It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?



It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week.  It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment.  You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner (using Random.Org) was:

Kathy Martin   Inside Of A Dog


Congratulations!  Please choose an item out of the PRIZE BOX and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com


I feel awesome!  I had a great reading week and really think I lived out Banned Books Week to the fullest.  I had a chance to read and review books that were ones I have wanted to read for a long time – but also new titles to me that I enjoyed as well.  Let’s recap shall we?



Are You There God?  It’s Me Margaret. by Judy Blume (For Banned Book Week and well… its Judy Blume… so it might have been for me too :D)


When Reality Hits You Right In The Face (Seriously – did you see this?  You have to see this!)


Harry Potter and The Order Of The Phoenix by J K Rowling (Oh yeah a BANNED BOOK review)


SPEAK by Laurie Halse Anderson (the BANNED BOOK that has recently caused quite a stir!)


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel pie Society – book review (remember the pinky swear?)


I am going to be a part of a book panel and need your help


Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – Banned Book Review


Reminder that the Wordshakers On line Book Club will be discussing The Wife’s Tale by Lori Lansen this week – not to late to join in!


Last week to jump on the group meet up of Minnesota and surrounding area Book Bloggers,  check this post for details 😀


I did have a good week!  *pause while I review the list again with an odd pride and a little rebellion*


This week I think will be exciting as well as this week will end with the Read-A-Thon on October 9th and if you have not signed up I have to tell you that you are going to miss out on some FUN!  Scoot on over there and get your name on the list.  I will wait here.  😛

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Ok, awesome – you are back!  Anyway, as I was saying, I think the weekend will provide some good reading time and I hope to add to what I am posting here – but the plan this week is:


Hoo Hoo!  I have been wanting to read a cozy mystery for a while now and this one has double – or triple excitement for me!  One is that of course the book looks fantastic!  Two is that the author is a Minnesota author and seriously lest give it up for the home team!  Three is that Laura Childs is so super awesome that she will be author chatting with me about this book and what’s new and whats what…. and well…. I am a little exited!



This is another one that as I read the back of this book I get a little chill as to what could be inside – I have high hopes for this one!  Oh and guess what?  I have two.  TWO!  What to do… what to do….. OH!  I think we will have a giveaway!  Watch for that this week.  😀



This one looks like it will just be a fun lite read.  I am hopeful that it is funny and that when I am done with it I can pass it on to College Son .


So that’s my plan as well as the reviews I need to post from last weeks non Banned Books read.  I have to confess… once I got into the banned books theme it was and is hard to back my way out.  I need more time!  I still have several on my kitchen table that I am hoping to read before they have to go back to the library.  I love being able to read these tiles and then being able to discuss them.  😀


I am so looking forward to stopping by and seeing what you are reading!  This is actually one of my favorite things to do each week.  Add your What Are You Reading post to the linky where it says CLICK HERE and we all can visit the posts!  :razz:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

94 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. A nice mix of books for you this week!
    I noticed that my reading this week is all historical — I think I need to get away from reality for a while …

  2. I just finished Fiber & Brimstone last week… great book. I loved the setting of Post Katrina, New Orleans and the fact that is was set around Halloween… It’s October, that’s the kind of book I want to read… LOL.

  3. Very good reading and blogging week! Your next week looks good, too.

    I’m excited about Readathon, but I haven’t officially signed up. I’m thinking I may do it unofficially.

  4. I really really love Judy Blume, I fully intend to reread several of her books in the near future. Fiber & Brimstone looks pretty cool too, I’m reading a mystery this week myself and it feels like the right time of year for it!

  5. I didn’t read any banned books this week. I loved Speak and the Harry Potter books are favorites.

    You have a really interesting mix of books for this week too. I liked Laura Childs’s book Death by Darjeeling.

  6. Brilliant Disguises cover is gruesome, i’m intrigued. Well done on the pinky swear makes me want to read it, you and Alita did great.

    I want to read Speak from Banned Week.

  7. I am always impressed you get sooo much done each week. You Go! I love living in a small community but sometimes wish there were others around to have a book bloggers meet!

    BTW- I forgot to tell you that our plane trip back from California ran us through Minneapolis after the plane was late for the Memphis connection. I thought of you as we grabbed a bite to eat at the food court.

    I am trying to think of a challenge for the mini challenge event. Can it be like one from April?

    I am off to a good start this week having just visited five other blogs so now I am at 6 so far. :0)
    Have a great week.

    1. How fun you were in Minnesota! I am 2 1/2 hours from Minneapolis but hopefully will be planning book blogger meet ups in the future so are book bloggers can gather.

