hush hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Holy hot list Batman!  Step aside and watch out for Patch!  ~ Sheila

Exactly what is a girl to do?  Here we have Nora – she does ok for herself.  Keeps her nose clean, does her school work fair enough, and spends a lot of time alone while her mom travels for work.  Then along comes Patch and I have to say if you enjoyed the Twilight series… he has an “Ewardesque” quality to him.  He is dark, brooding, secretive, smoldering good looks – and well…. did Nora really have a chance?

This is our story line to Becca Fitzpatrick’s debut book and ever since I seen the rumblings on blogs and on twitter I couldn’t wait to put my hands and my eyes on this book.   Becca comes through in all aspects of this read and as a YA read this is a must. Wherever Nora goes Patch mysteriously seems to turn up… and at first what seems odd and annoying turns into something more for Nora as there are other forces working around her and she discovers that Patch is really the least of her worries…

Wonderfully dangerous characters mixed in with the high school group… did we all have them?  I think back and can think of one guy from high school that reminds me of Patch.  Hmmmm…. I wonder….

A book that keeps you turning the pages and thinking about it after it is done.  This is one that will stick with me and I am hopeful that Becca Fitzpatrick is wielding her pen and tapping that keyboard now creating another read – because she has indeed created a fan.

Author Becca Fitzpatrick grew up reading Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden with a flashlight under the covers. She graduated college with a degree in health, which she promptly abandoned for storytelling. When not writing, she’s most likely prowling sale racks for reject shoes, running, or watching crime dramas on TV. Her first novel, the YA thriller Hush, Hush, was published in 2009.

THE STORY: CRESCENDO

The sequel to HUSH, HUSH. Coming fall 2010.

My Amazon review is here


This book fits into the following challenges:

2010 100+ Reading Challenge

2010 YA Reading Challenge

This book is from my personal collection -I purchased at The Mother Ship Barnes and Noble in St Cloud, MN


36 thoughts on “hush hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. I finally got my copy of this book in from the library and (without thinking) I left it at home over the Christmas break. Dying to get back and read it!

  2. Oh Zia – you just made my day! I have been so busy I have been meaning to check Becca’s website to see what was next on the plate for her…. I didnt even know there was going to be a second. I am off to look at her site now.

    Thank you! 🙂

  3. This is one book that I’ve been thinking about reading but after your fantastic review I’m pushing it into my must read this year list!!

    I think Becca and I may be sisters!! I did the exact same thing at night with the exact same books!!! Now if I could only write like her!!

  4. This book is so popular! I’ll have to put this on my list but it probably won’t be top priority. Not sure if Twilight books are my thing but will give it a try!
    Great review,
    Natalie :0)

    1. Natalie I would have never guessed that I would enjoy the Twilight books…. vampires…. not really my thing. All I can say is that the way these books were written, Stephanie opened new doors for books such as hush hush…. she made creepy…. cool. 🙂

  5. Hi, Sheila! I’ve always been curious about this book. I have a certain liking for angels. I don’t really know why. I guess I love the idea that someone’s always watching out for you.

  6. I wish my budget was bigger. Small libraries in poor rural counties are at a big disadvantage. I haven’t had any book money for over six months. Makes it hard to keep up with the current books and limits the number we can buy. Thank Heaven for donations.
    Thanks for keeping me informed. I look forward to reading this one.

    1. Patricia…. I think I would love to interview you one day on my blog. I know nothing about how libraries work and I am always so interested in your comments here.

      IO think books like hush hush are musts for a library. These are the books the YA are reading and they are the readers of the next generation.

      To hear about budgets and how all that works in a library I think would be interesting. 🙂

  7. This book is on my list to read. I have not yet picked it up though. The funny thing is my son and I were are Barnes and Nobles for a fundraiser for his school and he saw this book on the end cap and brought it to me where I was looking for books. He thought it would be one that I would love. He is right, I told him it is on my list to get but I was there for 2 books that where closer to the top of the list. lol. My child knows me pretty well.

    I am going to have to get to this book eventually. Thanks for the great review!

  8. OMG, when you mentioned she grew up reading Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden, I had a memory flash! I hadn’t thought of Trixie Belden in years!

    I’ve been hearing about this book…sounds like something to add to the list.

  9. Great review! I got this one for Christmas and am really looking forward to it. Even more so after reading your review and hearing there’s a 2nd book in the works.

Hmmmm... what do you think?