It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week.  It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment.  You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.


Last weeks winner (using Random.Org) was:

Super from Super Librarian!!!

Congratulations!  Please choose an item out of the PRIZE BOX (new items added!) and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

**All books that are due to people were mailed this morning.  Sorry about the delay on my end.  😀


Due to a crazy fun and busy traveling day with a group of friends on Saturday I did not get a chance to post my Mailbox goodies on Sunday like I normally do (thank you to Kristi at Story Siren for hosting this!)  So I am going to pop it up here in this short and cheesy video:


I can not even believe we are less than a week out from when I go to New York.  I am nervous, anxious, and so excited.  I have never done anything like this before so this is a major leap for me.  I am beyond excited to meet so many of my fellow bloggers, the wonderful publishers I have emailed with, and of course the authors!

Here is what happened here the past week:


Love In Mid Air by Kim Wright review


The Girl She Used To Be by David Cristofanomy review as well as my book clubs review


House Rules by Jodi Piccoult audio review


Indivisible by Kristen Heitzmann – review and giveaway!


A Change in Altitude by Anita Shreve giveaway!


Announcement of the Threadbare Heart winner!


I still have reviews to catch up on as well as giveaway winners to announce and I am hopeful to get all of this done so I can leave for New York with no worries of things to come.  🙂

I will be taking my laptop with me and will be doing daily updates of the BEA experience and this blog will continue as usual including this meme so know that I will still be here chatting up books with you – even though I will be posting from New York.  (Did I just say that?  Squee!)


What is Brewing this week

Clean up of several ongoing reads….

Columbine by Dave Cullen- finished need to write review

Kite Runner audio – last two cd’s!

Forbidden Fruit by Pearce Carefoote – done and need to write review

Guest House by Barbara Richardson – 3/4 of the way through

At Witt’s End by Beth Solheim – done and need to write review

Boneman’s Daughter by Ted Dekker – 1/2 completed

Nyphron Rising by Michael Sullivan – not as far as I had hoped but this one is my focus this week

So that is my week…. cant wait to see what you are reading so be sure to use the linky below and stop back with a comment here of how many Monday What Are You Reading posts you commented on to be entered in next weeks drawing!  😀

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

106 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Have fun in NY! I am planning on going next year so I will be looking forward to your reports of your experience. You had a fantastic reading week as usual. I don’t know how you do it lol.

    1. Thanks Zia – that would be awesome if you go next year! I think the whole “trying to do everything” is why I explained in my morning post that I passed out on the couch last night! LOL – Exhausted!!!

  2. Fabulous looking week, as usual.

    I just sent you an e-mail, saying I didn’t know where to find the prize box, and I see the link above. So I’ll go there and choose something.

    Have a great week!

  3. I actually really like your videos. I think that they are cool.

    I finally listened to an audiobook this week that I got into. I kept trying because I remember how many you listen to and told myself to keep at it. Thank you!

    Oh! The audio book was The Man Who Loved Books Too Much.

    1. Gwen – thanks about the video…. I keep trying to learn new things 🙂

      Cool that you enjoyed an audio and thanks for the tip on that one. I have the book but have not had time to get to it. Maybe audio is the way to go on that one 🙂

  4. I will be looking forward to your thoughts on BoneMan’s Daughter. I reviewed it awhile back. I loved Kite Runner! I have At Witt’s End to read hopefully soon. You had a great week, I read all of those except House Rules, it is on my TBR list. This week looks as though it will be another great one for you. Happy reading.

  5. Can’t wait for your Columbine review! Have a fun time in NY! I’m excited that you will be providing updates!!

    Have a good week, Sheila!

  6. Hi Sheila , Lovely week ahead I see….my exams are over and so I’m ready for some good reading. Going to start “Reading Lolita in Tehran” and an off beat book called ” Weed ” by Paro Anand. NY will now be more interesting with you being there ! Have fun and take care !!

    1. Hi Fiza, I want to read Reading Lolita in Tehran as well. Another one that has been on my shelves forever!

      I will do my best to report back interesting stuff from New York and hopefully in that bring – bring you all with me. 😀

  7. Hey I liked the video, something different. I’ve got Saving Max coming too! Looking forward to your thoughts on The Kite Runner. Have a wonderful week Sheila.

  8. I have started reading Elvis Takes A Back Seat by Leanna Ellis. Looking forward to your review on BoneMan’s Daughter.
    Thanks, Sheila.

  9. I’m sure you are going to have a great time in NY! I wish that I could go and meet all of the book bloggers who are attending. Maybe someday.

