Fablehaven by Brandon Mull

Kendra and Seth are going to spend a couple of weeks with the grandparents in Connecticut, grandparents they hardly know.  The house is large and the yard is larger and there seems to be a lot of rules.  Their grandfather tells them not to go near the woods, and the is the strange man on the property who leaves out saucers of milk that they are told never to touch…

Then the day comes when the siblings do cross into the woods…. and they see the mysterious old woman with the rope, mystical creatures, and fairies…

what exactly is Fablehaven and what dangers have they unleashed by breaking the rules?


It is no secret that I am a HUGE fan of all things Harry Potter.  I think J K Rowling is brilliant and every time I pick up one of the books I swear I catch something new that makes me smile…..

When I first heard of this book and heard it was being compared to the Harry Potter reads I was intrigued.  This is something  I could not pass up.  Of course there was also cover love…. its super creepy… and really shiny and that just made me want to read it more.

Fablehaven was an adventure is reading.  Our two characters Kendra and Seth being 13, and 11, gave this book a strong MG feeling to me.

I enjoyed the storyline and of course whats not to love about fairies?  Seth begins to drive me nuts in the book as he is a constant rule breaker and then “oh so sorry,” and then he breaks another rule.  Kendra is just the opposite and does as she is told and that is a big advantage as the book hits the climatic ending.

Overall, this is not Harry Potter.  However I can see MG students enjoy the vivid imagination that is written into the characters (and I do mean CHARACTERS!) of Fablehaven.

Another huge plus of this read is that as I am so late to this books party, that all following books in this series have been released.  So if you love this book, there is no waiting to see where the adventure will take you next!  Five books in all is a very doable set of reads!

Amazon Rating

The 2011 WHERE Are you reading map has been updated to include Fablehaven

I received this book as a win

32 thoughts on “Fablehaven by Brandon Mull

  1. I got the first book on CD and listened to it with my grandson (11 at the time) and we loved it. My daughter borrowed it so she and her stepson could listen to it, with grandson #1 listening to it a second time. Grandson #1 is dyslexic and the size of the books are intimidating, I bought 2 more of the books but he won’t tackle them. grandson #2 loved them and read the rest of the series that was out right away. The library hasn’t gotten in any more of the series on CD and at $42 + for each book they aren’t in the budget. It is a great MG read and I hope to get to the rest of them one of these days. I keep hoping I’ll find them on CD somewhere.

    I see you have THE TIN TICKET on your side bar. I can’t wait to read that one. Sounds really interesting.

  2. This is a popular series that I have on my Middle School library shelves. In fact, a student told me that I need to read them the other day!! 😀

  3. I really liked this book! Definitely an MG novel more than anything. Seth was getting on my nerves as well, but I liked the siblings’ tandem anyway. Are you going to be reading the rest of the books? They’re pretty good.

  4. My 16-year old son LOVES this series – he’s read the first 4 books and say the series is awesome. Glad you enjoyed it, too. I guess I should give it a try!

    Sue

  5. These books rock!!! I suggest this book series all the time when kids are out of Percy Jackson or HP books. Love love love the series. I can’t wait for Brandon’s new series The Beyonders. 🙂

  6. Wow, you got all the series as a present? cool.

    I used to compare books but then I stop. Because I think I will never enjoy it. And I stop reading review if the reviewer did it.

    This is the first time I saw this book. yeah, you are right, the cover is creepy. Will put this book in my TBR

    your picture makes me giggling. Nice expression. 😉

    1. OOPS – nope – I only have the first one Aleetha! 😀

      LOL about the picture… I am trying to capture this year where I read the books but seriously – sometimes I am not in the mood for the picture. 😛

  7. I keep making a mistake and commenting on an old post of yours! Haha…I had no idea people were comparing Fablehaven to HP!! Glad to read your review before I got too excited!

  8. I read Fablehaven last fall but, sadly, missed the meet the author day at a local bookstore. I enjoyed and reviewed this book but, you’re right, it’s not Harry Potter. I still want to read the remaining books in the series and hope to accomplish that this year. Hope you have a fabulous week.

  9. I’ve read the entire series and really enjoyed them! No, it’s not HP. But, I don’t think anything can compare to that lol! I actually think the 1st book is the weakest in the series. I enjyoed the 4th and 5th the most.

Hmmmm... what do you think?