Working It Out by Abby Rike

 

In 2006, in the blink of an eye… Abby’s world went from having a loving husband, a beautiful three-year old daughter, and a sweet 18 day old son… to losing it all to a devastating accident that would drop the strongest person to their knees.  For nearly three years Abby went through the motions of “life” in almost a robotic manner.  Although family and friends, as well as a strong faith surrounded her, Abby still had a deeper need inside her that had her turn to food for comfort. 

In 2009 as she began to see the shell of her life and knowing she wanted more… Abby went on the show The Biggest Loser.  She turned her life around, lost 100 pounds, but gained a new freedom from food… and the return of a life that she had long forgotten. 

Abby before and after
Abby before and after

 

I enjoy watching The Biggest Loser on TV. I watched the season that Abbie was in and when she told her story of the tragic loss my heart went out to her. (I am all too familiar with tragedy having lost my dad and sister to a house fire in 1980, and my mom and step dad to a head on collision that took both their lives as well as two others in 1996). I know what its like to hit rock bottom and even having to remind yourself to breathe.

If you watched this season on The Biggest Loser, you would have watched not only the miracle of the shows ways to give hope where people have none…. but you see Abby’s faith blossom in God and in herself.

In this book you read about Abby’s story starting with the accident… then back tracking to how she and Rick Rike met, the whirlwind romance, and the beginning of building a family together. Abby’s story is well written, and bitter-sweet. Included in this book are letters exchanged between Abby and Rick.

Abby’s story really spoke to me. It is easy for any one of us to get caught under the weight of depression, and it is hard to make the moves to get back in the game. Abby does this with a faith that is impressive… and this book tells how she came to live again. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes true stories of faith and hope, to anyone struggling under the weight of grief, to see that it is possible to move beyond the grief and reclaim their life.

 

 

Martha from Reviews by Martha’s Bookshelf and I posted our reviews today and I had asked her a few questions about her thoughts here:

1.  Prior to this read, did you watch Biggest Loser?  Actually No – I have never watched any of the “reality TV” shows and only realized what they were referring to as the book progressed.

2.  Did you find this book inspiring?  If so, how? Absolutely… I am inspired by Abby’s steadfast faith which is awesome. It  emphasizes that it takes such grounded faith and hope in a future to get through the really tough times. It reminds me of the Footprint poem – God carries us when we can’t make it on our own.

3.  What did you like most about this book? I loved how she used the letters, notes and cards from Rick and from her students. It made me sad that I don’t have such a record of my mother who died when I was 21 and there would not be such a record for my children now. It makes me want to write to them.

One thing I forgot to ask Martha was how was this book on audio? 😀

My Amazon Rating

Goodreads review

 

The WHERE Are You reading Map has been updated to include Working It Out

I received this book for review from Faithwords

Hachette Book Group

 

15 thoughts on “Working It Out by Abby Rike

  1. Hi Sheila – I just saw your post too. I zipped back in mine and switched the Qs around as I had your Qs on mine – so now my questions and your answers are at my review.
    I did include a paragraph about how awesome the narration was!
    I’m not surprised we both gave it the great rating it deserved. Thanks again for sharing.

  2. In your extraordinarily busy day you still managed to write this review! I like the idea of interviewing a fellow blogger about their opinion too! Any down time in the near future for a much deserved rest?

  3. I really like books like this. I’ve only ever flipped past The Biggest Loser but this does sound inspiring. Thanks for the review!

  4. Thanks so much for taking the time to visit NotJustReading, Shiela. Wow – 100 It’s Monday! posts? Well done you. And thank you so much for hosting – it’s my favourite meme of the week.

  5. I don’t watch The Biggest Loser, but your losses are heartbreaking, Sheila. That’s too much for one person and I am even more impressed by your sunny attitude and winning smile than I was before 🙂

  6. I, too, was overwhelmed by her heartbreaking tragedy and it is amazing how she has endured this horrific loss. I found it inspiring to a point, however the constant reference to a perfect life and the perfect family without a single flaw or dent seemed so unrealistic. As did how detached she seemed from the actual loss, or at least that was how I was reading it. It just really seemed like her faith took the place of true grieving, and all could be explained away by what was in the greater plan of her God. That really overshadowed her journey for me. I just felt like there was such a disconnect between the terrible loss and where she is at now, still thinking that the best is behind her, and she will never have that kind of happiness again. That is sad to me. You have to look forward and believe in your future to benefit and grow from the past, especially in tragedy.

Hmmmm... what do you think?