It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Happy Monday everyone!  I just came home a few hours ago from a two-day 150 mile bike ride for charity and I am pretty wiped out right now.  I had a blast and the weather was pretty good to us.  I do a more detailed post about this on Tuesday.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week.  It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment.  You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner (using Random.Org) was:

Nancy at  A Musing Reviews

and I have to confess I have been reading Nancy’s blog at A Musing Mother and she seriously cracks me up!  You may need to check this out.  🙂


Congratulations!  Please choose an item out of the PRIZE BOX and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com


Last week was fairly busy and I did not get the reading done that I had hoped to.  Here is what I did accomplish:

The Wildwater Walking Club by Claire Cook review

Hearts On A String by Kris Radish review

My thoughts on The Color Purple Movie (I was really blown away!)

Harry Potter and The Deathly Hollows by JK Rowling (audio review)

Author Chat with Barbara Richardson (author of Guest House)

My Game On Diet Journal (my active game journal)

What Does It Mean To Be Present by Rana Diorio

I have several reviews to be written and I hope to really make a dent on them this week.  I am keeping my reading plans fair, but not too heavy as I have an out of town meeting this week and not sure my weekend is going to hold.  here is the game plan:

Summer at Tiffany is a book I am so looking forward to!  This is the Wordshaker read a long for August 22.  If you are signed up and taking part in this review, YAY!  If you have not, and right now you are going GAH!  I wish I would have known about that, no worries, you can still connect here.

The Handmaid’s Tale is a read-a-long taking place over at Hey, Lady!  Watcha Reading? It s not too late to join in the fun!

And that’s it … not a big goal but as I said above, I am super tired tonight (still Sunday evening when I post this) and I want to honestly add a third book from the TBR but that is way across the room and I really can not move.  😉  AND – on that note where I usually hang around and start seeing what you are reading right away, I think tonight I am going to bed, getting a good nights sleep and tomorrow (Monday) U will be around to see what you are reading.

Please enter the link to your Monday What Are You Reading below where it says “Click Here”.


Have a super reading week!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

102 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    1. Oh good Melissa! We are going to have some fun with this. There will be an author chat and I am working on some other things to go with this book as well 😀

  1. So many people are reading/re-reading The Handmaid’s Tale it makes me want to read it again-though I have two of her books I haven’t read yet on my shelf. Old favorite or new possibilities-such a dilemma!

    1. Heather if you look on Trish’s blog (Hey Lady), you will see she breaks it down so it really will be an easy read-a-long. You should join us for the discussion AND you can still read new reads too!

      (Look at me all problem solving this early – ha ha)

  2. I have heard really good things about Summer at Tiffany. I look forward to your review of it. I enjoyed your reviews of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and The Wildwater Walking Club. I really want to read some of Claire Cook’s novels, especially Seven Year Switch. Unfortunately there is a long waiting list at the library so I may just have to buy it! Have a great week and I hope you get caught up on your reviews.

    1. Christina you should look for Claire Cook’s older titles as the library while you wait on Seven Year Switch. I have only read the two but plan on reading more 😀

  3. Hope you are enjoying the Handmaid’s Tale, it is one of my favorites. I still have a riot of post-it notes sticking out of my copy marking all the passages that I loved.

  4. I ordered Sumer At Tiffany for Word Shakers Book Club but it hasn’t arrived yet. Hopefully it will soon, in time for me to finish it before the 22nd.

    I loved Hearts On A String and am still looking forward to The Wildwater Walking Club.

    1. Bookloversbookreviews – thank you! I love biking but on those big rides I get up and think, :what was I thinking?” Then I start biking and the people I meet and the conversations I have, and you see people fighting in ways I have never imagined…. that is what makes the ride so worth while.

  5. Looks like you had a good week even if you didn’t do as much as you wanted. The Handmaid’s Tale sounds interesting. Have a great week.

  6. A bit of a rant this week (it’s a classic rant).

    The Handmaid’s Tale was a book I couldn’t put down. It has the dubious honour of being the only book I’ve ever taken a day off work to complete!

