Take Your Best Shot by Austin Gutwein

It is people like Austin Gutwein who inspire me to be a better person.  ~  Sheila

Only God could weave a story that would captivate people all over the world, bring thousands of people from seventeen countries to a free-throw line, raise over a million dollars in international AIDS relief, and build a school and medical clinic in Zambia.

And only God do it through the hands of a nine-year-old boy.



What an amazing story of what a difference one person can make!  Austin’ story is one that made my heart sore.  I love true stories of young people doing things that those two, three, or four times their age have not attempted.  There is something pure int hat kind of thinking and that is what I found within this book – within Austin himself.

This past September I had the opportunity to take part in a bike ride that raised money for children with AIDS.  It was one of those experiences that caused me to step away from my own life and really take a look at what is going on around me.  It was life changing and I am so ready and willing to do it again.  This book, Austin’s story, brings me back to that moment – a moment of seeing things that often are overlooked.

At the end of each chapter are questions to ponder, scripture to think on… and a task to do.  The task could be send a card to someone you know who is ill, connecting with an old friend – all the way to putting together your own Hoops of Hope event.

I found this book to be a wonderful reminder of the power that each of us has within us.  When we think there is nothing possibly that we could do – we need to remember we dont know the power of a smile to someone who is desperately hurting, we dont know the power of a kind word to a stranger, and we do not know what picking up the phone and calling that person who has been on our heart lately will not only do for that person – but for you as well.

Click here for Austin’s Blog

My Amazon Review

I received my review copy from Thomas Nelson

15 thoughts on “Take Your Best Shot by Austin Gutwein

  1. I often think kids are have better success with these kinds of ideas than adults because it never occurs to them why it won’t work. They put up no obstacles; they just forge ahead. We could all learn a lesson.

  2. I know what you mean about doing something outside yourself as last April I did a 10 mile walk in my town for breast cancer. It felt really great to be a part of something bigger than me

  3. Hi, Sheila! This is certainly one book that I would love to get my hands on. It just affirms my belief that one person can make a difference. And Austin’s story is truly remarkable.

    AIDS has always been an issue I feel strongly about, especially since many people associate lots of negative things with it. People can be so narrow-minded sometimes.

    Thanks so much for bringing this book to our attention, Sheila.

Hmmmm... what do you think?