      Mini Challenges have already been scheduled Martha E. We had until Saturday to pick them and schedule them into a time slot. We had an excellent turn out, thank you for considering 🙂

    1. Aleksandra me too! I sometimes feel guilty if I am just hanging out and reading but this feels mandatory – LOL

      Like its for a good cause….. my to be read pile. 😛

  8. You had an awesome week, I read Speak last week too. Wasn’t quite as riveting as Wintergirls but I had to see what all the hoo hah was about 🙂

    Haven’t heard of the books you’re reading this week but I look forward to your thoughts. Happy reading!

    1. I want to read Wintergirls Sheree! I agree with you on SPEAK, I thought it was a good read and did not see the reason people are getting so worked up about it.

  9. I am reading The Network by Jason Elliott. The training for his covert action in Afghanistan is interesting but I am getting impatient, let’s go!

  10. I read banned books last week to prepare for a post I never did.. woops. I may put it up this week. Better late than never eh?

    I will probably try to do some of the readathon, I signed up forever ago, but I have some family stuff in the middle of the day so it won’t be a full day like I usually try to do.

    Enjoy your upcoming reads!

  11. Wow, Sheila, you did have a great reading week! You fit in so many banned books – very cool! Looks like you have a nice variety lined up for this week as well. Enjoy!

    Sue

  12. I love Kathy @ Inside of a Dog – she’s great! Congrats to her.

    You really rocked the baned books theme. That’s awesome. I was so busy doing baned books week at work with our teens that I didn’t really do much myself. I did pick up Speak (that guy lives only 100 miles from me – nut job) and I’m excited to read it.

    Thanks for hosting!

  13. Found you via a reference to this meme, which I love — so hello! I’m glad you read so many banned books — that’s too awesome. And you’re reading a few things that are new to me — those are going on my TBR too!

  14. I liked the Potato Peel Society once I got into it… and
    it made for a great discussion. Hope you have a great week. Can’t wait to read more of the Mondays posts 🙂

  15. Hi Sheila,
    I am so sick today with a terrible cold, so I am not posting today, head pounding, coughing, etc. Just wanted to wish everyone a great week of reading and I will see you all net week.

    Dollycas

  16. As “you”sual, Sheila, you had an awesome week! The new Laura Childs certainly caught my eye. I love the scrapbooking series! I’ll keep an eye out for the author chat.

    1. Isnt it interesting Margaret? That’s where I was a year ago – I thought books that were banned must be this horrible filth… and then… no…. in many cases its books that you and I have loved.

  17. College in a Nutskull sounds funny! I might need that for some comic relief haha. I don’t think I’m going to finish The Wife’s Tale in time for October 6! Oh wellllllll.

    1. Uber busy feels like the right wording Staci… I am a bit overwhelmed and over dosed on people Staci. I have been so busy I need some unwind time and there is no hope of that until maybe late tonight… 🙂

  18. I’ve done my 10 blogs this morning. Before work (usually, it’s at work on a Tuesday morning, Australian outback time!).

    I’m rockin the tropics this week, from Darwin – the crocodile capital! woo hoo!

  19. Sliding in here at the last minute!!! You are gonna love Laura Childs! I’ve been reviewing her books since her very first one, and she is just a sweetheart! Can’t wait for your interview with her! I had forgotten she was from your neck of the woods!

    Happy Reading, my book buddy!

  20. I just this minute finished TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD. I want to start it all over again. I hope my husband gets time to read it. If not, I’ll read it to him on the drive to Florida in 3 weeks. Then we are going to watch the movie.
    We go back to why it was banned. Using the N word is not a valid reason. It is how it is used and why. There is nothing wrong or degrading in the way it is used. It perfectly illustrates the society and the way it thought. There are so many important lessons in this book. Unfortunately there are still people who need to learn them.

    1. Excellent points Pat – I thought the book was beyond wonderful and very much about treating people right and loving one another no matter what your race, creed, beliefs….

      Sorry … got on my soap box for a moment. 🙂

  21. It’s 7:39pm Pacific Standard Time. I am coming in right under the wire! And now I have to go finish “The Wife’s Tale” Only 65 pages to go.

  22. This is such a great list – thanks for these :}. The Judy Blume book looks like a good read for my daughter. Right now I’m reading a wonderful Christmas book with my youngest called, Santa & “The Little Teddy Bear,” by Peter John Lucking. This is such a beautiful book with a classic and fun story about ol’ Saint Nick according the real history along with some fun songs and carols to sing. I highly recommend this one.

Hmmmm... what do you think?