It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between!  D  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner:

Shirley at My Book Shelf


WOO HOO!!!!  Please choose an item out of the Reading Cafe Grab Shelves  and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

In case you wonder why I offer a book giveaway for those who visit others who do this meme, it is because I LOVE community.  Book Blogging is all about sharing our love for books with one another.  By visiting some of the other participants – you never know where you may find that next awesome read – or a blog that becomes one that you want to read more often.  😀

So a pretty crazy week here.  I received some news that bummed me out… and I participated in an event that made me feel better.  😛  You can find out about both here within the happenings of this past week:

Brown Bag Book Event with Laurie Hertzel (my library hosted Laurie and it was totally SSSQQUUUEEEE worthy)  😀

hello goodbye by Emily Chenoweth (book tour and review)

 

A Musical Tribute To Harry Potter (the things  do in my down time…. :razz:)

 

News To Me by Laurie Hertzel (book review and best of the week)


First Drop Of Crimson by Jeaniene Frost (Book review)

 

Cast Removal?  DENIED

 

Weekend Cooking = Seafood Pitas

 

Busy People Of Summer!  I share with you a great way to get your “reading on” 😛

 

Click on the pic to find out what I have been up

So that’s the week.  For some reason I did not get everything read that I had hoped to last week.  I can’t really put my finger on why as I was reading… but just could not do everything I had hoped to.  That said – I am going to keep it a bit lighter over here this week so I can work on the ones from last week as well.  This weeks hot list is:

“Do you remember the hospital, Colton?” Sonja said. “Yes, mommy, I remember,” he said. “That’s where the angels sang to me.”  When Colton Burpo made it through an emergency appendectomy, his family was overjoyed at his miraculous survival. What they weren’t expecting, though, was the story that emerged in the months that followed—a story as beautiful as it was extraordinary, detailing their little boy’s trip to heaven and back. Colton, not yet four years old, told his parents he left his body during the surgery–and authenticated that claim by describing exactly what his parents were doing in another part of the hospital while he was being operated on. He talked of visiting heaven and relayed stories told to him by people he met there whom he had never met in life, sharing events that happened even before he was born. He also astonished his parents with descriptions and obscure details about heaven that matched the Bible exactly, though he had not yet learned to read. With disarming innocence and the plainspoken boldness of a child, Colton tells of meeting long-departed family members. He describes Jesus, the angels, how “really, really big” God is, and how much God loves us. Retold by his father, but using Colton’s uniquely simple words, Heaven is for Real offers a glimpse of the world that awaits us, where as Colton says, “Nobody is old and nobody wears glasses.”

My book club has been talking about this one for the last couple months.  On audio – it is 4 cds and I am already starting the third CD. 

Selfish but beautiful Darcy is reeling from the betrayal of her best friend, Rachel, and her fiance, Dex, even though she cheated on Dex with his friend Marcus. Darcy is carrying Marcus’ child, so she assumes he’ll take care of her. After all, she’s always gotten everything she’s ever wanted. But when Marcus dumps her, she finds herself pregnant and alone. Always the opportunist, Darcy contacts her childhood friend Ethan, now a writer living in London, and gets him to agree to let her visit for a while. She jets off to the UK envisioning a charmed life where a handsome, rich Englishman will sweep her off her feet.

Probably a little light and a little cheesy but hey…. it’s summer… and it was on sale.  😛

When a massive wildfire surrounded Tassajara Zen Mountain Center, five monks risked their lives to save it. A gripping narrative as well as a portrait of the Zen path and the ways of wildfire, Fire Monks reveals what it means to meet a crisis with full presence of mind.

Zen master and author of the classic Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind, Shunryu Suzuki Roshi established a monastery at Tassajara Hot Springs in 1967, drawn to the location’s beauty, peace, and seclusion. Deep in the wilderness east of Big Sur, the center is connected to the outside world by a single unpaved road. The remoteness that makes it an oasis also makes it particularly vulnerable when disaster strikes. If fire entered the canyon, there would be no escape.

More than two thousand wildfires, all started by a single lightning storm, blazed across the state of California in June 2008. With resources stretched thin, firefighters advised residents at Tassajara to evacuate early. Most did. A small crew stayed behind, preparing to protect the monastery when the fire arrived.

But nothing could have prepared them for what came next. A treacherous shift in weather conditions prompted a final order to evacuate everyone, including all firefighters. As they caravanned up the road, five senior monks made the risky decision to turn back. Relying on their Zen training, they were able to remain in the moment and do the seemingly impossible-to greet the fire not as an enemy to defeat, but as a friend to guide.

An upcoming book tour that kind of fascinates me…. I hope it is awesome. 

And that’s it – the other two audio’s I have going, Bloody Jack book 2, and One Tuesday Morning I think are going to take me the better part of the week as they are both longer audio.

So – that leaves you.  What did you read last week?  What are you planning to read this week?  Please add your link to your post below where it says “click here” .

Happy reading 😀

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

101 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I just don’t know how you do it lol. I’m working 10 hour shifts and I’m getting squat done lol. I did manage to finish one audio book this week. The Warrior Dash looked like a lot of fun!!

  2. You had an excellent week sans having your cast removed. Hopefully the OS will have better news for you. Fire Monkeys looks very interesting. Have a fabulous week.