  7. Sounds like an exhausting but satisfying week, no wonder you’re wiped out. I don’t think I’d manage a 5 mile ride let alone 150 miles 🙂

    Happy reading and reviewing this week!

  8. You still managed to have a productive week. I too am planning to read Summer at Tiffany. I’ve been wanting to read this one for awhile. Have a good week and a safe trip!

  9. OK… I’ve been and visited 11 blogs!

    And now, I’m off to release my very first podcast! You’ll have to check the blog on Wednesday to hear it 🙂

  10. So much good stuff going on here. You have a list of good books read. I love that Summers at Tiffany’s Also, had read your thoughts about The Color Purple. Great review. Well, I’m headed to Mr. Mclinky.

  11. It still looks like you had a good week! Mine was slow too. I had a 10 month old for the week i had to chase around. Needless to say, i couldn’t believe it took me 2 days to read 50 pages from a book! I don’t miss those days!

    1. I so enjoy this time of year Lily but seem like i never have the time like I did a couple years ago just to chill out on my deck on a sunny afternoon with a book.

  12. Sheila –

    Congratulations on the bike ride! What a wonderful accomplishment.

    The Handmaid’s Tale is one of those boos I can’t believe I’ve never read! Like you, Atwood has been on my must-read list for a long time. I would join in with the read-along, but I have such a huge stack I want to read already.

    Enjoy your books this week!

    Sue

  13. I’ve tried to read the Handmaid’s Tale twice and got stuck both times. I’ve joined the Read-A-Long and am encouraged by the positive reviews you have all given.

    I finished Never Let me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro last night and am trying to decide between Catching Fire, The Passage, Summer at Tiffany’s or Brooklyn. I like to let a book ‘settle’ with me while I write my review and reflect on it, and I don’t like to pick another book too similar after it either, which I think means Brooklyn will be next for me. Or maybe both!

    1. As much as I want to give the plug for Summer at Tiffany’s, out of those reads you mentioned I have to go with Catching Fire. You must have that read by the time Mocking Jay comes to press 😀

  14. Sounds like it was quite a bike ride! Well done for doing it 🙂

    I somehow haven’t gotten much reading in at all over the past week. I’m still on the same book I was last week! Don’t get me wrong, it’s an enjoyable book, but I’ve somehow been laking the time. Hopefully, I’ll get a lot more reading done this week 🙂

  15. My reading is going in fits and starts this summer. Either something grabs me and I ignore everything else to read or else I barely read anything for a few days. Sigh.
    The Handmaid’s Tale is a great book! Have fun with the read-along.

  16. You always have such good choices!! Visited 12 today before real life is starting to get in the way. Really need a kick in the butt to get me going earlier Monday mornings. If you read my post you know I lost my writing companion and alarm clock. I am praying the kids get sick of him and bring him back 🙂 he is pretty irreplaceable.

    Have a great week!!!
    Dollycas

    1. Thank you Dollycas 😀

      I will be off to read your post hopefully soon – with all the catching up I did today from being gone the weekend I am super late at visiting the blogs.

  17. I liked the Tiffany book. It was a great short summer read. You read more in a week then I read in a whole month..wow!! Have a great week!

  18. I am reading ISADORE’S SECRET by Mardi Link. A nonfiction account of a nun’s murder in Northern Michigan in 1907 and the investigation into it.
    Last night I started DEADLY GAMBLE by Linda Lael Miller. It is not at all what I expected. There are ghosts. It is a murder mystery romance. So far so good.

  19. Great list of books. I’ve picked a few to recommend to my book club. Thanks! I always seem to find my way back to your blog.:)

    Currently, I’m taking a break from my usual romance reading to read an interesting non-fiction, spiritual book my girl friend recommended called “Sun of gOd”:Discover the Self-Organizing Consciousness That Underlies Everything. So far, it’s easy-to-digest and provides thought-provoking insights into what it’s all about. I’m really enjoying it!
    http://www.sunofgod.net/

Hmmmm... what do you think?