It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between!  D  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner:

Joanne’s best

WOO HOO!!!!  Please choose an item out of the Reading Cafe Grab Shelves  and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

**Updates have been made to the Reading Cafe Grab shelves!


Here is what I was doing this past week:

“Potato Marley” (When good vegetables… go bad)

Cloaked by Alex Flinn ( a modern fairy tale…)

ROOM by Emma Donoghue – revisted by my book club The Bookies (with fun food to go with the review!)

The Island Of Lost Girls by Jennifer McMahon (mmm hmmmm… same author as I read last week….)

The Painted Veil – Movie VS. Book (You will never guess who wins!  :razz:)

Not My Daughter by Barbara Delinsky (I liked it… and I didn’t…)


How Do You Choose What To Read Next?  (The question that haunts me…..)  😛


As for this next week… I am going to take it easy as there are a few books I would love to clean up on this week before I leave on Sunday for BEA.


The true story of how the keepers of the Warsaw Zoo saved hundreds of people from Nazi hands. When Germany invaded Poland, Stuka bombers devastated Warsaw, and the city’s zoo along with it. With most of their animals dead, zookeepers Antonina and Jan Żabiński began smuggling Jews into empty cages. Another dozen “guests” hid inside the Żabińskis’ villa, emerging after dark for dinner, socializing, and, during rare moments of calm, piano concerts. Jan, active in the Polish resistance, kept ammunition buried in the elephant enclosure and stashed explosives in the animal hospital. Meanwhile, Antonina kept her unusual household afloat, caring for both its human and its animal inhabitants —otters, a badger, hyena pups, lynxes— and keeping alive an atmosphere of play and innocence even as Europe crumbled around her.

I know…. I said I was tired of war stories… and I am… but somehow I keep finding my way back to them.  My friend Heidi recommended this one a while ago and when I recently found it at my library on audio I thought I would give it a try. 

Margaret and Patrick have been married just a few months when they set off on what they hope will be a great adventure-a year living in Kenya. Margaret quickly realizes there is a great deal she doesn’t know about the complex mores of her new home, and about her own husband.

A British couple invites the newlyweds to join on a climbing expedition to Mount Kenya, and they eagerly agree. But during their harrowing ascent, a horrific accident occurs. In the aftermath of the tragedy, Margaret struggles to understand what happened on the mountain and how these events have transformed her and her marriage, perhaps forever.

This one has been on my shelf for far too long… I have started it and it does seem to take forever to get to the heart of the story but it seems to be picking up a bit now…


A Canticle for Leibowitz opens with the accidental excavation of a holy artifact: a creased, brittle memo scrawled by the hand of the blessed Saint Leibowitz, that reads: “Pound pastrami, can kraut, six bagels–bring home for Emma.” To the Brothers of Saint Leibowitz, this sacred shopping list penned by an obscure, 20th-century engineer is a symbol of hope from the distant past, from before the Simplification, the fiery atomic holocaust that plunged the earth into darkness and ignorance. As 1984 cautioned against Stalinism, so 1959’s A Canticle for Leibowitz warns of the threat and implications of nuclear annihilation. Following a cloister of monks in their Utah abbey over some six or seven hundred years, the funny but bleak Canticle tackles the sociological and religious implications of the cyclical rise and fall of civilization, questioning whether humanity can hope for more than repeating its own history.

This is our Faith N Fiction group read and I am just getting into it… it’s different from what I would choose for myself to read but think it will make for good discussion.


Adam March is a married father and successful businessman poised to become a CEO—that is, until the day his troubled past catches up with him. Soon Adam has lost his job, his family, and his house and is living in a lonely apartment working off his community-service sentence in a local men’s shelter. Adam’s story alternates with that of Chance, a former fighting pit bull who has escaped, lived on the streets, and is now back at the animal shelter. When circumstances require Adam to adopt and care for Chance, he comes to realize the joy and comfort of animal companionship.

