It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week.  It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment.  You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner (using Random.Org) was:

Donna A Novel Review


Congratulations!  Please choose an item out of the PRIZE BOX and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

 

What a great weekend!  I had a great time being a part of the Dewey read-a-thon and I am hoping many of you participated too.  If you did, you probably have a few more books read this week than usual.  I do!  I have yet to write reviews but I did make a small dent in the TBR!  😀  I think Lynne, from Lynne’s Book Reviews, put it best… today is like a book hang over.  Little groggy…. but happy.  😛


So here’s what this past week looked like for me:

When Life Throws you Lemons Make Cranberry Juice! by Shari Bookstaff (review)


In The Presence Of My Enemies by Gracia Burnham (review and author sighting post from my friend Barb!)


The Wife’s Tale by Lori Lansens (Review with Wordshakers on line book club)


Lori Lansens HUGE Book Giveaway – 9 books – ALL SIGNED!!!  YOu don’t want to miss this!!!


The Absolute True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie (Fantastic Book!  Did I mention it is also banned?)


Author Chat with Lori Lansens (Author of The Wife’s Tale, The Girls’ and Rush Home Road)


Author Chat with Bill Walker (author of Titanic 2012 and A Note From An Old Acquaintance)


I read several books during the read a thon and have not wrote a single review yet.  GAH!  Oh well….  😛


Here’s what my plan is for this week

I loved this author’s book, Water For Elephants.  I was excited to see this book come out and hope it is a wonderful story!

 

This book looks fantastic.  Doesn’t it?  Look at it.  See?  I told you. I seen this on another blog and thought it looked sooooo good.  😀

Pete is 13 the summer the Preacher Man comes to his small town, vulnerable with both adolescent yearning and the need to find religious fulfillment. His parents are lapsed church-goers, who neither share nor encourage their son’s deeper convictions. The Preacher Man, with mesmerizing blue eyes, is a traveling evangelist who holds revivalist meetings in Pete’s town that summer; Pete finds in him a companion who can understand his feelings about God without speaking a word. As the Preacher Man takes on Christ-like proportions in his mind, Pete decides to travel with the man when he leaves town. Pete waits for him all night, his bags packed, feeling as if he were called to this journey. But Rufus, his best friend and a confirmed atheist, is the one who tells Pete that the Preacher Man has run off with a woman. A year later, Pete understands that the Preacher Man’s fallibility was of this earth, not to be confused with a betrayal by God.

I am keeping it light this week.  I have meetings Monday, Tuesday (BOOK CLUB!) and Wednesday evenings.  Then Friday I leave for the cities for the Twin Cities Book Festival and Minnesota/Wisconsin meet up.  Seven of us will meet there!  More on that later this week.  😀


I am so looking forward to stopping by and seeing what you are reading!  This is actually one of my favorite things to do each week.  Add your What Are You Reading post to the linky where it says CLICK HERE and we all can visit the posts!


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

127 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I didn’t realise Sara Gruen had a new book out. Water For Elephants has been on Mt TBR for a while, must rectify that 🙂 Hope you enjoy Ape House just as much!
    Glad you had such a good week and successful read-a-thon.

    Mr Linky isn’t happy, doesnt want me to leave my link 😦

    1. You must read Water For Elephants – you wont believe you waited so long 😀

      I seen on the linky site it said they were working on an update – I hope it isn’t finicky the whole time.

  2. Ape House is on my Wish List and A Fine White Dust looks really good. I hope you get everything you want to get done this week done… I have a lot on my plate this week.. gotta catch up on some reviews, so I’m posting two a day all week… Yikes… wish me luck…

    Have a great reading week!

  3. Everytime I think about reading Ape House I remember how much I didn’t like Water for Elephants =( I was bored by it. Maybe it just wasn’t my time to read it.

    I’ll be watching for your review though!

    1. Oh wow you didn’t like Water For Elephants? 😯

      I loved it! I have had that though when books are just not a fit at one time…and another they are awesome. What is that about? 😛

  4. I can’t get Mr Linky to work so I will try again in the morning (maybe he’s taking a break!) :).

    I’m reading good things about Ape House but I haven’t read it yet. Water for Elephants was good – a book with staying power.

    Have a great week! I will stop by in the morning.

