What I Learned at BBC (Book Blogger Convention)

The Book Blogger Convention (BBC) for the last two years has followed the excitement of the Book Expo of America (BEA).  When the expo ends on Thursday, Thursday evening has been a Book Blogger Reception and then Friday is the BBC, a day committed to Book Bloggers connecting with authors, publishing houses…  it is a Book Blogger work shop and well worth attending.

After a delicious breakfast served at 7:45 am and a chance to build your own swag bag, we all settled into a large room to listen to our Keynote Speaker, Sara Wendell.  Sara is a fellow book blogger and if I remember this correctly (it was early after a crazy busy week) I think an author too.  Sara was funny, describing the first time she was offered a galley…

“What’s a galley?” she had asked.  When they said it was a book sent to her for free to read and review she was shocked.  When a large box a short time later “THUMPED” on her front step she was beside herself….  FREE BOOKS.  MY PRECIOUS!  (picture Gollum here).  When Sara had finished reading the books she called the company and asked where to return them.  They laughed at her and told her to do what she wanted with them – the lady on the phone told Sara that she burned her copies…

“Burning BOOKS?” Sara had cried out in disbelief…. no, “I will keep them.”  The lady had laughed and explained that the books tend to accumulate…. (as a two-year book reviewer… *looking around reading room* I can not agree more.)

Besides being funny Sara also had great advice for taking your blog to the “next level” which means something different for each of us. 

I really enjoyed listening to Sara.

Picture by Meg from "Write Meg!" as she was awesome enough to get pictures! (Click on it to go to her wonderful post about BBC)

Next up was Ask A Publisher or Publicist session and I took a lot away from this.  A great panel led by Jennifer Hart (Harper Collins).  We had on the panel:

Lydia Hirt (Penguin Group)

Kelly Leonard (Hatchette Book group)

Lucille Rettino (Simon and Schuster)

Allison Verost (Harper Teen)

Ksenia Winnicki (Macmillan)

Here is my take away:

  1. You may have heard of some of the big promotions around the blog when they chose blogs to represent Districts for the release of Mockingjay by Susanne Collins and again when they chose blogs to represent courts for the release of the latest Iron King book.  These promotions generate excitement and the panel encouraged us as reviewers if we have ideas to feel free to share them by emailing the publishers.  (They graciously gave us lists of contact emails)  

  2. Galleys cost more than the actual books (I did not know this and this was really a wake up call for me).  In respect of this new-found knowledge I have been taking all the books as they come into my home and adding their release dates to my Google calendar so I can better watch when i should be reviewing these.

  3. We can post a  review for an upcoming release at the point it is available for pre-order.  We do not have to wait for release date.

  4. Posting your review to other sources besides your blog is important.  I currently always try to also put it on Amazon, but learned that when the Publishers were asked, they really would like to see it on Good Reads as well as Good reads apparently connects to other sources.  (I did not know this!)  I am a member of Good Reads but terrible at posting my reviews there as the time spent writing the post, adding it to Amazon… but knowing now that this is important I am going to make the time to do this.

  • They also said that we save them time if we also send them a link to our reviews when they are up, as they like to let the authors know.

  • Also – they do appreciate it is we also let them know of reviews we do to older titles as well.

5.  When requesting a book for review – be polite.  (I would think this is a given, but apparently it is not.)  Explaining which blog you have, traffic, etc… is helpful if you do not already have a relationship with this publisher.  Do not demand a book – in one case the blogger apparently said they needed the book by the weekend…. wow…. uhhh…. *delete request*.  Also helpful is to include your mailing address at the time of the ask.  This saves them the time of having to connect with you again and request it.  *I have a separate email I use for my bookish side and I have added my address to my signature so it shows up on all emails.

I then went into the author Speed Dating event with Reagan (Miss Remmers Reviews) and Alison (Alison’s Book Marks)  *waves*.  I really enjoyed this session where we (bloggers) sat around tables and a different author came to our table every 15 minutes to discuss their book  and we had opportunities to ask questions as well.  This idea was BRILLIANT!  (Yes I quote Harry Potter….)  .  I had a lot of fun meeting authors that were new to me, as well as a few that I had previously met and it was so fun!!  Of course this also added to my “must read” list.  *sigh – but a happy sigh*

The final session I went to Technology For Blogging because seriously – I need all the help I can get.  I went into this blogging gig hardly knowing how to make a post.  Everything else I learned by visiting blogs, seeing things I liked, emailing the blogger and asking how they did it.  Another reminder that book bloggers are incredibly generous and helpful people. 

