It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Hello and welcome to another fun addition of It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading?

This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner:

Chris and Nerfreader


WOO HOO!!!!  Please choose an item out of the Reading Cafe Grab Shelves  and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

So my week was crazy and you are probably thinking, “Wow Sheila what else is new?” Well… lots of things but more on that later this week.  😛

This past week around bonus craziness I did get a few things done…

In The Woods by Tana French (audio review – my first Tana French and I have a complaint…)

Robin Hood by David Coe (audio review)

Reclaiming Lily by Patti Lacy ( a book tour review)

Weekend cooking with Pride and Prejudice

They Are Creepy And They Are Spooky – what are you reading for Halloween month? 

Considering my week… that’s not too bad.  I have two more audio close to being done, and Night Circus (on audio) should be done late this week as well I think.

I am finishing up Pride and Prejudice for book club on Tuesday and Monsters of Men from last week is on the hit list after that.  😀

I have a girls weekend this weekend so I will not get a lot of reading done – but  in the event I get some time this week to add a little more I hope to read:

Is nothing sacred? The last thing Carmela Bertrand and her friend Ava expected to bear witness to in St. Tristan’s Church was a crime. But now a beloved member of their scrapbooking circle lies lifeless next to a smashed statue of St. Sebastien-and a mysterious hooded figure has absconded with an antique crucifix.

As Carmela and Ava are drawn deeper into New Orleans’ French Quarter in search of the missing crucifix, they may need the help of more than a few patron saints. Because this is one killer they don’t want to cross…

In a dusty corner of a basement in a rambling Victorian house in northern New Hampshire, a door has long been sealed shut with 39 six-inch-long carriage bolts. 

The home’s new owners are Chip and Emily Linton and their twin ten-year-old daughters. Together they hope to rebuild their lives there after Chip, an airline pilot, has to ditch his 70-seat regional jet in Lake Champlain after double engine failure. Unlike the Miracle on the Hudson, however, most of the passengers aboard Flight 1611 die on impact or drown. The body count? Thirty-nine – a coincidence not lost on Chip when he discovers the number of bolts in that basement door. Meanwhile, Emily finds herself wondering about the women in this sparsely populated White Mountain village – self-proclaimed herbalists – and their interest in her fifth-grade daughters. Are the women mad? Or is it her husband, in the wake of the tragedy, whose grip on sanity has become desperately tenuous? 

I am super excited to have received the Water For Elephants movie for a pre screening prior to the DVD release on November 1.  I have not seen the movie yet so am watching it tonight.  Review will go live the end of October.

I hope to get around to see what you are reading this week!  Be sure to add your link to your own What Are You Reading post below where it says click here:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

80 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I don’t have anything particularly spooky on my reading list. I will have to look for something 🙂

    I have heard good things about Chris Bohjalian. I hope you enjoy The Night Strangers. It does sound really creepy!

    I enjoyed your review of Reclaiming Lily. I hadn’t heard of it before. I also liked your thoughts on the Robin Hood book. I have watched the movie and while I liked it more than the Kevin Costner version, I will always enjoy the cartoon the most. Have a great week and have fun on your girls weekend.

    1. I am excited to read him Christina, I have heard good things too. 😀

      Thanks about Reclaiming lily, it was a good read and I hope attention is brought to it.

      As for Robin Hood… I need to watch some of the movies! 😀

  2. Yeah! Thanks so much, Shelia! I’ve found so many cool blogs through It’s Monday. It’s a great way to see what everyone else is reading. Oooh, lots of great stuff on the shelf!

  3. Oooh, The Night Strangers sounds like it would be a great spooky read. I’ve been posting one spooky/Halloween book per day, such as The Sleepwalkers and Z: Zombie Stories.

    Sounds like you’ll be finishing up some of those audiobooks soon! I hope it’s a productive and enjoyable week for you.

  4. I will have to check your “complaint.” I don’t have too many scary stories on my October list although I have Vampires and Wolves and Goblins! I have a few Christmas stories already – getting in the mood!
    I hope you have a great “girls” weekend and a good reading week.

  5. The Night Strangers sounds pretty good lol, I do love creepy 🙂 and I’m looking forward to your review of the movie Water For Elephants, I missed it at the movies so have to wait for DVD.

