It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week.  It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment.  You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner (using Random.Org) was:

Elisha from Rainy Day Reviews

 

Congratulations!  Please choose an item out of the PRIZE BOX and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

Coming in a little late here…. I had a fun weekend at our cabin on the North Shore with friends and just got home this afternoon.  What a blast we had!  We baked cookies and completed craft projects and had a little fun with facials too…. (pictures will be coming of that on Tuesday..)  😀

Sara, Cindy, Me, and Heidi - showing off our wine glass charms we made

As for my reading this last week…. let’s just say it is not impressive… I have been reading most of the week one book- The Botticelli Secret by Marina Fiorato for my book club on Tuesday…. weighing in at 514 pages… yeah….

Anyway here is what did happen this past week:

Random Things On My Chest (includes a pic of the Halloween costume….)

Left To Tell by Immaculee Ilibagizi:  An amazing book that I was thrilled to have the opportunity to read!

That’s it!  Can you believe it?  I have books finished that I need to review, just need to get caught up.  So….


Here’s what next this weeks plan is:

15th century Spain – YES!  A little Historical fiction… just what I am in the mood for!

1492 – Kings and Queens…. marriages and the battle for the throne…. I am just a flying through these historical fiction reads!

 

That’s it for this week.  I hope to get caught up on reviews and Tuesday evening will be our book club review and a surprise…. you can read more on that on Wednesday!

Now it is your turn….. my trigger finger is itching to get to see what you have been reading.  Add your What Are You Reading post to the linky below 😀

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

HAPPY READING!  😎

94 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Sounds like you had a wonderful time, can’t wait to see more photos.

    I loved The Last Queen, it was one of my favourites last year as was The Confessions of Catherine de Medici this year. Hope you love it too.
    By Fire, By Water is on my wishlist so I’m looking forward to your thoughts on it.

    Have a wonderful week and happy reading 🙂

  2. How nice to have a weekend with good friends. We had a great weekend with our sons in California.
    I have a long book to work on too – they can be somewhat daunting!
    Enjoy your historical fiction week this week.

  3. Sounds like a great weekend, Sheila. My Mum just read and reviewed By Fire, By Water and I also have a copy of The Last Queen which you have just reminded me of (I think I may read my copy soon too! :))

  4. Another two new authors for me to look up, thanks Sheila. Nearly finished my book club read – The House At Midnight by Lucie Whitehouse – I’m undecided what to read next.

  5. Left to Tell was such an amazing book. So is Led by Faith, about when she moves to the US. And there she has another book coming out about forgiveness, this time telling the stories of other people. She is such an amazing person.

  6. Looks like you had a great time! I wish I was in the mood for historical fiction. I’ve been putting off my next book club book because I’m just not in the mood for it. And I’m running out of time!

  7. I love historical fiction, but I haven’t read one in a while, I just end up reading YA fantasy again & again 🙂 I like the sound of The Last Queen! Happy reading & have a great week!

  8. Fun picture! I didn’t know about the Kaplan book – I might go for it. For some reason I enjoy the 15th century! (well, I’m glad I don’t live in it, but I enjoy reading about it!)

    1. Thanks Sue – I cant wait to hear what I think of Botticelli Secret too…. LOL

      I have mixed thoughts and I am still processing….. no matter what, the book club review should have powerful and strong opinions on this one.

  9. This is my first time participating in this meme – I’m so excited to be part of it. I think it will help me to organize my week as to what I need to read and what I need to finish reviews for.

    Both your upcoming reads look really good. I think I may have to add them to my tbr list!

  10. I have that one on my shelf. Will be looking forward to your review. Right now, I am reading, ‘Dancing with Max’ by Emily Colson. Max is autistic and she tells of joys of what works and disappointments with schools and doctors. It is a fast read.

    Carol Wong

  11. Hi Sheila !
    Will be looking forward to the review of ‘By Fire, By Water’. I have been reading way too many books these days and now I am getting my students to read and write some good bookreviews. They are reading Ronald Dahl and it is bringing back so many memories……have a great day !

  12. Thanks for stopping by my Monday post. Your comment: “I have I Am Number 4 and want to read it soon.”

    I just finished it and really enjoyed it! Hope you like it as well when you do get to it 🙂

    Happy reading!

  13. 10 more and I am pushing away from the computer to go read and put my bad leg up, it is swollen today for some reason.

    Sheila, I don’t know if you had time to read my Friday post when you stopped by my blog, but as someone I look up to in this bloggy world and one of my online friends I hope you will when you have the chance. It may help you understand me a little better, but you, this meme, and the people who participate are people I so thankful to God for when he crossed our paths.

    Thanks,
    Lori

      1. Thanks for checking it out. That is so not the post I had in my head for Friday and after typing it, I almost deleted it, but my computer got hung up and after a restart it had posted to my blog.

        “You and I have a little more in common than you know :)” I can’t wait to find out more. I already know you are amazing!!!!!

  14. I’ve got both of these in my TBR pile. I’m really looking forward to The Last Queen. C.W. Gortner was one of my favorite new to me authors this year.

    I am envious of your group of girlfriends. I so need a group like this!

Hmmmm... what do you think?