Ok… this is the audio that is going on after I finish Their Eyes Were Watching God which should be yet this week.  When I chose this, I wanted something lighter after I looked at what I am currently putting my brain through from the looks of the books above.  I hope and pray that this dog does not die at the end…. Hey, it was either this or Bossy Pants by Tina Fey.


That’s my week – it is mostly audio as that I can listen to while doing other things (like packing!) I hope to get around to all of you this week and see what you are reading so please be sure to link up your Monday What Are You Reading here below where it says “click here”.  And yes, there will be a post next week as well… I am not leaving for the cities until Sunday evening and will be available throughout the plane rides to catch up on what you are all reading 😀

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

110 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. The Zookeeper’s Wife sounds fantastic. I will have to add it to my TBR list. I hadn’t heard of it before. I look forward to your review. Have a great week!

  2. I was a little disappointed in The Zookeeper’s Wife, but I hope you enjoy it more! There were a lot of interesting, important stories woven into the book.

    I was asked to review a book about a search and rescue dog last summer, and before I agreed, I had to ask, “Does the dog die at the end?” I will cry harder at those than at any other kind of book!

    Enjoy your week!

  3. Looks like you had a good week last week and have lots planned this week. Always different reading which makes it fun to compare.
    I hope you have a great week. I am a little jealous of you going to BEA… I thought about it just briefly but it wasn’t in the cards. I look forward to hearing what a good time you have!

    1. Thansk Martha E – if you care to give BEA a thought again next year know that it so worth it… I had the most amazing experience last year and I am hopeful this year will be even better 😀

  4. Boy I wish I had your reading stamina lol. I’m on a bit of a slump at the moment and trying to crawl my way out of it.

  5. I read A Canticle for Leibowitz in March as part of my dystopian/post-apocalyptic monthly theme and I absolutely loved it. It was a lot funnier than I expected it to be and it didn’t get too preachy which as a non-religious person I really appreciated. I hope that you enjoy it and I can’t wait to read your thoughts on it!

  6. I got Anita Shreve’s “A Change in Altitude” recently:
    http://bonniesbooks.blogspot.com/2011/04/books-for-my-birthday.html

    Have you read Cormac McCarthy’s “The Road”? When I reviewed it in 2007, I threw in a review of “A Canticle for Leibowitz” because I think it’s considerably better than “The Road.” I read “Canticle” in the 1970s and have read it another time or two since then. You’ll have a lot to talk about in your group! Here’s my 2007 review:
    http://bonniesbooks.blogspot.com/2007/04/road.html

      1. The Road is definitely not worth reading. If I remember correctly, I gave it two stars out of five when I reviewed it. It was just awful. Bland, underdeveloped characters, a plot that went pretty much nowhere, and painful dialogue that consisted mostly of the same three sentences repeated over and over again. A Canticle for Leibowitz is on a completely different planet compared to The Road.

  7. You know, I’ve been really curious to try some of Anita Shreve’s writing, but haven’t yet. I’ll be interested to see how it turns out for you since you mentioned it’s got a bit of a slow start.

    And yay! How exciting, BEA!!! I’m part of the organizing group for Armchair BEA again this year and I can’t wait, it’s going to be a great week!

    Have a fabulous reading week as usual! 🙂

  8. I think I have the new Anita Shreve sitting in my library book pile – but it’s the new Diane Chamberlain for me this week.

  9. The first time I heard about A Canticle for Leibowitz was last week. And now you mention it too! I wonder what it’s like. I’ll be reading your review with interest.

    Have a good week!

  10. Wow, that’s quite a big list and a mix of books too. All seem very interesting. Have always meant to try a book by Anita Shreve but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

  11. Looking forward to your thoughts on The Zookeeper’s Wife, it’s on my wishlist and I love a good dog book so will be back to check that out too Sheila (only going on my wishlist if pooch is still living at end of book lol)

    Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

  12. I almost cried just reading the synopsis of One Good Dog – I’m not very good with animal stories. Have you ever seen the movie Hachi? Very good movie, but an emotional one.

