Captain Phillips – Movie Review

1d

In 2009, Captain Richard Phillips, while taking his crew into international waters is hijacked by a small group of Somali Pirates who board the massive ship.  This is the first American ship to be hijacked in over 200 years.

 

Holy smokes.  I went into watching this movie having no knowledge of the ship or of Captain Phillips.  Sometimes I amaze myself how little I know.  :shock:

The movie is powerful.  It is fast moving and anxiety creating.  I was on the edge of the couch while watching as the Somali pirates led by their leader, Muse, took over this massive ship.  I could not even believe that these 4 pirates in a small motor boat were able to overtake such a massive ship – but they did.  I was amazed that the crew was unarmed. And it is a true story.

If you are looking to watch something AMAZING this weekend I highly recommend renting Captain Phillips.  I will most definitely be watching this one again.  There is also a book (YAY!) called Captain’s Duty.

 

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on January 23, 2014, in Movie review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. This is based on a true story but the crew claims Phillips wasn’t the hero the movie portrays him to be. I enjoyed what I saw of the movie, though – I had to leave early because the shaky camera work made me sick.

  2. I didn’t realize that this was already out on DVD – That may be just the ticket for this COLD night in Texas! (It’s 19 right now at 10:30 a.m. and I’m sure that sounds like a heat wave to you right now, but this thinblooded Texas gal is cold!!) :P

  3. I don’t usually watch dramas (I know crazy right?) but I really think I need to make an exception for this one.

  4. This just crossed my desk to catalog for the library:) yay – that you liked it.

  5. A true story? Wow. That does sound great. I don’t think I’d heard of this one before. Thanks for the heads up.

  6. I have been wanting to see this. I remember when this happened and it seemed like such an interesting story. The previews also make the move look very good. Tom Hanks seems perfectly cast for this one.

  7. I was impressed Brian :) I like Tom hanks so it was an easy sell :D

  8. This is already on dvd? O’ll have to get it. My husband really wants to see it too :)

  9. This is one I want to watch, mainly because of Tom Hanks. I love him!! LOL I am also a sucker for a true story.

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,542 other followers