It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between!  D  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner:

Meg at Bookish Affair

WOO HOO!!!!  Please choose an item out of the Reading Cafe Grab Shelves  and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

**Updates have been made to the Reading Cafe Grab shelves!

As many of you know, I am heading to the cities tonight (Sunday) and am on my way to New York (BEA!) in the morning (Monday).  I will keep this pretty short and sweet this week as honestly… I can not imagine I will get a lot of reading done other than my audio in the car to and from the cities and my NOOK on the plane 😀

Last week looked a lot like this (well… actually… it looked EXACTLY like this.)  😛


Who Do You Write Your Book reviews For?  (A question to book bloggers…)

Word Shakers On line Book Club is going again!  Join in this read a long!


The Last Time I Saw You By Elizabeth Berg – Word Shaker Review discussion

Their Eyes Were Watching God – book and movie review – both are not to miss!


Crooked Letter Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin – TLC Tour read


The Brainerd Police Blotter – is every town this embarrassing?…LOL

Mmmmm…. fairly active week.  I still have books I wish I had read but for some reason life fills in much of my spare time with other “to do’s” where I am really beginning to wonder…is it spare time at all?  😛

So…. for this week…. here is my small plan of attack:


Lena Haloway is content in her safe, government-managed society. She feels (mostly) relaxed about the future in which her husband and career will be decided, and looks forward to turning 18, when she’ll be cured of deliria, a.k.a. love. She tries not to think about her mother’s suicide (her last words to Lena were a forbidden “I love you”) or the supposed “Invalid” community made up of the uncured just beyond her Portland, Maine, border. There’s no real point—she believes her government knows how to best protect its people, and should do so at any cost. But 95 days before her cure, Lena meets Alex, a confident and mysterious young man who makes her heart flutter and her skin turn red-hot. As their romance blossoms, Lena begins to doubt the intentions of those in power, and fears that her world will turn gray should she submit to the procedure.

I really appreciated Lauren Oliver’s first book, Before I Fall.  Even after I finished reading it… I still kept thinking back to it which only deepened my appreciation.  I have been meaning to read this one for a while and hope that this Nook version will finally get me moving on this one 😀




On a rainy spring day in Seattle, young software tycoon Micah Taylor receives a cryptic, twenty-five-year-old letter from a great uncle he never knew. It claims a home awaits him on the Oregon coast that will turn his world inside out. Suspecting a prank, Micah arrives at Cannon Beach to discover a stunning brand new nine-thousand square foot house. And after meeting Sarah Sabin at a nearby ice cream shop, he has two reasons to visit the beach every weekend. When bizarre things start happening in the rooms of the home, Micah suspects they have some connection to his enigmatic new friend, Rick, the town mechanic. But Rick will only say the house is spiritual. This unnerves Micah because his faith slipped away like the tide years ago, and he wants to keep it that way. But as he slowly discovers, the home isn’t just spiritual, it’s a physical manifestation of his soul, which God uses to heal Micah’s darkest wounds and lead him into an astonishing new destiny.

Ok… so I have wanted to read this one for awhile now and just now had it downloaded to my NOOK.  I am really hopeful about it as I just seen a review say it was like Ted Dekker’s HOUSE – which I hate to use the word hate…. but…. yeah.  SO we shall see 😀


Even on their wedding day, John and Irene sensed that they were about to make a mistake. Years later, divorced, dating other people, and living in different parts of the country, they seem to have nothing in common—nothing except the most important person in each of their lives: Sadie, their spirited eighteen-year-old  daughter. Feeling smothered by Irene and distanced from John, Sadie is growing more and more attached to her new boyfriend, Ron.
When tragedy strikes, Irene and John come together to support the daughter they love so dearly. What takes longer is to remember how they really feel about each other.

Out of the four books I was considering for the New York trip I had agreed to take only one and a couple of days ago I put the vote on you the readers…. this is the one that won that vote with a close following on City of Bones (maybe that one will have to be my next road trip read 😀

I am finishing up Zoo Keepers Wife on my way to the cities today, and One Good Dog is on my IPOD which will also be tagging along.  😀


I am sure that is more than enough to keep my busy 😀  It’s time for me to finish this up and get my last second packing done… by the time this post goes live on Sunday I will hopefully be in the cities tucked safely away in my hotel for the night preparing for tomorrow mornings flight.  😀 

I will be on as I can to check in on you and what you are reading – and I will be on throughout the week updating you on what is happening in New York and with BEA (Book Expo America). 

Be sure to link your What Are You Reading post here so I as well as others can pop in and see what you are reading.  Literary minds want to know.  😛

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

55 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I have had Rooms on my Kindle forever, need to read it.

    I will participate but just posted a review so will add in morning.

  2. I’m super excited about BEA too! (I sent you a message through your blog not twitter) I’m wondering if I should bring two or three duffel bags for all the ARCs I’m sure to find. 🙂

    I really liked Before I Fall, but Delirium didn’t strike the same cord unfortunately. Hope you enjoy your reads this week. 🙂

    1. I messaged you back on twitter 😀 bring all the duffel bags you can… 🙂

      That is actually my concern about Delirium. I don’t think it is one I would pick up if not for the past book from the author 🙂

  3. Have a great time, Sheila!
    I have the Berg on my iPod but not sure when I’ll listen to it. This week I’m reading Barbara O’Neal’s How To Bake A Perfect Life; and then continuing my year-long reading of War & Peace (chapter a day).

  4. I intend to read Their Eyes Were Watching God sometime this summer and post my review during Banned Books Week. I’m glad to know you enjoyed it! Have a fabulous week!

  5. Have an awesome time at BEA, I’ll be following along from the comfort of my armchair lol. I liked Delirium more than Before I Fall, hope you enjoy it. Have a wonderful week 🙂

  6. Oh I hope you enjoy Delirium. It is an awesome novel. I am also very interested in hearing how you like Once Upon a Time There Was You. It has been a while since I read Berg, but I love her stories. Have a wonderful week!

  7. I have Once Upon a Time There Was You and am hoping to get to it soon!

    Enjoy the city and the BEA – can’t wait to hear about your experience – maybe one year I will make it there (I only live 40 minutes from the city!)

  8. I hope you had an uneventful trip to the cities and didn’t run into any of the severe weather we were experiencing.

    Enjoy your time in New York! Looking forward to reading all about it.

  9. I will definitely be interesting in reading your review of Rooms; I read it and reviewed it myself as well a few weeks ago. Crooked Letter Crooked Letter – LOVED it! I’m going to see what you have to say about it – I hope you loved it too. Delirium – one that both Not-So-Bebe-Girl Autumn and I both enjoyed! Have a great reading week!

  10. I can’t wait to hear what you thought of The Zookeeper’s Wife – I posted a link last week to a wonderful radio interview with the author.

    Have a great time at BEA!!

    Sue

Hmmmm... what do you think?