    I’m going to BEA too (if you’re talking about the one coming up in NYC, I don’t know if there’s more than one)! I’m really looking forward to it. It’ll be my first time there. 🙂

    1. I have not seen Hachi. Hmmmm…. 🙂

      YAY and yes to BEA (Only one I am aware of!) I hope to see you there – direct message me on twitter @bookjourney and I will give you my cell number….. SSQQUUEEE!!!!

  13. Wow, you went wild week before last. Wish it had been me. I love Anita Shreve. She’s great. I have heard The Zookeeper’s Wife is good too. Hard to believe it nonfiction. Would like to read it.

  14. “I liked it…and I didn’t like it” I’ve had a few books end up like this for me. Not sure if I enjoyed them or not….liked the story writing, but not the story…or liked the character but not the story…etc. At least there are so many books out there for so many of our varied tastes, right?

  15. Ah, the Zookeeper’s Wife has been on my list for a long time as well. I look forward to hearing what you think about it.

    You get to go to BEA again this year?? How wonderful! I hope you have a fabulous time!

    Sue

  16. I loved Cloaked and Room, you had an excellent reading week!

    I’m doing the same as you this week, audiobooks and a not too ambitious reading goal to prepare for BEA (which I am SO excited for!).

    Happy reading!

  17. I loved Cloaked and Room, you had an excellent reading week!

    I’m doing the same as you this week, audiobooks and a not too ambitious reading goal to prepare for BEA (which I am SO excited for!).

    Happy reading!

    1. I should be there in the next day or two as long as I focus on the book…. I just seen Netflix is sending me Their Eyes Are Watching God and I really want to get that in as well this week as soon as I finish the audio. 😀

  18. I’ve added The Zookeeper’s Wife to my TBR list, and I’ll probably add One Good Dog, too- although like you, I really hope the dog does not die. I have a pit mix at home and every time there is a story about abused pits on the news, I can’t help but think of my girl.

    ROOM has been on my list for a while, too, but I made a vow to read the unread books on my shelves before ordering off my Amazon.com wishlist.

    Thanks for the reviews!

  19. I want to read The Zookeeper’s Wife at some point, but I’ve had Babylon’s Ark on my TBR for ages and should really read that first.

  20. Hi!
    I’ve had The Zookeeper’s Wife on my TBR list forever. I’ll have to move it up. I’ve visited 10 people this week. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

  21. WAIT!!! There is an “armchair” BEA?
    I must find out more!!!

    And, The Zookeeper’s Wife does sound good. I hope it is.
    I’ll get my “Last Time I saw you” post up this week.

  22. You always have such a great variety of reads. I have visited over 20 blogs and added way to many books to my wish list again.

    Going to enjoy some peace and quiet and do a little reading.

    HAVE A GREAT WEEK!!!

    Lori

  23. Looks like you’ve got an interesting reading week ahead of you!

    I hope you had a wonderful time at BEA. I’d love to go to something like that.

  24. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I loved Zookeeper’s Wife. I’ve noticed a lot of people reading it. I might have to share my views on it when I get behind on my reading. If you want to join Armchair BEA, all the information you need is here: http://www.armchairbea.com/

  25. I read The Zookeeper’s Wife a couple of years ago. It wasn’t really my favorite, but I look forward to your thoughts on it. Have a good week!

  26. I have wanted to read A Canticle for Liebowitz for what seems like forever now, I can’t wait to read your review of it.

    Have a great week!

  27. Zookeeper’s Wife definitely sounds interesting. I hope you’re enjoying it! For once, I remembered to come back here and tell you I visited 10 blogs. I never seem to remember to do that! Have a great week!

  28. Hi there! I understand this is somewhat off-topic but I had to
    ask. Does operating a well-established website like
    yours require a large amount of work? I’m completely new to operating a blog but I do write in my diary daily. I’d like to start a blog so I will
    be able to share my experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.

    Appreciate it!

Hmmmm... what do you think?