It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Hello and welcome to another fun addition of It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading?

This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

This past weeks winner:

Debbie Nance!

WOO HOO!!!!  Please choose an item out of the Reading Cafe Grab Shelves  and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

Is anyone else wondering what happened to this past week?  I seriously feel like I ran from one thing to the next all week.  My book life was null but audio time (during cooking, cleaning, relaxing) scored big!  Here is the week:


shots from the day after Thanksgiving and pictures of what I got at crazy hours of the night!

Bookish Gifts For your Bookish Friends (gifts for Christmas!)

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (audio review – my first Gaiman!)

I also finished the audio books of Killing Lincoln and Ready Player One – reviews to come over the next few days.

So I suspect more out of me this week including clean up of books from last week and these additions:

For Donia Bijan’s family, food has been the language they use to tell their stories and to communicate their love. In 1978, when the Islamic revolution in Iran threatened their safety, they fled to California’s Bay Area, where the familiar flavors of Bijan’s mother’s cooking formed a bridge to the life they left behind. Now, through the prism of food, award-winning chef Donia Bijan unwinds her own story, finding that at the heart of it all is her mother, whose love and support enabled Bijan to realize her dreams.

From the Persian world of her youth to the American life she embraced as a teenager to her years at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris (studying under the infamous Madame Brassart) to apprenticeships in France’s three-star kitchens and finally back to San Francisco, where she opened her own celebrated bistro, Bijan evokes a vibrant kaleidoscope of cultures and cuisines. And she shares thirty inspired recipes from her childhood (Saffron Yogurt Rice with Chicken and Eggplant and Orange Cardamom Cookies), her French training (Ratatouille with Black Olives and Fried Bread and Purple Plum Skillet Tart), and her cooking career (Roast Duck Legs with Dates and Warm Lentil Salad and Rose Petal Ice Cream).

An exhilarating, heartfelt memoir, Maman’s Homesick Pie is also a reminder of the women who encourage us to shine.

I am really excited about this one!

 

 

 

The tree is decorated, the cookies are baked, and the packages are wrapped, but the biggest celebration this Christmas is Gaby Summerhill’s wedding. Since her husband died three years ago, Gaby’s four children have drifted apart, each consumed by the turbulence of their own lives. They haven’t celebrated Christmas together since their father’s death, but when Gaby announces that she’s getting married–and that the groom will remain a secret until the wedding day–she may finally be able to bring them home for the holidays.

But the wedding isn’t Gaby’s only surprise–she has one more gift for her children, and it could change all their lives forever.

This is for our book club read for December.  Every year I gripe about how fluffy Christmas reads are… I am hoping this one has a good story!

 

 

 

When a white servant girl violates the order of plantation society, she unleashes a tragedy that exposes the worst and best in the people she has come to call her family.

Orphaned while onboard ship from Ireland, seven-year-old Lavinia arrives on the steps of a tobacco plantation where she is to live and work with the slaves of the kitchen house. Under the care of Belle, the master’s illegitimate daughter, Lavinia becomes deeply bonded to her adopted family, though she is set apart from them by her white skin. Eventually, Lavinia is accepted into the world of the big house, where the master is absent and the mistress battles opium addiction. Lavinia finds herself perilously straddling two very different worlds. When she is forced to make a choice, loyalties are brought into question, dangerous truths are laid bare, and lives are put at risk.

On sale this week at audible.com for $4.95!

 

 

And that’s the plan!  I am anxious to see what you are reading this week!  Be sure to add your What Are You Reading link below where it says:  Click here.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

60 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Can’t believe I’m first on Mr linky; that’s a first! The Kitchen House sounds like a great read and I hope The Christmas Wedding doesn’t disappoint; I do like the cover lol.

    I’m off to check out your review of The Graveyard Book; I love Neil Gaiman’s voice in audio

    Have a wonderful week and happy reading 🙂

  2. James Patterson and Christmas are not something I would ever expect going together, but there’s a first for everything.

    And I love your bookish gifts post. As soon as I saw it the other day I showed my partner straight away… There were no motives behind that. I was just sharing.

    I hope you enjoy all your books Sheila and congratulations Debbie.

      1. Same here. I hope it’s a good one. I haven’t read any of his books yet, but I always love the movies based on them. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on it if you end up sharing.

  3. Oh you really braved the crowds! My daughter went at 8 to get in line for 10pm. She was home shortly after 10 as they gave tickets out and she just missed the items she wanted. She was very disappointed.
    I hope you enjoy The Christmas Wedding. It was a nice easy read and a step above “fluffy” I think. 🙂 Have a good week.

  4. Off to an early doctor’s appointment in the morning, so got this posted early. I should do this more often and take at little hectic out of my Monday mornings.

    The Kitchen House is on my TBR stacks and The Christmas Wedding was good!! You are right, last week was crazy. Will be visiting when I get home, hoping for a quick trip.

  5. You have some great reading choices this week, I’m sure Christmas Wedding will make a perfect sappy seasonal read!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  6. The Kitchen House I have looked at several times and I have passed on it. Just not sure about it so I will hold out for your review.

  7. Oh! I really loved Maman’s Homesick Pie! It’s so unique and I loved her story. I hope you really enjoy it!

    Your Black Friday shopping was insane! I can’t even imagine so many people at our Target. (We live in a pretty small laid back community though. 😛 )

    Hope you have a fabulous reading week! 🙂

  8. I’ve read a couple of Gaiman’s novels – Stardust and Neverwhere. Both of them I liked. I also read the one he co-wrote with Terry Pratchett – Good Omens. Great book. It’s like having two of the greatest writers in satire and fantasy getting together in one brain….which is probably what they did…LOL. It worked out into a great book, kind of satirizing Omens and other Damian type of books. 🙂
    Happy Reading!

  9. I listened to The Kitchen House and enjoyed it. Both narrators are great! I just read a fluffy book, but it helped pass the time while flat on my back, letting it heal. But I don’t recommend it for getting through fluffy reads! LOL

  10. I’ve had to vote for Ready Player One loads of times in the Goodreads awards as it’s the only book I’ve read and really enjoyed out of the shortlisted books! Always feel like I’m reading completely the wrong things when awards come around. Will look forward to seeing your review.

  11. Wow, you managed to do quite a bit of reading and blogging, even on a holiday week! Hope you had a nice Thanksgiving.

    I loved The Graveyard Book – I keep trying to get my son to read it, but he likes to make his own choices!

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

Hmmmm... what do you think?