Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder is 17 and works in the market of New Beijing as a gifted mechanic.   In this new world Cinder repairs many things among them, androids.  When the handsome and kind Prince Kai’s stops by her booth in the market with a request for a repair, and sparks fly…. (in a good way)

What Prince Kai does not know that Cinder is not just a pretty girl who is handy with a wrench… she is actually a cyborg from the result of an accident she had as a child, lives with her step mother who treats her like hired help and has two-step sisters one she adores and one…. well… not so much…

What Cinder does not know is that her destiny and Prince Kai’s are about to collide.

Did I mention there is going to be a Ball?

Another cover that is pretty AWESOME! (oh and sssqqquuueeee about that shoe right?)

Gushing flood gates……  “OPEN!”

The buzz around Cinder intrigued me…

and I wasn’t sure if it would be for me.  😯 

I am not sure if I have ever read a book with androids in it before… a little border line sci-fi for me…. yes the raves were out there and I could not ignore them.  Lenore at Presenting Lenore, Jill at Rhapsody In Books, and Reagan at Miss Remmers Reviews (just to name a few) all wrote reviews that made me want to read it MORE and read it NOW.

When I picked Cinder up a couple of nights ago, my plan was to just get a feel for the book before I went to bed.  But Cinder grabs you from the start and before I knew it I was 176 pages in and having to put the book down.  I finished it the next evening.

Cinder is the first  have read like this and I loved how incredibly well done the book is.  Marissa Meyer weaves between this Apocolyptic time and the storyline of the original Cinderella I am amazed at how she does it.  All the key elements are there, the crabby step mother, the prince, the ball, the dress, and even something orange to arrive in but I wont tell you what…. 😉

AND…. while all this is going on it does not feel forced but flows nicely and made me want to cheer “Go Marissa Meyer Go!!!”

Cinder is going to be a part of a series and it does leave you at an exciting point of …. “WHA???  WAIT!!!””  so I warned you….  I even went on-line to see if I could get an idea for the time line for the other books and here is what I found:

Cinder is based on Cinderella. Scarlet, the second book in the series, will be based on Little Red Ridinghood. Crest will be based on Rapunzel. And, Winter will be based on Snow White.  Cinder will be the main character in each of these books and you can count me in on this wild Apocolyptic tale ride 😀

Amazon Rating

Goodreads Review

Thank you Shelf Awareness!

 

40 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. I honestly wished this was a standalone book, and that the lunar people plotline wasn’t there. I liked the book a lot, don’t get me wrong, but I really dislike endings like this one, and I felt the lunar people thing was just a bit too much. I’m worried about the other books, since the only fairy tale I like retold is Cinderella…eek!

    1. The Lunar people were not my favorite either… I am curious how all that will tie into the other books. I am fascinated by this concept and so excited to see what the author does with Red Riding Hood…. we should start guessing….. (does she wear wolf skin boots? 😉 )

  2. I do agree Cinder definitely grabs a hold of you and I was a skeptic like you. I’m excited to find some time to read today. Great review 🙂

    1. Beth you and Kathy have me dancing around my house – I love it when others connect with books I think they will enjoy 😀

      Of course then there is the pressure… what if you don’t like it…. 😯 LOL

  3. This one is going to be a must read for me. I have a thing for Cinderella stories and this sounds like an awesome re-telling of the Cinderella story!

Hmmmm... what do you think?