Morning Meanderings… HELP! I Need A Book For A Project!

Good morning book lovers!  :D

Have I mentioned I feel really good?  Last week I had that sinus infection that was knocking me out – but today…. this week, I am feeling awesome.

So… what’s up with my post title?

A few months back I was contracted by a local magazine we have here called Her Voice to write a book review on a book with a holiday or Christmas theme for their winter edition.  No biggie right?  Except… I am having the hardest time picking something to review and my deadline in October 5, 800 words.

I would like it to a newer release, preferably this year so I can cover a newer book.  I struggle… as honestly – I don’t really enjoy Christmas or holiday themed books as they tend to be a little light and fluffy…. not that I want to review something called “The Christmas Massacre” either, but you know… a happy medium.  :razz:

I am asking you if you know of any titles I should check out or be on look out for.  Obviously, I need to start reading this “mystery” book within the next couple of weeks here.  Any recommendations would be appreciated.  :D

Yesterday I biked the same 20 miles that Wendy and I roller bladed on Monday.  Lets say…. it is easier to bike the miles than to blade them.  Yesterday was a gorgeous day and I could not (would not) be trapped inside… these days are too far and few between and I am all too aware of the weather that will be coming…

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on September 7, 2011, in Meanderings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. Sorry I don’t have a recommendation for you, but I had to tell you that thank you for the laugh you gave me this morning (desperately needed) – loved your “Christmas Massacre” comment. I couldn’t agree more w/you regarding Christmas books in general. Good luck with the search…and review/report. :)

  2. I tend not to read Christmas-themed books, but I do recall that Wally Lamb (not fluffy) had a book with that theme a couple of years ago…yeah, not new. It was called Wishin’ and Hopin’.

    Amazon Link: http://www.amazon.com/Wishin-Hopin-Christmas-Wally-Lamb/dp/B0054U54LG/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1315403383&sr=1-4

  3. There’s an anthology of short stories out this month called A Log Cabin Christmas: 9 Nine Romances of American Pioneer Christmases. I haven’t read it but came across it on Goodreads.

  4. I was going to recommend Wishin’ and Hopin’ as well, it is hilarious. I did recently read an Amish Christmas book called A Lancaster County Christmas by Suzanne Woods Fischer.

  5. I wish I had a suggestion to make, but I don’t read Christmas holiday books either. It’s very cool that you’re going to do the review though! I hope you get some good suggestions here to help you out.

  6. I’ll choose Biking over Blading anyday, you truly are fit Sheila, well done.

    I would recommend Silent Night by Mary Higgins Clark or for a great laugh You Better Not Cry by Augusten Burroughs

  7. I am afraid an initial think came up with nothing, not new anyway or anything I could send you even. Then I came across this list on Goodreads in a thread you might be interested in looking at.

    http://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/223955-christmas-themed-books

    The Gift – Cecelia Ahern
    Knit the Season A Friday Night Knitting Club Novel – Kate Jacobs
    The Stupidest Angel A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror, Version 2.0 – Christopher Moore
    An Idiot Girl’s Christmas True Tales from the Top of the Naughty List – Laurie Notaro
    You Better Not Cry Stories for Christmas – Augusten Burroughs
    Let It Snow Three Holiday Stories – John Green etc.
    A Redbird Christmas A Novel – Fannie Flagg
    The Mitford Snowmen – Jan Karon
    The Gift of the Magi – O. Henry
    Visions of Sugar Plums – Janet Evanovich
    Shakespeare’s Christmas – Charlaine Harris

    Do let me know what you decide on in the end Shelia.

  8. How exciting! I wish I knew of a title to help you out.

  9. I wish I could help, but its not really my subject either. Only one I can think of easily is a Maeve Binchey one that is probably over 10 years old at least. Was trying to remember if one of the chapters in The Red Garden by Alice Hoffman did, but it might have just been a couple winter set chapters.

  10. It’s not recent, but there’s a fictional biography of Santa that’s kinda cute. Of course, I can’t remember the title, so really, I’m no help.

  11. I am the opposite. I love Christmas books! I read a few every year in the fall. One that I recall really, really liking was “The Red Suit Diaries: A Real-Life Santa on Hopes, Dreams, and Childlike Faith” by Ed Butchart, but it isn’t very new. From the list above, “You Better Not Cry” just made me kind of sad, I was expecting it to be more humorous but I loved the Mitford Snowmen and Janet Evanovich is always good for humor so that one was fun! Debbie Macomber puts out a Christmas book every year so you could check her out. You may need to do a prior year because I doubt the books are out yet. Hope you have fun with your progect!

  12. How about The Spy Who Came for Christmas? at amazon

    It isn’t new but the MMP comes out on Oct 4

  13. I definitely will be haunting the aisles this year looking for The Christmas Massacre! LOL

  14. My Christmas In September feature will give you quite a few choices. http://rannthisthat.blogspot.com/p/christmas-in-september.html

  15. I think there is nothing wrong with the good old A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, especially if you have never read it.

    I also like the Mary Higgins Clark/Carol Higgins Clark mystery series.

    Skipping Christmas is a good one too.

  16. I don’t have a newer (this year) title to recommend, although I DID love The Christmas Chronicles by Tim Slover last year (more than a light, fluffy type of read). Good luck!

  17. I’ve read Skipping Christmas more than once and have really enjoyed it each time, it makes you think about the meaning of Christmas as well as laugh at all the silliness we put ourselves through!

  18. Trish Perry has a new one out, “On Christmas Morning”
    Dan Walsh’s “Remembering Christmas” …

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,528 other followers