It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Hello and welcome to another fun addition of It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading?

This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

This past weeks winner:

Lori from Escape With Dollycas!

WOO HOO!!!!  Please choose an item out of the Reading Cafe Grab Shelves  and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

Well… I am not sure what happened this past week.  I expected… more.  I thought I would easily whip through several books I had going but that was not the case.  I ad a meeting Monday night, Wednesday night, and Thursday night.  And honestly – this weekend…. I slept a lot.  :zzz:

So here is what I did post (mainly items I had finished while I was away two weeks ago):

A List Of Odd Things (with pictures) that happened while I was in Honduras

Bookies Book Club thoughts on Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff (*With a picture of our very own Cleopatra!)

Monsters Of Men by Patrick Ness (my long awaited review of the last book in the best series I have read this year!)

Catch Me If You Can by Frank Abagnale (you may have seen the movie but the audio is so much better!!!)

Season To Taste by Molly Birnbaum (the true and triumphant story of a want to be chef who lost her sense of taste and smell in an accident)

Ok… now that I look at the list… maybe it wasn’t so bad… what I reviewed was pretty awesome.  So while I did not get a lot of reading done, I did write some good reviews.  😀

I am still finishing the two audio from last week and should have reviews up soon… as well as a couple of books from last week too.

As far as what is new for this week:

Tuesdays at Castle Glower are Princess Celie’s favorite days. That’s because on Tuesdays the castle adds a new room, a turret, or sometimes even an entire wing. No one ever knows what the castle will do next, and no one-other than Celie, that is-takes the time to map out the new additions. But when King and Queen Glower are ambushed and their fate is unknown, it’s up to Celie, with her secret knowledge of the castle’s never-ending twists and turns, to protect their home and save their kingdom.

Yup… goin’ a little middle grade…. 😀

Arriving in the mail over a period of weeks are taunting letters that end with a simple declaration, “Think of any number…picture it…now see how well I know your secrets.”  Amazingly, those who comply find that the letter writer has predicted their random choice exactly.  For Dave Gurney, just retired as the NYPD’s top homicide investigator and forging a new life with his wife, Madeleine, in upstate New York, the letters are oddities that begin as a diverting puzzle but quickly ignite a massive serial murder investigation.

What police are confronted with is a completely baffling killer, one who is fond of rhymes filled with threats and warnings, whose attention to detail is unprecedented, and who has an uncanny knack for disappearing into thin air.  Even more disturbing, the scale of his ambition seems to widen as events unfold.

From BEA this past May…

Janessa McNeil’s husband, Dr. Brock McNeil, a researcher and professor at Stanford University’s Department of Medicine, specializes in tick-borne diseases—especially Lyme. For years he has insisted that Chronic Lyme Disease doesn’t exist. Even as patients across the country are getting sicker, the committee Brock chairs is about to announce its latest findings—which will further seal the door shut for Lyme treatment.  

One embittered man sets out to prove Dr. McNeil wrong by giving him a close-up view of the very disease he denies. The man infects Janessa with Lyme, then states his demand: convince her husband to publicly reverse his stand on Lyme—or their young daughter will be next. 

But Janessa’s marriage is already rocky. She’s so sick she can hardly move or think. And her husband denies she has Lyme at all. 

Reading this one for the INSPY awards…

In one terrifying moment, Dynah Carey’s perfect life is shattered by rape, her future irrevocably altered by an unwanted pregnancy, and her doting family torn apart. Her seemingly rock-solid faith is pushed to the limits as she faces the most momentous choice of her life–to embrace or to end the untimely life within her.

One I have been meaning to read forever…

Maybe that’s a lofty plan but there it is. 😀  Now I want to know what you are reading this holiday week!  Is this a big reading week for you with the long weekend, or is it a lite reading week due to big plans?  I am excited to see what you are reading so please add your link below where it says “click here”

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

74 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I like Jessica Day George’s books. I haven’t read this one yet but I’m sure it will be good. Atonement Child is one of my favorite Francine Rivers books. I hope you enjoy it! Have a great Thankgsiving!

  2. Can I have your mailbox? 😉

    They all look great and Tuesdays at the Castle has been on my TBR list for a many months.

    I’m still unplugged this week but I’ll have a catching up post next week.

    Happy Thanksgiving…..have a fabulous week.

  3. I have to take a look at a couple of your posts. I didn’t get to visit at all last week. 😦 This week should be better.
    Nice selection of books this week – enjoy. And have a Happy Thanksgiving too!

  4. Wow…they all sound good!!

    I’ve had the three books in the Rayne series by Brandilyn Collins in my TBR stack for a while now. I’ve got them on my list of reads for the 2012 Christian Suspense Reading Challenge.

  5. Oh! I’ve been wanting to read Tuesdays at the Castle, I think I have it from NetGalley. I’ll have to check again. It looks like you’re going to have a great week and hopefully you’ll squeeze in more reading. 🙂

    Have a fabulous week!

  6. I like the sound of Think of a Number. Sounds interesting. I also like the sound of Over the Edge. I can feel Janessa’s frustration just from the blurb.

    Hope you enjoy.

  7. Tuesdays At The Castle sounds like a great book for the school library. Looking forward to what you think of it…the author’s name sounds very familiar….My Side Of The Mountain author? or similar name?

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

  8. The Atonement Child was great, but Francine Rivers always is, and I have read Brandilynn Collins before and thought she was good too. You have a busy book week ahead. Have fun and have a great Thanksgiving!

  9. You are a wonder woman the way you squeeze everything in!!!
    The Atonement Child has been on my wish list forever but I keep getting others first. Maybe your review will inspire me to actually make a purchase. Have a fabulous week!!

    Oh I visited 20 or so today!!
    And I just realized I won, thank you!!!

  10. Hi, Sheila –
    I think you did a lot last week!! This time of year things just get so busy.

    I was breezing through your post when Over the Edge stopped me dead in my tracks. Is that fiction or nonfiction?? In addition to our immune system disorder, my oldest son and I both also have Lyme, and he has two other tick-borne illnesses. I have been on antibiotics for 3 years and still can’t get rid of Lyme. My son has been under treatment for over a year and is still horribly sick. When Lyme goes undiagnosed and untreated, it becomes very hard to get rid of. We live in Delaware, which is usually #1 or #2 of the US states in per capita Lyme cases every year, so we know lots and lots and LOTS of people struggling with it for years.

    The book sounds fascinating – I can’t wait to hear more!

    Sue

  11. Tuesdays at the Castle is making me crave some good middle school lit…Maybe I should incorporate some in my reading schedule this week!
    PS – Make sure you get to Before I Go to Sleep. It’s a goodie.

  12. I’ve read the first two in the Chaos Walking series but have to start the third! I hope we get some answers! If you like this series, you’ll definitely like James Dashner’s Maze Runner! 🙂

  13. oooo i really want to read the middle-grade book you have there! Juju at Tales of Whimsy reviewed it and I wrote it down somewhere then forgot about it – glad you reminded me! And oh, I can’t wait til our conversations next week begin for the inspy’s! I’m having a tough time this year narrowing down my favorite – last year was easier – this year the competition has stepped up its game! i’m so glad! hope you’re finding it to be true too

  14. Ack. I’m a day late, but….I’m currently reading Angel Be Good by Kathy Carmichael and Into the Lion’s Heart by Beth Trissel. 🙂 Both are very good so far. Have a great week!

Hmmmm... what do you think?