What I took away from this session was:

  1. Do NOT automatically connect your blog to Twitter and Facebook.  *Guilty as charged*  I think it was Anna Moore who said this (Blog Graphic design).  She said that we should only connect to other social media with our “best of the best” posts.  I agree and disagree… I believe I will keep my posts connected to Twitter as they are all bookish people there – the only twitter connections I have.  I do however agree on the Facebook part as that is everyone from family, friends, co workers, bookish types… some of my posts do not need to go there.  I have not decided at this time to open up a blog page on Facebook and do not think I will.  One more thing to try to keep up with 😀
  2. Connect connect connect… we talked about Tumblr which I know little about – but also other ways to connect with others which in turn will create relationships that in turn will (possibly) become readers of your blog.  

By the end of BBC I was full of information and chalk it up as a successful and fun day.  I learned a little, made many connections with bloggers and authors and publishers and say hats off to the hard-working behind the scenes bloggers who pulled off a successful event!  😀

56 thoughts on “What I Learned at BBC (Book Blogger Convention)

  1. Very interesting, Sheila. Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write this down. I didn’t know about the Goodreads links either. I often put a review on Amazon and on Shelfari (is like GR but smaller). It’s a small effort to also put it on GR as I have an account there too (where not?).

  2. I agree with you about Twitter. I connect my blog to it. I get a lot of hits from Twitter according to Google Analytics. It’s not like I spam everyone 10 times a day with it.

    I liked your photos!

  3. Very informative, Sheila…I was curious about when it was okay to post reviews of not-yet-released books…glad that I haven’t broken any rules so far! LOL

    I do normally post reviews on Amazon, and then “copy” them on Goodreads and one of my blogs. All of my blogs are networked on Facebook.

    I’m curious about Tumblr, too.

  4. I didn’t attend the ask a publisher session but sounds like it was interesting. I never email publishers review links unless I got the book from them – which happens about never. So I should really get better at that. And at putting my reviews other places which I also never do. Sounds like I’m going to be busy!

  5. Before I was at WordPress, I used to have my blog feed into my facebook page. Apparently it drove some people crazy to the point of hiding me – including my brother! That was a real wakeup call for me. I was never on FB, but my brother told me I was the only person who ever showed up in his feed and it looked like I was on there constantly, just from stuff importing! So I’m glad moving to WP took that away. I was never interested in adding a FB Page for my blog, even when I was still blogging. I also refuse to “like” other blogs and save my “likes” for other things. I’m also not happy with the trend of people making FB profiles for their blogs and becoming friends with us that way…sigh. Well anyway, I actually didn’t mean this comment to be pure grouch, really I didn’t! I’m just glad to see some of those tips up there that you mentioned!

    1. LOL…. all good points Amanda! 😀 I was the same way with Facebook – I rarely went on – but my posts did… my status would be pathetically out of date, but there would be fresh posts from me always 🙂 . i am sure people probably hid me too and I just dont know about it. 😀

      Unless a post is something super special, I dont want it on Facebook anymore.

  6. Thank you for sharing this and I am on good reads as well. Since I am new to this I am doing what you suggest. Thanks so much.

  7. Interesting stuff!

    I was aware of ARCs costing more than the finished book as I work in the print industry. Basically, anything with a shorter print run will generally cost more per item than a big print run (depending on various factors though).

  8. Thanks for sharing this Sheila. I have to say I am guilty of not linking my reviews to GoodReads but I am thinking I need to make the effort to do that.

    I don’t have my blog linked to facebook but it is to twitter and I have noticed that I am getting a very more hits that way.

    1. I am going to work harder at Good reads too Cindy – when I see how much work and effort the publsihers/authors make to connect with us I think it is the least I can do. 🙂

      And I agree – my Twitter feed does bring in people and I know I read posts I think sound interesting I find on Twitter too.