  5. Thanks for your comment on my blog!

    Hornet’s Nest is the third one in the series. The first being Dragon Tattoo, second being Played with Fire.

    And one has to read them in series. I am not much into series but I am lovin’ this one!

  6. Morning! A Fine White Dust sounds like a good one. I’m currently reading Playing for Pizza by John Grisham. It’s completely different from any of his legal themed books. Cute story. Have a great week! 🙂

  7. So glad you enjoyed The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian – I thought it was fantastic, too!

    The read-a-thon sounds like fun! We were away this weekend. I should try it one of these days, but it’s hard to imagine setting aside so much time for reading and letting everything else slide! (probably all the more reason I NEED to do this sometime, right?)

    Sounds like you have a very busy but fun week ahead – enjoy the books and everything else, too!

    Sue

  8. I’ve had The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian on my shelves for a while now. I really need to get to it sooner rather than later.
    Happy Monday!

  9. My boss (head YA librarian) can’t say enough great things about The Absolute True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. It’s definitely on my wish list and I hope to tackle it this winter. Great list, and thanks for hosting.

  10. I love readathons!! 😀 I finally got a ton of books read. I’m doing a booktalk this week on our Readers’ Choice Award for Illinois (Bluestem Award), so it was the perfect opportunity to get most of those books read.

    I finally commented on 20 blogs!!! 🙂 I’d do more.. but I have to actually get some cleaning done today before I have to go back to work tomorrow. 🙂

    Looks like you read a lot of fun books this week too!

  11. Tried to add my link but it’s not working for me again.. not sure what is going on. I may try later from the library pc. Looks like you had a great week with reading Sheila!

  12. will be interested to see what you think of ape house….loved water for elephants…this one…eh….maybe because i had such high hopes for it?

  13. I can’t believe I’m going to admit this, but I’ve had Water For Elephants on my shelf since its release and still have not read it yet! I keep forgetting about it.

    And you are right, Fine White Dust looks beautiful!

  14. Since have not done a post my comment will suffice for most of last weeks adventures in reading!

    Okay am now reading “Bride of Casa Dracula” by Marta Acosta, just finished among others “Alpha”, “Bloodthirsty”, “Ponzied”, “Wolf Signs” free e-book, “Sin’s Daughter” free e-book and will be reading “The Gatehouse” and Masters of Time series books next….

    jackie ^_^

  15. Hi, Sheila! Yeah, about Eragon, it’s part of a trilogy! I read Eragon 5-6 years ago, but never got around to the other 2, and because I didn’t remember a lot about it, I re-read it now, so I can read the others! Eragon is likable book & I because I always want to finish what I start, I decided it’s time to read them 😉

  16. I haven’t read Sara Gruen before but hear wonderful things about her.

    Love the cover for A Fine White Dust and it sounds like a wonderful book – another one to add to my wishlist.

  17. 10 more, time for supper and to get away from the computer and read. Thanks for the comment about my blog, I have been really trying to find the perfect background to reflect my “Escape With A Good Book” theme. The first picture had a beautiful beach, but the trees looked like they had been ravaged by a hurricane. The one I have now feels tranquil and reminds me of our best vacation ever to Caswell Beach in North Carolina. Waiting to see if anyone else comments or notices, lol 🙂

    Dollycas

  18. I keep meaning to read Water for Elephants, I’ve heard it’s great…it’s on my TBR pile 🙂

    I wish I had been able to participate in the read-a-thon, but some stuff came up and I totally missed out. Maybe I’ll catch the next one!

  19. A Fine White Dust does look amazing. And it’s subject is compelling. I’ve just gone over and ordered it from the library. When you see my post you’ll see why that is probably insane. But it is short and it does fulfill the YA reading challenge. And it’s theme might relate to my NaNo novel.

    1. LOL Joy Renee…. I hear you on the insanity. If I were to read every book I own and have on my TBR before I looked at another book…. well, I don’t think I would ever be able to look at another book in my lifetime.

  20. Your read for this week, A Fine White Dust sounds interesting. You read some great books! And I just realized that I won last week’s giveaway. How exciting! I’ve emailed my request to you. Thank you so much. I didn’t participate this week; but I’ll be back on Monday!

Hmmmm... what do you think?