The Icing On The Cupcake by Jennifer Ross


Ansley has it all – the looks, the money… and the guy.  Parish is a catch and a wonderful match for Ansley as they prepare for their wedding day.  As the big day draws closer Parish starts to notice that maybe his bride to be isn’t all that he had hoped.  While Ansley is beautiful on the outside, he starts to see she is not on the inside.  Parish starts to notice how Ansley treats caterers and other workers when she thinks he is not around.  And he starts to notice how she back stabs her friends, smiling to their face and cutting them down as soon as they walk away with comments on their weight, or hair, or inability to keep a man.   Taking all this in, Parish calls the wedding off and tells Ansley that she will be right for someone – but he is not that someone.

Ansley, on her own, devastated and embarrassed decides to move to New York and live with the grandmother she has really never known other than through the pages of the cherished family cook book.


I really enjoyed the baking connecting  to family in this book.  The family cook book referred to in the book was started in 1853.  The ancestor, Marille, who created the book filled it with 200 pages for family to add recipes.  To do this there were rules:

  1. The book was to be passed from mother to the daughter who cooked the most.  I f there were no daughters than the granddaughters
  2. Three people must agree a recipe is fit to be in the book, usually a grandmother, mother, and daughter were the voting parties.  if the daughter was too young, the cook waited until she was old enough to vote.  If there was no daughter, another female relative could be substituted.
  3. Never let anyone borrow the book.

This I really liked as well as the cupcake recipes that sprinkle throughout the pages with names that fit with what was happening in the book.

While Ansley  starts out as this mean and rude character, once she moves you just don’t ever see that side of her again.  In fact, she is extremely nice to everyone.  I found this a bit confusing. The ending left me with many questions.  I don’t want to go into great explanation as I have seen many people have really enjoyed this book, and rightfully so – there is much to like about the book.  For me, the recipes made the book one I will turn to again.  I wished I would have had time to whip up a batch of a couple that really caught my eye, but another time.

If you have read or reviewed this book, please let me know.  I would love to hear your thoughts.

Apron that came along with the book

Book Journey’s 2010 map has been updated to include Icing On The Cupcake

When in New York, use this coffee map to find the coffee shops worthy of a stop (they may have cupcakes too!)

Cover Story:  In a word:  delicious.  This is totally a cover that would call me to it.

I received my copy of this book form the author, Jennifer Ross

41 thoughts on “The Icing On The Cupcake by Jennifer Ross

  1. In my experience, people don’t change that much. It’s usually baby steps and takes a long time. A geographic move doesn’t do it.

    Sounds like a fun book, though.

  2. That is too bad that Ansley’s character changed so suddenly without any reason. Would have been nice if the changes were inspired by her realizing her mistakes or by the positive influence of her grandmother. It still looks like an interesting book and the generational cook book sounds like a fantastic idea.

  3. The apron along the with book was a nice touch.
    Sheila, I made the Huli Huli Chicken and it was grrrreat! Thanks so much for posting that recipe. I posted some pics of the turnout on my blog if you’d like to check that out. =)

  4. I love the cover, however the main character doesn’t sound believable, which is important to me when reading a book. You look cute in your apron! 🙂

      1. I like trying them Hannah – I dont know why…. just a bookish memory I guess 😀 I have actually had some good ones –

        Many years ago I read a book (I think it was Patterson) and in it the main character made Pepsi steak (basically Pepsi poured onto the steak as it cooked) on my stove top. It was actually yummy and moist and I make Pepsi steak frequently now 😀

  5. I love books that tie in food. If I ever write a book, I hope that my book does that somehow. It’s just so comforting. And I always get so excited when recipes are included. I’ll definitely be interested to read this one. And from your review, it sounds to me like just having the main character go to New York with this amazing cookbook would be enough for a great book. The whole wedding disaster just kind of makes me feel like you get off to a bad start with the main character. I guess I’ll have to read it to see how this all works out in the book.

  6. Jenn and I read this over at GJR and we loved it. I haven’t done any of the recipes yet but I’m not a baker. Passed it onto my sister who is. 🙂

  7. Shame that the whole book didnt quite gel but looks like it has lots of other redeeming features. Love the pic you’ve included but I’ll be waiting for cupcake photos when you have time LOL

  8. I’ll catch up on your blog, but you need to check back on the LINGER PARTY site (Story Siren) . You won.

  9. It does seem a bit unrealistic for her to become “nice” all at once, doesn’t it? I might give this one a try but am afraid I would have many sugar cravings while reading it! Ha!

  10. That is a great idea for the family cookbook. When I thought my Telling Family Stories classes at the library this year, we all talked about family food and collecting recipes. The kids really got into describing great-aunt-whosit’s very best platter,etc.

  11. What neat names! You wouldn’t think Ansley is the main character from the first paragraph. She sounds like the typical mean girl that you love to hate. I want this! I’m a big cupcake fan and I don’t think I’ve seen a book with them featured prominently in it.

  12. I have not read this book, but it sounds good so I probably will. I love to cook and am always looking for new recipies.
    I does sound confusing that she has such a personality switch after moving. Usually, that is accomplished after some growth and development. There has to be a reason for such a change and it takes time. Will be reading it for the cookbook idea and the recipies and to see if I can figure out what she was trying to do character-wise.

Hmmmm... what do you think?