

All her life, Mary has been a slave to the wealthy Van Lew family of Richmond, Virginia. But when Bet, the willful Van Lew daughter, decides to send Mary to Philadelphia to be educated, she must leave her family to seize her freedom.

Life in the North brings new friendships, a courtship, and a far different education than Mary ever expected, one that leads her into the heart of the abolition movement. With the nation edging toward war, she defies Virginia law by returning to Richmond to care for her ailing father—and to fight for emancipation. Posing as a slave in the Confederate White House in order to spy on President Jefferson Davis, Mary deceives even those who are closest to her to aid the Union command.

Just when it seems that all her courageous gambles to end slavery will pay off, Mary discovers that everything comes at a cost—even freedom.

In October 2006, the night before he was to turn forty, Rich experienced a chilling glimpse of his future. Nearly fifty pounds overweight and unable to climb the stairs without stopping, he saw where his sedentary lifestyle was taking him. Most of us look the other way when granted such a moment of clarity, but not Rich. Plunging into a new way of eating that made processed foods off limits and prioritized plant nutrition and daily training, Rich morphed—in mere months—from out-of-shape midlifer to endurance machine. Ninety days into his physical overhaul, Rich left the house for a light jog and found himself running a near marathon. It was time to scale up his goals.

How many of us take up a sport at age forty and compete for the title of the world’s best within two years? Finding Ultra recounts Rich’s remarkable journey to the starting line of the elite Ultraman World Championship competition, which pits the world’s fittest humans against each other in a 320-mile ordeal of swimming, biking, and running. Following that test, Rich conquered an even greater one: the Epic5 Challenge—five Ironman-distance triathlons, each on a different Hawaiian island, all completed in less than a week.


That’s the plan – I am looking forward to seeing yours!  Here is the link:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

and those of you who read mainly children’s through YA reads – please also link your post here:

43 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. It started out as a cloudy day here, too, but then it was beautiful. I’m so excited that it’s a 3 day weekend! Yay! Have a great one!

  2. Glad you’ve enjoyed the holiday and made the most of what sounds like glorious weather. I’ve enjoyed your reviews this week. Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

  3. Did you widen things out here? I like it!! Hope you had some nice time with your hubby, we spent the evening dragging my youngest son’s car home. Blew a belt and a hose and we just put new brakes on last Thursday. Never a dull day around here.

    1. I dont think I have (widened things out) but I keep my screen pretty full anyway – I learned that if you hold down CTRL and hit the plus sign the screen will get larger…. minus sign, the screen gets smaller. I love knowing that 🙂

      Bummer about the car dragging! We just did the same thing about a month ago for our youngest son…. kids and cars….. 😯

    1. How is that book? Seems like there are many books with the name Alice in it… I recently read one called “Still Alice” and I know I have at least two more on the shelf with the name Alice in them 🙂

  4. Happy Memorial Day!! Just read your review for BFF and glad I did. I like her books, however, won’t be putting this one on my list. Thank you for your honest review. Have a great week.

  5. I just got Secrets of Mary Bowser recently. I’m saving it for July because I read all American historicals that month. Will be interested to see what you think of it.

  6. Way to be productive! I grovel at your feet – productivity did not happen for me this weekend. Have fun in New York!

    Also, just letting you know there should be a couple emails from me in your inbox. I’m just giving you a heads up, since it’s always possible they were eaten by the spam monster.

    Have a great week!

  7. Thank you so much for taking the time to visiting my blog today 🙂 I’ve found so many awesome blogs through your meme, and I will participate as often as I can! All the best from Anette in Norway 🙂

  8. Yay productive!!!
    Of course, BEA is coming up, so getting productive is important… Thanks for sharing–your books this week look really cool!

  9. The ultra one sounds really good, sorry to be so late to post, i think I forgot it was Monday since it was a holiday!

Hmmmm... what do you think?