  9. Sheila, Great meeting you at BBC and thank you for posting the picture of us! Also, thanks for the write-ups of the panels; great to catch up on the ones I missed.

  10. I don’t do FB, so that’s not an issue, but I agree with you about Twitter. Since I don’t post everyday,and I’m not on twitter a whole lot, it’s not like I’m bombarding people with tweets.

  11. Great info, you are so good with sharing, thank you for that. I am good at posting on my blog and LibraryThing but not always Amazon. I need to open a Goodreads account.

    I have never been into the social networking, no FB, Twitter for me, I will continue to network other ways.

    The speed dating author session sounded amazing, love that idea.

    1. Hi Marce, I am pretty sure I have an account at Library Thing too but wow…. the keeping up…. writing the post already usually takes me close to an hour – then linking it to Amazon, now Good reads, and to the author/publisher….. I dont think I can add one more 😀

  12. Thank you for sharing! I already try and get all my reviews copied over to Goodreads. I used to post them on B&N as well but I’ve fallen way behind on that one.

    I have my posts go to twitter but not Facebook. A lot of my friends on facebook don’t even know I have a blog.

  13. Thanks for the excellent run-down on BBC. I left at noon, so I was only there for half of it, and honestly for the half that I was there I was so tired and preoccupied with the nuts and bolts of escaping NYC in the afternoon, that I probably didn’t take away as much as I could have.

    I sat it on the Ask a Publisher/Publicist session and found it very interesting. The only other place I post my reviews is LibraryThing which is good in that other LT users can see them, and it uses them for libraries that use their program to enhance their catalogs, but I don’t know of much else. I’ll always be an LT girl, but I wonder if I shouldn’t think about adding Good Reads to my repertoire too…. Hmmm, food for thought!

  14. Thanks for sharing these very useful tips with all of us who didn’t get to go. I always log books in and post reviews for them on both Librarything and Goodreads so I guess I was doing a good thing. I’m not always brave enough to send a review link to publishers though. Some days I do, some days I don’t. Guess I need to work on that.

  15. Thanks for the informative post. I didn’t know that ARCs were that costly. Have to remember to always send those publisher links now that I know they do want them.

    I find automatically connecting to twitter to be very helpful. And if I don’t want the post to go to twitter I uncheck the little “publicize twitter” box when I start the post (I use wordpress).

    It would be annoying to have the feed go to my facebook page though since a lot of my FB friends really don’t care about my blog :(. I do have a facebook fan page for the blog as an option for those who prefer to follow that way.

    1. Leslie – i did have mine set up to go to Facebook automatically but since have pulled it… they were right… like you… many of my facebook friends really do not care to know what I am reading 😀

  16. Great post, Sheila! I had no idea that publishers would preferred for reviewers to post their reviews on Goodreads over Amazon. I think I’ll start doing that.

  17. What a great post! Thank you so much for sharing so much info about what happened. I’m always looking for ways to improve.

    I still can’t believe that blogger asked for a book that weekend! What?! People are crazy!

  18. I would have loved to be there! I DO cross-post my reviews, but I’ve yet to receive a box of books! 🙂 Sometimes, I find it hard to send a link because some of the ARC’s don’t come with contact info. Like you, I don’t have my blog linked to Facebook (that’s my personal account and I haven’t set one up for the blog and probably won’t in the near future), but I DO now and then share a review link on there. And for Twitter, I only post reviews and giveaways and every now and then a brand plug for one of my posts. I don’t like filling up the Twitter feed, so I generally post once a day on average.

  19. Sounds like another amazing experience, Sheila. Lots of great ideas. Ah, so little time and so many books, reviews, blog posts, etc.

    So glad you have gotten to experience all of this (twice now!!) – you are very lucky! Thanks so much for sharing it with all of us.

    Sue

  20. I really enjoyed reading your recap of BBC 2011. I was not able to attend in 2011; however, I have plans to attend in 2012. I have been reading recaps of the 2011 convention and I very anxious to see what I can glean from the experience. Thanks for posting this recap.

    Steve

Hmmmm... what do you think?