Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich

1f

32 year old Holly Brennan was never what you would call a small girl.  When her husband at a young age suddenly became ill, Holly comforted herself with food.  When he passed away, the food addiction did not go away.

Then Holly meets Logan Montgomery on a plane.  Logan is fit, self-assured, confident, and good-looking.  Everything Holly feels she is not.  When Logan shares with Holly that he is a personal trainer and would like to work with her at a discounted rate to get her moving in the right direction, Holly figures why not, after all… she is not moving in any direction currently.

Turns out, Holly has some natural-born skills when it comes to working out.  She is hard-working, determined, has great strength and is flexible.  Before long Holly is shaping up and more than one guy is noticing, including Logan.  But is it really in the cards for Holly and Logan to be together?

Big Girl Panties for me, was a fun read with a great protagonist.  I really enjoyed Holly, who is funny, quick-witted, and doesn’t pull any punches when it comes to her weight issues.  She was an easy girl to cheer on as she reaches her goals.  I even enjoyed Logan who is not perfect by far, and has a few strange habits but deep inside, despite this, I liked him.

Big Girl Panties was one of those books that I picked up planning to read a few pages and then just kept reading to the point I carried it around the house with me while I made dinner, let the dogs out, and propped it up on the bathroom sink while I styled my hair.  It was quick and it was fun.

One word of advice, Big Girl Panties is a book that can easily be taken offense too.  It deals with weight issues and eating disorders and not always kindly.  There is talk of using liposuction to improve Holly’s body.  There is also some odd interactions regarding sexual activities that mainly comes from the direction of Logan’s friend Chase, but in some cases, Logan too.

Over all, I liked the book.  It’s not perfect, but I would probably be bored if it was.  I do not have to like all the characters in a book – and in this book I didn’t.  Holly is what keeps this book moving forward.  She was someone I wanted to root for, I wanted things to go well for her and you will too. :)

TLC Book Tours

Thank you to TLC book tours. It was a pleasure meeting Holly!

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on January 21, 2014, in Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Yes, I wanted to root for Holly, too. There were definitely some unlikable characters in the book, but I enjoyed it overall.

  2. I saw this on the list of the library’s audios. I think maybe I’m glad I didn’t pick it up.

  3. I keep meaning to read this. I love the cover.

  4. I went back and forth about this book. I loved Holly, but did not like Logan’s mindset at all. I did, however, like the author’s writing and will read her next book.

  5. Sounds like a fun read! (=

  6. I kind of felt the same way about this book. I liked it, didn’t love it.

  7. I have not read this one yet. I will have to add it to my ever teetering TBR pile!

  8. I actually enjoyed this book a lot. Yes Logan has some issues and some of friends have a little bit of a kinky side, but overall I loved this book. Holly was amazing and the authors writing style is one that I know I will enjoy reading more of. :)

  9. I’m not sure about this one. I think Logan may just drive me crazy.

  10. I think you’re right, perfection often equals boredom.

    Thanks for being on the tour Sheila!

  1. Pingback: Stephanie Evanovich, author of Big Girl Panties, on tour January/February 2014 | TLC Book Tours

  2. Pingback: TLC Book Tour: Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich | Books in the Burbs

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,543 other followers