It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

This past weeks winner:

Joy from Joy’s Book Blog

Congratulations!  Please email me your book choice out of the Reading Cafe at journeythroughbooks@gmail.com. 

The winner each week gets pick out of the Reading Cafe, which I am excited to say has been totally cleaned out this week, organized and lovely so pop in and check it out.  I hope to be much more pro-active on keeping this updated and adding books weekly to the choices to be used for giveaways.  😀

On a separate note – I have went through all emails this week and should be 100% caught up on mailing out to my book winners.  If you have been a winner and not received your book(s) from me by the end of this week please be sure to email me at the email given above and I will look into it promptly.

Here is what happened on Book Journey this past week:

The Girl Who Was On Fire by Your Favorite Authors (what a fun read!)

Love In A Nutshell by Janet Evanovich (audio review)

The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff (A FANTASTIC book discussion with my book club!)

2108 Eyes Open by K L Glanville with a signed copy for giveaway!

My Sunday Salon reminds you of the Dewey Read A Thon next weekend and links to sign up!

Still Missing by Chevy Stevens (Oh my word people!  You have to read or listen to this one SOON!)

210 MILLION books in the world how do you choose just one?  (Book discussion!)

So another good week!  I think that is two in a row! 

Now for this week I am not adding any books to my plate BECAUSE I have a few I want to finish this week that have been on past weeks lists but I never made it to them.  So instead of adding more, and with the Dewey Read A Thom coming on the 21st, I have decided to work this week on finishing up those books.

I am however adding audio books as I have finished two over the weekend and a third will finish this week…. so here is whats up in audio:

 

 

"The lifeboat", "Charlotte Rogan"

Grace Winter, 22, is both a newlywed and a widow. She is also on trial for her life.

In the summer of 1914, the elegant ocean liner carrying her and her husband Henry across the Atlantic suffers a mysterious explosion. Setting aside his own safety, Henry secures Grace a place in a lifeboat, which the survivors quickly realize is over capacity. For any to live, some must die.

As the castaways battle the elements, and each other, Grace recollects the unorthodox way she and Henry met, and the new life of privilege she thought she’d found. Will she pay any price to keep it?

The Lifeboat is a page-turning novel of hard choices and survival, narrated by a woman as unforgettable and complex as the events she describes.

I think it is my Titanic mood that brought this one on.  I seen it on a couple blogs this past week and it really interested me.

 

 

Internationally acclaimed crime writer Jo Nesbø’s antihero police investigator, Harry Hole, is back: in a bone-chilling thriller that will take Hole to the brink of insanity.

Oslo in November. The first snow of the season has fallen. A boy named Jonas wakes in the night to find his mother gone. Out his window, in the cold moonlight, he sees the snowman that inexplicably appeared in the yard earlier in the day. Around its neck is his mother’s pink scarf.

Hole suspects a link between a menacing letter he’s received and the disappearance of Jonas’s mother—and of perhaps a dozen other women, all of whom went missing on the day of a first snowfall. As his investigation deepens, something else emerges: he is becoming a pawn in an increasingly terrifying game whose rules are devised—and constantly revised—by the killer.

Fiercely suspenseful, its characters brilliantly realized, its atmosphere permeated with evil, The Snowman is the electrifying work of one of the best crime writers of our time.

OOH right?  Ok Nesbo, I have heard the positive rumblings… lets see what you got!

 

There will be a third audio starting but honestly… I dont have a third audio in the house.  Yup, after Home Front ends in the car I have no more CD audios and am going to need one fast!  Suggestions?  😉

So that is the plan….what is yours?  Be sure to link up below where it says “click here” and add your own What Are You Reading post so we can come by and see what you are reading!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

and those of you who read mainly children’s through YA reads – please also link your post here:

75 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I want to read The Lifeboat. I have heard it is excellent. The author was at PLA but I didn’t get to attend that session. I liked your review of Still Missing and thank you so much for reminding me of the Dewey readathon. I am looking forward to participating.

    I will have to check out your review of The Girl Who Was on Fire. It sounds interesting. I really liked similar books for the Harry Potter series so maybe I’d enjoy essays on The Hunger Games too.

  2. So glad you had a good week. I hope Sam works out for you!
    I like Evanovich’s little romances like Love in A Nutshell – they are quick and fun.
    The Lifeboat sounds interesting and the other sounds creepy.
    Enjoy your reading and listening.

    1. LOL – I wanted to try Nesbo and I hope I make it through it. I didnt realize it was so dark…. I was so excited about it (it was a win) that I popped it into the CD player without reading the synopsis.

  3. I’m glad someone has been having good weeks–I’ve been slacking. On the blog/reading front, anyway. Maybe things will turn around when I re-read To Kill a Mockingbird for my book club. Enjoy your week!

  4. I have “Still Missing” on my shelves, unread as yet. Based on the reviews for it, however, I read and reviewed “Never Knowing”, which felt to me like a bad Lifetime movie. I’ve been told not to judge “Still Missing” by that, though, so maybe I’ll put in line in my personal reading pile! Have a wonderful reading week!