  3. I want to read the Bloody Jack books and Heaven For Real is very popular-there are over 800 holds in my library system (it is a consortium of libraries all over Ohio but still…)!

    I hope you have a great week and that you get a good report at the doctor’s office tomorrow.

      1. Sorry all. My first link posted wrong so I had to repost the link. The second one is correct.

        Thanks … my brain was slower than may fingers!

  4. Awesome reads this week Sheila! Something Blue does look like a bit of a fluffy read, but a fun one at that! I am in need of a nice light book this week!

  5. That Something Blue review seemed so familiar and then I looked closer at the cover and it said author of Something Borrowed which I recently saw the trailer for. I knew it seemed familiar! I like the odd bit of chick-lit now and then.

  6. Oh no! I hope you don’t have to have surgery on your finger! At least you got to do your Warrior Hike. Anything that leaves you that dirty has to be a lot of fun! Enjoy your books this week, and I’ll be praying for good news from the doctor!

    1. LOL – thank you for calling it Warrior Hike – that is exactly what I have been referring to it as I did not run it. 😛

      I appreciate the prayers… I am really hopeful that the appointment tomorrow is just a precautionary and I will be fine.

  7. Looks like you had another fun week. I agree that listening is almost doubling my reading this year (well 150% any way). Your “hot” reads this week all look interesting and varied. 🙂
    Have a great reading week.

  8. Looks like you all had fun in the mud.

    Here’s hoping it is good news with your cast this week.

    Have a great reading week.

    carol

  9. Glad you got to do the Warrier Hike, sounds tough but fun! I’ve got my fingers crossed that your OS appt supports the less invasive option. Obviously not what you were hoping for but the best of the two possibilities.

    Heaven Is For Real sounds like a beautiful read, hope you’re enjoying it! Have a great week & happy reading 🙂

  10. I’m reading The Kid by Sapphire. It is engrossing and heartbreaking and will take me several days to read. After that, I think I’ll pick up One Day so I’ll be ready to see the movie when it comes out.

  11. Some great books there, but it’s the fluffy Emily Giffin that appeals to me most (I’m not proud!). I look forward to your review 🙂

  12. Sorry to hear you didn’t get your cast off. I can imagine how frustrated you must be feeling. Still at least you enjoyed the rest of your week. Looks like it was a good one.

    1. Dont know what to read next? Oh I can help with that! 😛 Look at some of the blogs that link here – they are all reading a wide variety of awesome books… one is bound to catch your eye. 😀

  13. Your Warrior Hike looked like fun! Wow, so many books you read/listen to 🙂 I applaud you for that. Will check into a couple of them I am interested in. I visited ten other sites and found a few books I might check out, so thank you for doing this Meme for/with us! Rae of Best O’ Books Reviews

    1. you are the first on line buddy to know – I am as of about an hour ago – CAST FREE!!!!! They are going to see how it strengthens over the next week and then re-evaluate but the Surgeon thinks it will be fine 😛

  14. I’m sorry that the finger has not healed as well as hoped, Sheila. I hope that the non-surgical option works for you!

    Fire Monks sounds interesting!

  15. I am so sorry about the “denial” and the O.S. but as I am sure you know you are an ultra strong woman and I know you this little setback will not slow you down. As the old lady in this conversation and one who has had some breaks and setbacks I have to use my mother’s tone, excuse me, sorry, but I want you to heal as perfectly as possible to avoid stupid setbacks down the road. Like the arthritis that is going to hit you when you get old. You are so active and I do envy you but I value our friendship and don’t ever want you to suffer the pain later for a few weeks of care taken now. I can never picture you sitting on the sidelines of absolutely anything. Your injuries could have been so much worse and I thank God daily for keeping you strong and for fast healing. Sending you GREAT BIG (((HUGS))) and know you will be back to normal soon and doing some other crazy stuff that I love about you!!!! Stay Strong Sheila!!!! I can’t wait until the day we can finally meet in person!!!!

    1. Wow Lori! You made me tear up a bit! That is so sweet thank you 🙂

      I just returned from the doctors office – CAST FREE!!!!!! I am not entirely out of the woods yet but she wants me to move it a bit this week and I go in again next Monday to check it, but she thinks it will heal just fine. 😀

  16. Nice book list. I really like Giffin’s books, although I heard the movie based on her Something Borrowed wasn’t very good. Did you like Heaven is For Real? It’s been going out of the library a lot. Have a great week!

    1. I was going to watch that movie before I listened to this audio but then thought nah… in some ways so far it is better than I thought it would be – and then again just as cheesy as I thought it would be. 😀

      I finished Heaven Is For Real tonight and yeah – I did like it 😀

  17. Hi there! This is my first Monday meme! Sorry it’s coming so late in the day, but I made it! (I’ll be earlier next week.) Last summer I read 60 books…but I wasn’t working. Now that I am, meh. I don’t get to read nearly as much. However, I shall power through. Check out my book options for this week! Oh, and feel free to make suggestions as I’m having trouble choosing!

    Thanks,
    ~andi
    http://andinovelista.blogspot.com/2011/07/what-are-you-reading.html

  18. oops.. my first It’s a monday post and the linky’s closed!maybe next week I’ll get her sooner..

Hmmmm... what do you think?