It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between!  D  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner:

Lori at Dollycas’s Thoughts

WOO HOO!!!!  Please choose an item out of the Reading Cafe Grab Shelves  and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

**Updates have been made to the Reading Cafe Grab shelves!

If you read the post I put up last night you will understand why this one is later than usual.  A bike ride for charity turned into an emergency room visit that was both painful (broken finger, dislocation of another one…) and encouraging (everyone was so nice – the staff of Sandstone Minnesota Hospital were kind and sweet to a very banged up version of me,

Anyway…. I really am ready to talk books.  😀

Last week was audio book week and it was so much fun.  I still have  a couple posts I had planned for that week that did not get posted yet, BUT here is what did get posted and audio book fan or not – I think you may find them interesting:

My Journey With Audio Books and a giveaway to go with it!

Rococo by Adriana Trigiani (oh wow!!!  This is an audio review and I laughed my way through it!)

Jerusalem Maiden by Talia Carner (oooh awesome book tour review)

One Good Dog by Susan Wilson (audio review and ssssoooooo good!)

The Blogiversary!  (Yes!!!  What a week right?)  This event was so much fun and thank you all who visited, if you want to read a fun post and see great and imaginative comments – check this out.  Totally laugh worthy.  😛

The Hobbit By J R R Tolkien ( an audio review from both myself and Heather from Age 30+ A Lifetime of Books)

A bike, an ambulance, a great team, a cast and a really bad “pull my finger” joke

That was the week.  A pretty active one with a sad anniversary, a good anniversary, an event, and an injury.  Really…. I don’t need a repeat of this week anytime soon. 

Moving forward here is what I have happening:

From her humble roots growing up in Pennsylvania to her days doing amateur improv in Chicago to her early sketches on Saturday Night Live, Fey gives us a fascinating glimpse behind the curtain of modern comedy with equal doses of wit, candor, and self-deprecation.  The chaos of Fey’s life is best detailed when she’s dividing her efforts equally between rehearsing her Sarah Palin impression, trying to get Oprah to appear on 30 Rock, and planning her daughter’s Peter Pan-themed birthday.  Juggling way too many things in her life and laughing her way through them.

Oh I am enjoying this audio.  With only the occasional – ok you went too far – Tina is hilarious, quick witted, and really reminds me a little of myself (except again… for the went to far moments)  😀

 

 

With the plague running rampant in London in 1797, Mary’s parents and sister are soon counted among the dead. Left alone and penniless, the eight-year-old is taken in by a gang of orphans and learns survival skills. However, when their leader is killed, Mary decides to try her luck elsewhere. She strips the dead body, cuts her hair, renames herself Jack Faber, and is soon employed as a ship’s boy on the HMS Dolphin. When the vessel sees its first skirmish with a pirate ship, her bravery saves her friend Jaimy and earns her the nickname “Bloody Jack.” Told by Mary/Jack in an uneven dialect that sometimes doesn’t ring true, the story weaves details of life aboard the Dolphin. Readers see how she changes her disguise based on her own physical changes and handles the “call of nature,” her first experiences with maturation, and the dangers to boys from unscrupulous crew members. The protagonist’s vocabulary, her appearance and demeanor, and her desire to be one of the boys and do everything they do without complaint complete the deception. This story also shows a welcome slant to this genre with an honorable, albeit strict Captain, and ship’s mates who are willing and able teachers.

I have heard so much about these audio books and while I think Nise started it ;), audio book week brought it up again so I finally broke down and have the first in this series. 

 

 

The three Beauchamp women–Joanna and her daughters Freya and Ingrid–live in North Hampton, out on the tip of Long Island. Their beautiful, mist-shrouded town seems almost stuck in time, and all three women lead seemingly quiet, uneventful existences. But they are harboring a mighty secret–they are powerful witches banned from using their magic. Joanna can resurrect people from the dead and heal the most serious of injuries. Ingrid, her bookish daughter, has the ability to predict the future and weave knots that can solve anything from infertility to infidelity. And finally, there’s Freya, the wild child, who has a charm or a potion that can cure most any heartache.

For centuries, all three women have been forced to suppress their abilities. But then Freya, who is about to get married to the wealthy and mysterious Bran Gardiner, finds that her increasingly complicated romantic life makes it more difficult than ever to hide her secret. Soon Ingrid and Joanna confront similar dilemmas, and the Beauchamp women realize they can no longer conceal their true selves. They unearth their wands from the attic, dust off their broomsticks, and begin casting spells on the townspeople. It all seems like a bit of good-natured, innocent magic, but then mysterious, violent attacks begin to plague the town. When a young girl disappears over the Fourth of July weekend, they realize it’s time to uncover who and what dark forces are working against them.

Out of the BEA box comes this gorgeous cover mysterious read….

 

 

I am still finishing up Forever, and hoping to clean up a couple of others as well this week so that is what I am putting on the table.  I leave for Chicago on Wednesday with three friends for a bit of a road trip we have been talking about doing for years and now… here we go.  😀  Seriously, I think life will slow down a bit once this weekend is over.