    Have a great week, happy reading and enjoy your girls weekend!

  6. Wow! You have had a crazy busy week! Hopefully you’ll get some relaxation coming up and be able to put your feet up for a bit. 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear what you think about Water for Elephants, I’ve been really curious about how it turned out.

    Have a fabulous reading week!

  7. The Laura Childs book looks good. I have Water for Elephants in my TBR. I haven’t gotten around to reading it or seeing the movie, but eventually I will. Have a great week!

  8. I absolutely love Laura Child’s Scrapbooking Mystery series and cannot wait to read Skeleton Letters. I have been stalking the library website waiting until I can request it. Have you read any of the Tea Shop Mystery books – love that one, too!

    Have a great week!

  9. Not getting very far with my audio read The Group by Mary McCarthy, I cannot find the portable cd player or headphones for the main cd player. I will get there LOL

    have a great week Sheila

    carol

  10. Too early for spooky stuff for me. I am reading ‘Half Broke Horses’ and
    Chique Secrets of Dolce Vita. The font on the first one is so tiny that I think it will take a long time for me to read. I have to stop and rest my eyes very often. What I am reading is great though. I bought the first book a year ago but put off reading it because of the font size!

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

  11. Oh, boy – I love ANY kind of book set in New Orleans! We used to live there, and the city and the region are so special to us. It’s always fun to read a book set there and recognize places we know. I’ll have to add that one to our list – looking forward to hearing what you think about it.

    I also want to read the new Chris Bohjalian (sp?) – sounds creepy!

    Very busy week here, too. Hope you enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

  12. I have The Night Strangers on my pile to read as well. It’s sounds like a good October read.

    As for In The Woods, I liked it. I also liked The Likeness, but be warned that you are a good 400 pages in before anything significant actually happens. It’s a big one.

  13. Sounds like you had a great reading weekend. I finished The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and that’s the spookiest book I’ve read in a while. Very good. It’s hard to find spooky books without them being excessively gory or sexual. Hope you find some good ones! 🙂

  14. Very cool that you got Water for Elephants to watch! I didn’t see it in the theater, but I loved the book. I’ll be curious to see what you think about it.

  15. Hi Sheila,
    I angered the Google gods over the weekend and they have disabled all of my accounts including my Google Map where I was keeping track of my Where in the world are you reading? I am starting over today with WordPress from scratch so doing my best to recreate everything I can. May have to redo my map under my husband’s name because I am sure they won’t just let me start a new one under mine. The new blog is Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book at http://escapewithdollycas.wordpress.com/
    hoping to get the guest post up for Cozy Wednesday and will return to the memes next week. Still trying to figure out the following since no GFC and I had used Google Docs for my giveaways. Lost my calendar too which really hurts. Change is good they tell me well this one has a huge learning curve, lol

    Have a great week!!!

  16. I’ve been reading ‘Dracula’ this week (trying to get into the Autumn spirit!) and it’s been terrifyingly brilliant! I’ve commented on 10 posts and found so many great new books! Back to Dracula now 🙂

    1. I know right? I have no idea how I got on the email list, but I received an email offering me a chance to review it and promote it the last week of October. I had not seen it either but I said oh yes…. I had no idea what I would get… I didnt know if it would be just a segment or what – but nope… it is the full length movie! SSQQUUUEEEE… have I said lately how much I love Book Blogging and the surrounding communities? 😛

  17. The Night Strangers and Water for Elephants are on my to-read list – it’s getting a nit too long now 🙂 I just haven’t gotten into audio books yet, but with an hour long commute each way, I will seriously have to give it a try again.

    1. You just have to be choosy in your audio Tanya then you will find some good ones…. watch what people are saying about the narrations – seriously…. poor narration can ruin a perfectly good book 😀

  18. The Night Strangers sure looks like one I would like to read! I did see Water for Elephants in the theater so I’m not going to say a word about that until you watch it…enjoy!

  19. Hi again… I made 10 visits so far. Yay. BTW – I saw the movie Water for Elephants while on our cruise. It was good but not my particular cup of tea.

Hmmmm... what do you think?