  10. I am so jealous I wish I was going to be attending the Book Blog Convention in New York, but sadly my last week of school does not permit this. I am sure it will be a blast. Maybe in the future they will wait a few weeks so that the teachers and librarians that are bloggers too can attend. Have fun.

  11. Here I am, plugging away, averaging a whopping one book a week…..I hope to be able to read more this summer – two weeks to go!!

    1. HI Tea – yup you are here! 🙂 In the post there is a spot that says “click here” and you can put your link in there. I will add it for you. 😀

  12. Intriguing bunch of books for the week, I’m insanely jealous of anyone who is on the right continent to be able to go to BEA as it looks like Heaven for any Book Addict.

  13. Wow, Sheila, I don’t know how you manage to read so many books during a busy week! Looks like you have another good one lined up for next week.

    Hope you have a great time at BEA!!

    Sue

  14. Squee for BEA! Am getting so excited, but am nervous and anxious as well. I just hope I don’t get lost! *L*

    Stop by my blog when you have a minute, as I have an award for you. 🙂

      1. Thats fun too leeswammes – I am hopeful that the monday memers will go out and see what others are reading and maybe find something they would like to read – or a blog they enjoy reading 🙂

    1. It should be interesting to see if the blogosphere is quiet next week or if it will stay busy Jenny! I plan on blogging my way through the whole thing – LOL 😀

  15. Wow, I’m a lifetime reader, but am definitely an amateur “blogger” (“blogee?”), as this is my first one, and I sure am glad I found this particular one – Mary Tyler Moore, the Gilmore Girls, great coffee, artistic bookcards (I’m a jewelry artist and collect their cards;all very original-I want one of yours!), New York City…and oh, not to mention..good reads!..all in my first week!! Loving it. Thanks for the new morning routine!

    1. Ahhh Kay thats so sweet! 😀 Thanks for stopping by and witnessing my rants…LOL 🙂

      I am glad you see topics you like on this blog, I am pretty versatile and tend to chat about everything (especially during the morning meanderings.

      Oh – and I think it is bloggette.

      LOL – just kidding 😉

  16. I can’t wait to hear updates from NY. Even though I will be dying of jealousy. I’m saving for next year though so I want to know what I’m going to be looking forward to!

    The Constant Princess is a good read though not as good as some of her others. I haven’t read that many Philippa Gregory books though.

    1. Candace – yes save and go next year! I teamed up with several other bloggers to keep the costs down.

      I first read The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory and it blew me and my book club away. I cant remember what I followed up with by her but loved it as well. 🙂

  17. It looks like you have a great week planned:) You sound like I do over New York. Even going just for the day has me over the moon and going to see one of the hottest Broadway Musicals of the year has me over the moon and the stars, lol. I am definitely going to try to come to BEA next year. It sounds like a lot of fun and I would love to meet all my bloggy friends:) Have a great week!

    1. Hi Bobbie – yes! Glad to hear you will attend next year! 😀 I am going to see Mama Mia with Esme from Chocolates and Croissants on Saturday the 29th and I too am super excited 🙂

  18. Hi Sheila,
    I visited just 10 today, having a bad day today with both my good arm/harm and bad arm/hand causing me a great deal of pain. Got a late start today and it going to be an early finish. Hopefully tomorrow will be better. HAVE A GREAT WEEK READING!!!

    Dollycas

  19. I hope you have a fantastic time at BEA Stella! I wish I could go too but I’ll be looking forward to reading your updates 🙂

  20. Hi!!! I haven’t commented in AGES. So, I did my ten comments for once. 🙂

    Hope you have fun at BEA and will still get some reading done this coming week and the week after! 🙂

    Enjoy!

  21. This is my second week participating and I’m really enjoying this. Thank you. I have made the rounds of 10 other blogs and everyone is reading such interesting things, I think my TBR pile is multiplying.

  22. Congratulations, Super Librarian.

    Like your video of the books you got last week. I am finishing up the Donner Party book. and started a paranormal. Am starting to think about what I’ll bring with me on the trip.

  23. Hi Sheila! It surprises me how I have been to 25 sites and there are so few duplicate books being read across the blogger world. Cool right?
    I got a Ted Dekker book in this week – it will be the first I read by him. Some of the audio books are really long aren’t they? 18 cds for Black Hills.

    So I really did 25 this week. Whew! Now time to go back to work reading edits.
    I hope you’ve had a lovely and productive week!

    1. HI Martha – it is fun to see all the books out there. I keep my library reserve tab open while I read the Monday posts so I can punch int he ones i want to reserve 🙂

Hmmmm... what do you think?