So time for you to share what you are reading!  Add your own Monday What Are You Reading post below in the linky space where it says “click here”

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

83 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Oh my, one of the firsts today to check in! May you have a good reading week, and a relaxed one since you are injured. Have a good recovery, and have fun in Chicago!

  2. Looks like a very interesting lineup. I don’t do audio books too often. The last one I did was P. G. Wodehouse’s _Heavy Weather_. It was very well done and very funny.

    I can’t believe how early I am this week….usually I’m way down the list.

    Hope you are recovering well!

  3. Hey lady! Sorry to hear about your accident! I hope you adore Bloody Jack as it’s probably the best audiobook I’ve ever listened to. You’re coming to Chicago? I hope you enjoy the city! I live in the west suburbs and love it here. 🙂

  4. I always keep a old fashion paper novel and also a audio book going simultaneously. BTW – Rococo by Adriana Trigiani sounds like a delightful audio book and one I have placed on my list. Sorry to hear about your trip to the hospital — I pray for a speedy recovery while you heal.

    Steve

  5. I really want to read Tina Fay’s book – I have read one excerpt and it was hillarious! I think it would make a fabulous audio!

  6. I hope you are feeling much better!

    I have been wanting to read Blood Jack so I look forward to hearing what you think of it. I have Witches of East End too but haven’t finished it yet. Have a great week and here’s to a speedy recovery 🙂

  7. Bossy Pants is on my wish list. Hope you have a great week…a girlfriend “road trip” sounds like fun!

    That’s probably just what you need to recover!

    Enjoy!!

  8. I’m so sorry to hear about your injuries! I hope you are having a speedy recovery. I really liked your Hobbit review. I don’t think I’ve read it since high school and feel like I need to reread it soon.

  9. Whoa! I’m sorry to hear that your bike ride didn’t go as you planned but glad to hear that your accident wasn’t worse. I hope your trip to Chicago is only filled with pleasant events.

  10. I have seen Bossypants mentioned around the book blog community. Sounds fun.
    Bloody Jack sounds quite interesting – I love the history mixed with the fiction.
    I am sorry about your accident but glad it wasn’t worse. I fall off of bikes all by myself so my family doesn’t let me do anything but exercise biking!
    Have a good week and safe road trip.

  11. I remember reading Rocco and The Hobbit and enjoying both. I will be reading The Jerusalem Maiden soon. I hope you heal quickly and enjoy reading this week.

  12. I have heard so many great things about the audio version of Bossypants. I loved that book, so i think i’m going to use an audible credit to get the audio version.

    I can’t wait to see what you think of The Witches of East End. I really liked it a lot.:)

  13. I visited lots and lots of blogs and got lots and lots of book ideas to stack on my lots and lots of TBR stacks in my house.

    By the way, you’re a mess.

    At least you’re still beautiful.

  14. I’ve heard absolutely nothing but good things about Bossy Pants, so I hope you enjoy! Also, hoping you love Witches of East End, but perhaps because I have it in my TBR pile soon and haven’t heard anything about it yet.

    Hope you’re feeling better, can get some much needed rest and have a fabulous reading week!

  15. Sorry to hear about your accident. I hope your injuries will heal quickly.

    I hope you enjoy Witches of East End, I really want to read that one 🙂 It’s my first It’s Monday 😀

    Happy reading and Have a nice week!

  16. Hope you will like Bloody Jack. I read it last week and really enjoyed it. Haven’t tried the audio book (or any audio book for that matter…), but I hear it’s good.

    Hope you’re healing well!

  17. So much better than last week, 40 so far!!!!!! I am thrilled to win this week!!!!

    Take it easy Sheila, you’ve got to get better and get back on that bike and show it who is the boss!!!

  18. Sorry to hear about your bike accident. Hope you are feeling better soon. I definitely want to read or listen to the Bossypants book. I think Tina Fey is so hilarious!

  19. First time to participate in the Monday Meme but am super excited! And sorry to heard about you boo-boos. I have some Dora and Scooby-Do Band Aids if you need some ~ LoL!!!

    Thanks for such a great blog! I will be exploring it depth over the next few days!! And off to visit some fellow bloggers!!

    XoXo,
    Kristal

  20. Hi Sheila – hope you’re feeling better now.

    I’ve left at least 10 comments. Possibly more. Now I’m tuckered out. 🙂

    Take Care.

  21. You chose some EXCELLENT recovery books! And, after reading your review of Roccoco, I downloaded the audio! I can’t wait to hear Mario’s voice!!

    Rest up and get better, you hear? {{{hugs}}}

  22. So, I wasn’t interested in Bossy Pants … at all … then I started reading the reviews … and now I want it! I bought my first Trigiani book this past week, Brava Valentine, and I’m ready to enjoy it as a great summer read. I think I have The Witches of East End on it’s way to me … it’s been getting good reviews too. I’m off to read some of your posts!

  23. Great reading coming up for you! Hope you’re doing okay after the bike incident.

    Yes, I know I’m very sporadic in my participation, but I just don’t want to bother everyone each week with my less than stellar reading accomplishments. 😀

  24. I’m a bit late commenting this week so hope this finds you on the mend. Great list of books as always and enjoy your trip to Chicago. Take care!

Hmmmm... what do you think?