It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between!  D  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner:

Jesse from Elle Lit.

WOO HOO!!!!  Please choose an item out of the Reading Cafe Grab Shelves  and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

**Updates have been made to the Reading Cafe Grab shelves!

I know I am coming in late on posting this Sunday night.  I have been cleaning all day which may sound weird for Mother’s Day…. but really I have been so excited to dig into some spring cleaning.  I cleaned up a spare bedroom,painted a bathroom, dusted all furniture, hung new shower curtain, two loads of laundry, cleaned kitchen, vacuumed all carpets, cleaned entryway, shampooed all carpets. 

Basically…. I smell like a combo of cleaning supplies.  I am pretty sure I am sanitized.  😛

BUT – lets talk books as that is what we are really here for right?  My week was not impressive…. I really don’t know what happened but here is my meager offerings:


The Goodbye Quilt by Susan Wiggs (a perfect Mothers Day read!)


The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham (wowza…. I was pretty impressed with this one!)


Promise Not To Tell by Jennifer McMahon (spooky good!)

I also finished The Last Time I Saw You by Elizabeth Berg – (about time I know!!!)


And that is it!  True story…. I tanked out this week. 😀


So… here is my cautious plan for this week:


A deeply moving story by a survivor of the commercial sex industry who has devoted her career to activism and helping other young girls escape “the life”

At thirteen, Rachel Lloyd found herself caught up in a world of pain and abuse, struggling to survive as a child with no responsible adults to support her. Vulnerable yet tough, she eventually ended up a victim of commercial sexual exploitation. It took time and incredible resilience, but with the help of a local church community, she broke free of her pimp and her past.

Three years later, Lloyd arrived in the United States to work with adult women in the sex industry and soon founded her own nonprofit—GEMS, Girls Educational and Mentoring Services—to meet the needs of other girls with her history. She also earned her GED and won full scholarships to college and a graduate program. Today Lloyd is executive director of GEMS in New York City and has turned it into one of the nation’s most groundbreaking nonprofit organizations.

I am really excited to read this one!  This book sounds like it is a great fit for me!


Recent college grad Rhonda Farr witnesses a child abduction in front of a convenience store in Pike’s Crossing, Vt. Ernestine Ernie Florucci willingly leaves her mother’s car because her six-foot-tall abductor is wearing a rabbit suit. Rhonda remembers her best friend Lizzy’s father entertaining her and Lizzy in a rabbit costume in 1993, and vanishing soon after. Three years later, Lizzy disappeared en route to high school. Guilt over her inability to stop Ernie’s abduction spurs Rhonda to join the search for the girl. She recalls the summer that Lizzy’s older brother, Peter, had them all perform Peter Pan, which was a great success, but there were dark secrets beneath the makeshift stage.

Ok… the cover did not bother me until… now.  Now its a little creepy… I think it is the frog.


I have my eye on a couple more but am going to keep it at that just to see where I land.  😀  I should be finishing up some audio this week too but I have no idea what is next…. maybe after peeking at your Monday What Are You reading posts I will know…. 😀

Please add your Monday link below to where it says click here.  I can’t wait to see what you are reading!  😀


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

85 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I adored Promise Not to Tell and Girls Like Us. I am scheduled to review Island of Lost Girls in a week or too. Have a wonderful week and enjoy your reading.

  2. I didn’t finish anything this week, so you did better than me!

    And I’m envious of your motivation today! I did nothing but sit around yesterday, then did mothers day things all day today. Totally not productive, lol.

  3. There must be something in the air because I really got the cleaning bug as well. I cleaned up quite a bit of my reading shelves, but I’m hoping to get a bit more done during this coming week. A clean house always makes me feel more comfy and able to snuggle in for another great book!

    Hopefully this week will be fantastic for you! 🙂

  4. I seem to have the same book on my list for this week as I have done for the last couple of weeks – oops!!

  5. I had a pretty dismal reading week too, but life in general was busy and fun so … you get that 🙂
    Both your books look good so I look forward to your reviews. Happy reading!

