Morning Meanderings… The Morning After Book Club

2a1

Picture this. 

Hair in my eyes, sleep pants and slip on sandals (I know… I know…), face still sleep lined but smile intact.

:D

That’s what the night after book club looks like.

Always.

After an evening of sharing food together, discussing the book, a glass of wine (or two), choosing the next book and just hanging out with a great group of girls…I always come home spent. 

BUT in such a good way.

I marvel at this motley crew of girls from different backgrounds, assorted ages… and we all gather in a room and we send a book through the process of well.. whatever we do with it… love it – hate it – in between.  Together we have shared tears, laughter, anger…  but the cool thing is –

we genuinely care about one another. 

AND THAT…

is the BEST part of Bookies. :D

We reviewed Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.  I knew it would be a great discussion.  And afterwards we decided to use our book in the bag money we collected (A library program where ten copies of the same book are checked out at once for groups) and purchase Me Before You so other groups can discuss this one as well.

Next up…  Secret Life Of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd.  An older title but I do not believe any of us have read it yet. 

On another completely (COMPLETELY) random note – I bought a Modern Family calendar in January.  I bought is because I LOVE the show and they are so funny… I have been meaning to put the quote each day up here and I forget.  I will put today’s up now – and if you do not get it – you MUST watch the show…. even if you do get it – you must watch the show.  Hilarious :D

Claire:  Nothing from the mini-bar, and no pay-per-view

Manny:  Can we at least -

Claire:  No, you can not send things out for pressing.

Have an AWESOME start to your day :D

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on February 12, 2014, in Being Bookie, Meanderings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Secret Life of Bees is a MUCH better book than movie IMHO. And please, remember the history that surrounds the story, and that SMK is a lay theologian

  2. Hope you enjoy The Secret Life of Bees….it’s been awhile since I read it, but it lingers in my mind.

  3. I love that your book club donates to the library like that!!

  4. I read Secret Life of Bees back when it first came out. I hope your group has fun with it!

  5. I need a group like that. *le sigh*

  6. I wish my group was like that! We “read”, but somehow the convo diverts to other topics. And we always have 1 woman in the group who constantly berates any book that is written by a woman and calls everything like that “chick lit” and says how she cannot “abide chick lit” When did authors like Sarah Addison Allen become chick lit is what the H I wonder? Argh!

    • I hear of many groups like that… I dont know how we got so lucky but we do discuss the book… some meetings we are really distracted but we get the review done :D I would crawl the walls I think if we had someone who was always negative….

  7. You make me want to start a bookies group of my own! Secret Life of Bees is wonderful, one of my faves.

  8. My book group just discussed Me Before You for our February book and we loved it. I hope you enjoy Secret Life of Bees. Will you watch the movie too?

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,542 other followers