Penguin Luck by Kay Mupetson

Doreen Lowe is a young, sophisticated junior associate in a small Manhattan law firm that primarily serves the lower echelons of society. Regularly visited by three ghosts, Doreen is forced to listen to their pleas that she “carry on for them”- after the Holocaust- all while balancing the demands of her career and personal life.

After Doreen marries a banker with an entrepreneurial spirit, he achieves his dream of establishing a telecommunications company. Within a few years, Doreen is serving as the company’s legal counsel while simultaneously raising a son, but is still being tormented by her spirits. As the young couple rides out the tech boom of the late 1990s, Doreen must reconcile her unorthodox personal choices with her widowed father, her friends, and her large conscience.

♦         ♦         ♦         ♦         ♦

Doreen is a likable character. She’s young and career minded and seems to have things heading in the right direction.  She lives with her dad and has a wonderful man in her life.  It really could be a dream life if she could just do something about the ghosts.

Uhhhhh…excuse me…. did you say ghosts?

I did.  Doreen has three spirits that speak to her and have been with her for years. While these spirits represent her heritage, I found them a little hard to wrap my mind around this concept.   Her family are survivors of the Holocaust and the ghosts/spirits she hears are constantly reminding her of her responsibilities to this heritage.

The story behind the story is Doreen learning to deal with the ghosts, come to terms with the history she carries with her and all this wrapped up with a little luck. When she meets the man she wishes to marry her family has concerns and this is when Doreen really starts to make decision for herself and head towards quieting the ghosts.

I enjoyed the characters in the book and once I could get used to the voices of the spirits that spoke to Doreen I started to get more into this read.


Author

Kay Mupetson graduated from NYU Law School and has been practicing corporate law for over twenty-five years. She served as general counsel for a New York telecommunications company and previously worked as a journalist reporting on the Middle East. She currently lives in Manhattan with her husband and sons.

I received my copy from Jocelyn Delgado, Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc.

18 thoughts on “Penguin Luck by Kay Mupetson

    1. I thought so too Hannah. The penguins are to describe her family, all balding, short and waddle when they walk…. a pet name Doreen and her friends came up with.

      I don’t think it is a match either. Title or cover.

  1. Loved your review but not sure that this is a book that I would enjoy or not.

    BTW…I love blaming other people for my slight obsession with acquiring books!!! 🙂

  2. I agree that the cover doesn’t really fit the story, but I tend to ignore the cover anyway. So glad that you enjoyed the story as well, as I thought it was a good read!

    1. Alexia I always seem to watch the covers for clues. I don’t know why but I always expect them to give me clues into the book…. if it is a person – I wonder who they are…. I expect to find them in the book. 🙂

  3. Sounds like a nicely different approach to this type of story. In a way, we all have our own ghosts of family/life past that speak to us. It is just that not many of us listen.
    I’ll be checking this one out.

Hmmmm... what do you think?