  6. I got tired just reading the list of all you accomplished. If I get dressed and go to work, I think I’m doing a major thing…on the weekends if I move from the bedroom to the living room it’s quite an accomplishment!

    Anyway, it’s weird that your reading decreased – mine increased – by only one book, but it’s an increase. 🙂

  7. I enjoyed your reviews of The Goodbye Quilt and The Painted Vail. I also think Promise Not to Tell looks good.

    Your books this week sound pretty disturbing! It is hard for me to read “dark” books. I usually have to balance them with something happier or lighthearted.

    Have a great week!

    1. LOL… I didnt notice they were disturbing until you said that Christina. I am popping into the library this morning for something on audio – I will look for lighter in the mix (I probably shouldn’t tell you the current audio in my car is called “Before I Die”…. 😀

  8. I have visited about 15 of the list and left comments on about 10 blogs 🙂 I have placed Girls like us on my wishlist because it seems really interesting 🙂

  9. I spent most of the week reading Elizabeth I by Margaret George which I loved – review coming out later today!

    I also got to meet Elizabeth Berg this past week – and I got a few of her books autographed, including the new one.

    Have a great week!

  10. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Girls Like Us – that one is definitely on my TBR list. Have fun reading!

  11. Ooh, Island of Lost Girls sounds spooky good. Hope you enjoy it, but maybe “enjoy” is the wrong word!

    Both sound like they’re going to the dark side. My kind of read!

    1. The house looks so good Kathy – I am thrilled with it. Our awful weather has really kept the spring cleaning at bay but I think the beautiful Saturday bike ride inspired me that spring is (sort of) here.

  12. You get that big burst of cleaning energy next month feel free to head this way. Graduation is June 11 and I am already frantic trying to get the house ready for friends and relatives. lol

      1. Yes, we have painting to do too and a living room floor to finish. lol The bathrooms need a deep cleaning, not just the weekly hurry up clean. My mom passed away a couple of years ago so the lead critic won’t be here but man I can still hear here some days telling me to get my butt in gear!!

  13. I think A Canticle for Leibowitz should be on your to-read list for this week … :p I’m really enjoying it, but it’s not exactly a fast read (for me, anyway).

  14. Island of Lost Girls sounds really good and I am going to add it to my wish list. Enjoy your week. I am going to look forward to this sunshine we are getting this week; time to do some gardening.

  15. My heart is literally beating fast after reading the synopsis for The Island of Lost Girls…no WAY could I read it and be able to sleep at night. Not to mention, BUNNY COSTUMES? Is there anything scarier than that? (I’m channeling Anya from BTVS on the bunny thing)

    I am swimming in the YA pool this month – I don’t know what’s gotten into me, but I can’t get enough of it. Haha!

    Have a great week – Happy reading!

  16. I love Susan Wiggs’ historicals and like her contemporaries. I’ll have to check your review.
    Your books for this week look different. I think you like intense drama a bit more than I do… I’m happy with fantasy world. LOL
    Have a great week.

  17. Actually, that sounds like a great mother’s day! I’d love to dive into some serious spring cleaning….though I couldn’t accomplish that much in a month! I bet it feels good.

    I haven’t read The Painted Veil but I loved the movie!

    Both of your books for this week sound intriguing but also pretty creepy.

    Enjoy your reading this week!

    Sue

  18. Everyone seems to be in busy mode at the moment! Good to hear you were impressed with The Painted Veil…this might go onto my TBR soon.

  19. Sheila you may have “tanked” on the reading last week but you have awesome cleaning skills for sure! LOL

    I am not really comfy with the reading choices you are looking at for next up on the list but hope you enjoy them, my fantasy reads keep me entertained but real life scenarios not so much… I do not watch the news either!

    Last week was a good week for me I read the entire Morganville Vampire series that had sitting on my To Be Read Shelf books 1-8, read the first 4 books in Lili StCrow’s Strange Angels series and one review e-book ARC copy of Predators of Darkness-Aftermath by Leonard Hilley…

    Reading today new release by Maria Zannini, Apocalypse Rising which is her sequel to Touch of Fire and so far so good!

    Reading next not sure but probably a couple of review books sent to me that are overdue!

Hmmmm... what do you think?