  5. I can’t beleive how many books I’ve read this week. I feel like a real bookworm! It’s a great feeling. LOL
    I like a spooky book once in a great while…..I hope yours are not too awfully bad this week (spooky bad, I mean)
    Have a good ‘down’ week, this week.

  6. The Lifeboat sounds fabulous!
    Wishing you a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d out

  7. I’ve heard good things about Jo Nesbo – my sister-in-law was reading one and it intrigued me. I’ll be looking forward to your review of it once you finish.

    I just got a bunch of audio books from the library – The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen, The Book of Tomorrow by Cecilia Ahern and Babyville by Jane Green. I’m driving up to NH next weekend by myself and wanted to be sure to get some good ones to make the ride go faster. Have you listened to any of them?

    Have a great week!

  8. I didn’t finish any books, but I ended up reading from at least three books – doesn’t matter, though, because I enjoyed the reading I was able to get done, and spent a lot of time with the grandchildren – who always trump t.v. or reading. 🙂

    I’m always in awe of and respect your variety of reads. I mainly stay in two genres – SciFi and Urban Fantasy. sometimes I branch out, but I’m pretty happy with my choices.

    Have a great week!

  9. Still trying to decide if I want to read The Girl that was on Fire…yes, no, maybe??? Thanks for your comment on my blog, it made me smile! Have had a lovely time visiting everyone’s blogs and have managed over 10 comments. Good stuff out there this week!

  10. I listened to Still Missing just after moving here… while running in the woods! I liked ‘I’d know you anywhere’ even better. If you haven’t read it yet you HAVE to read it. I listened to this on while running too, yes… I was more aware of my surroundings while reading these.

    I’m not sure realtors should read Still Missing. Frightening.

    Are you ready for Tough Mudder? Isn’t it in a week/two?

    1. GAH!!! Not while in the woods! 😯 ALthough, it may have helped you run….. 😉

      You are right… that book is not for realtors….I should put a disclaimer on my post…..
      I dont think I am going to make Tough Mudder this year. I have not seen my college son since January and that is the first weekend he is able to get home. We have been talking about a cabin weekend….. my two friends that were going to do the Mudder with me want to wait another year and for me…
      son trumps mudder. 😀

  11. I’m currently listening to Jane Eyre on audiobook during my commute, but I know you are already working on that one!
    Have a great week and thank you again for the Easter Egg Hunt! You are awesome! 🙂

  12. Your whole list is fantastic. I didn’t sign up for this Read-a-thon because our granddaughter is due to make her arrival any day now and wanted to keep the weekend open. I hope you get caught up on all your reading!! Have an awesome week!!

      1. and 10 more plus finished my daughter’s taxes, now off to read before my grandson comes for supper!!

    1. A friend of mine called me last night and was picking on me for reading a book with a character named Harry Hole. I did not know what she was talking about…. then she said the Nesbo book on my blog. I had to admit to her I hadn’t started the audio yet and just copied and pasted the online synopsis on to my post…. didnt even read it… later when I did I had to think WHY would you name your character that? 😛

  13. I have The 19th Wife on my shelf but just haven’t gotten to it yet. I woulfd love to suggest that one for book club, but there are just too many I want to suggest! lol

  14. I’m with you on Still Missing! SOO good. I am on the last CD of my car audio too. Starting LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED by Jenny Lawson (the Bloggess). I tend to enjoy memoirs read by the authors themselves, so I’m hoping this one comes through. Have a great week!!

      1. I’m on the 3rd CD of Jenny’s book. At first, her voice was a bit irritating, as I’m used to professional narrators with pretty voices, but her delivery and comedic timing is hilarious, so her “imperfect audio voice” works.

      2. After reading Kathy’s review this morning, and the comments, I HIGHLY suggest you go straight to the audio if you’re interested in LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED. It seems like the print loses steam, where the audio keeps you laughing all the way through. I’m always lookin’ out for ya, Sheila!

  15. I completely forgot about the read-a-thon! Oh no! And I’m not going to be around this weekend at all. Boo! Hopefully next time I’ll be able to jump in. 🙂 Enjoy! And have a fabulous reading week!

  16. I read The Snowman recently and ended up being hooked on the writer!! I then read The Leopard which I think was a better book than The Snowman! Looking forward to what you think.

  17. I read on Wikipedia where Jo Nesbo’s first two books aren’t available in English translation. Is that true? And yes, The LIfeboat is on my Goodreads to-read pile. I plan to finish Kate Furnivall’s The Jewel of St. Petersburg. So far, so good. Happy reading, everyone!

  18. I think The Lifeboat sounds good – very intriguing! And I have heard great things about The Snowman – I got my husband another Nesbo for his birthday last year.

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

  19. The Lifeboat caught my eye … very Titanic-ish 😉 and I haven’t read a Jo Nesbo yet, I do like creepy and gory though so maybe I should give it a go LOL
    Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

Hmmmm... what do you think?