The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani

The Shoemakers Wife, Adriana Trigiani

It is the early 1900′s, and Ciro, who lives in a covenant with his older brother, first meets the breathtaking beauty names Enza when they are teenagers living in the Italian Alps. When Ciro witnesses something he should not have, he is sent to America to be safe, where he works as a shoemaker.  Enza is left not knowing what has happened to Ciro.  When Enza’s family also experiences troubles, she and her father travel to America to seek out a better future.

Fate is a funny thing and the two do collide again now living very different lives then what they once had.  Ciro at this time is on his way to fight in WWI and Enza busied herself in her work, working as a seamstress at an Opera House, and eventually meeting Enrico, an international singer, and begins to love again…

Will love win out or will it be war?  And what of Ciro and Enza, who had found each other a second time against all odds… against space and time.. was it ever meant to be?

From the stately mansions of Carnegie Hill, to the cobblestone streets of Little Italy, over the perilous cliffs of northern Italy, to the white-capped lakes of northern Minnesota, these star-crossed lovers meet and separate, until, finally, the power of their love changes both of their lives forever.

Adriana Trigiani

As if I did not already love Adriana’s beautiful writing, she comes up with this breathtaking Historical Fiction novel that made my heart leap from the very first time I seen it!  Cover, title, synopsis, all three captivated me and made me want to drop everything and read it right away.

As always Adriana writes characters so delightfully detailed and three-dimensional that I feel as though I would know them anywhere. Family also seems to play a large theme throughout Adriana’s writing, something I bask in – the warmth the commitment, and it is shown to run deep in Ciro and Enzo as well. 

Written in alternating chapters, as the reader we are able to enjoy seeing the story unfold from both Ciro and Enzo’s world.  I followed the story line closely feeling as though I too was hanging around the corner watching what was about to unfold.   The fact that a part of this book lands in Minnesota, of course, just makes me happy! 

As Adriana tends to do, this story is inspired by a true story, and in this case it is molded from Adriana’s own grandparents who grew up in the Alps, but met in the United States after they emigrated. 

My final thoughts:  I have read and enjoyed many of Adriana’s books and this one is no exception, in fact I think this one rates as one of my favorites of her ten books.  If you start this book, you are not going to want to put it down.  Consider yourself warned and allow yourself a good afternoon or evening to really sink deeply into this powerful story that will cause your heart to swell and your mind to explore the possibilities…   This is a book I will read again.

You can check out who else is on this tour here and check out more about Adriana Trigiani at her website.

Amazon Rating

Goodreads Review

Thank you to Adriana Trigiani for sending me this book!

And to TLC Book Tours for allowing me to gush on their tour!

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on April 4, 2012, in Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. I thought this book was wonderful too! My review goes up tomorrow.

  2. This one is on my wish list. I love Trigiani’s books, too, and read Brava, Valentine not that long ago.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  3. I only skimmed your review, because I’m reading it now – and I’m completely hooked!

  4. I am 63 pages into this and loving it. None of Trigiani’s books appealed to me before now so I am completely new to her writing.

  5. I have been holding off on THE SHOEMAKER’S WIFE to when I am comfortably settled in a beach chair (which should be in a matter of days!) I’m so happy to learn that it is another wonderful example of Adraina’s brilliant writing. She puts so much heart into her books.

  6. This is also on my wish list – I love Trigiani’s writings and just finished Very Valentine.
    Thanks for another inspirational review!

  7. My review will be posted tomorrow. I also enjoyed this book a lot.

  8. I loved it! Glad to see you did too :)

  9. I love every Adriana Trigiani book I’ve read! I listened to the audio versions with Cassandra Campbell as the narrator, so I wonder if she’s attached to this book to voice! I’ll have to check, she is incredible.

  10. I read the two Valentine books, and absolutely loved them.
    I was wondering about this book, was not certain, but now I know I should read it.
    Also, Adriana Trigiani is coming to my local library on April 23rd. I think I shall try to attend.

  11. Glad to hear that her current books are as good as her earlier ones.

  12. I haven’t read any Trigiani yet, but I do have one of her books on my TBR. All in good time…

    • Stephanie she is a remarkable writer and her stories come from the heart. I have met her a couple of times now and it seems there is usually a back story to the books, connections to her life.
      I love that!

  13. I adored this book as well! Loved your review. You could really get your love for the novel and Trigiani from it.

  14. I’m looking forward to reading this book for the tour. I love books set in Italy and I love the fact that it’s based on Trigiani’s grandparents.

  15. I need to just put everything else on hold and pick up a Trigiani book – I keep saying I’m going to do it but never get around to it, and I just KNOW I’d love her writing!

    Thanks for being on the tour Sheila.

  16. This is one of the most beautiful covers I have seen in a while. Now that hardcopies need to be something special given the rise of ebooks, some in the marketing industry are really outdoing themselves with book design.

  17. I’m yet to read Adriana Trigiani but I do have a couple on my bookshelf. Since this is your favourite I should start with it. Thanks for wonderful review :)

  18. This was my first Trigiani, but it certainly won’t be my last :) Any suggestions for what to pick up next?

    • OOH they are so good, it is hard to choose…. the Viola books are good if you enjoy YA, the Valentine books are more big Italian family fun/romance, Life Lessons from my Grandmother is more non fiction about her grandmothers (and it is fantastic). Rococo on audio is hilarious – the narration makes it all so awesome.

  1. Pingback: Adriana Trigiani, author of The Shoemaker’s Wife, on tour April 2012 | TLC Book Tours

  2. Pingback: TLC Book Tour — The Shoemaker’s Wife | bibliosue

  3. Pingback: TLC Book Tour: The Shoemaker’s Wife « ReviewsbyLola's Blog

  4. Pingback: Review: The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani « I'm Booking It

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,543 other followers