Morning Meanderings… Holiday “Bookin It!”

2a1

Good morning!  Happy Saturday!  It is for me as the commitments today are low (WOO HOO!!!)

Yesterday I spent a little time on projects that I have put off for a while.  One was cleaning out the freezer (always a delightful task) and the other was putting a little love into the book room.  Let’s just say that the books that I bought mid August from the library sale were still in the room in the box I brought them home in.

With a little help from my audio friends, Eleanor and Park I went to work.  Here are the pictures that I am putting up for Saturday Snapshot this week of the results of that project:

2g

This is as you walk into the room. Note – the table is a new addition. This is the table from the demolition Al did last month. It is a gorgeous piece that I plan on refinishing in the spring.

2f

Here is a close up of the table. Oh and my rug… I love my rug too :)

2d

And this is the room from the other end facing back towards the door (which you can see open on the right).

The room, that used to be two bedrooms when I grew up here, and then was Al’s office until we built on to the shop, became a book room about 7 years ago.  It used to be an assortment of book shelves but last fall we had a friend of ours put wall to wall shelves in the room and wala!  Here we are.

Next Friday I am having friends over for a Christmas brunch and I think we will sit in    there!  :D

For today, this morning I am off to the gym with my friend Kate who makes me go when “I don’t want to!” but it is a good thing. :D  This afternoon my project is to get started on making caramels for our office staff.  Our Christmas party is Wednesday and I think this will be a fun gift… I will post pictures!  :D

Have a great Saturday!  Oh and check out Saturday Snapshot!

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on December 14, 2013, in Meanderings, Saturday Snapshots and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 78 Comments.

  1. I love your book room! I’m working on persuading my husband to build one in our basement. However, most of my books are in electronic or audio format so it won’t be quite as effective, sadly.

  2. Love your book room! Enjoy it.

  3. With a table, that room is turning into quite the library.

  4. Oh my!!! I absolutely love everything about this room!! Gorgeous!!

  5. What a wonderful book room. Thanks for sharing your photos. The table is gorgeous also.

  6. The table is a wonderful addition, and I love the shot where you can see the French doors leading into the room. I am a fan of those…and of rooms filled with books.

    Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

  7. I love the table, too! It’s an amazing find…and probably has an amazing history. I love stay at home Saturdays…love them…we are finally decorating the tree when I can tear myself away from The Burning Sky…and popping out to dinner tonight…date night!

  8. Oh, yes, that’s my kind of a project! Love it!

  9. What a wonderful room for a brunch with friends!

    Harvee
    Book Dilettante

  10. I am so jealous of your book room! It’s gorgeous. :)

  11. Oh, I am sooo jealous of you having a proper book room. We have a tiny house, so we have books in every room, and they spill our from shleves, and are stacked on and under furniture, and we can never find the book we want… My Snapshot is at http://goo.gl/Yar0fo

  12. Love the book room! :)

  13. The shelves look really good! I want to put in built in shelves. Lorrie told me if I buy the supplies he will do it for me next year. We will see if it works out! I am so sick of the cheap bookcases where the shelves bend.

  14. Your room looks fantastic. Love the table – a great addition. It doesn’t look like it needs to be refinished. :) Rug is very pretty.

    What a great room to work and to read in.

    Have fun on Friday at your Christmas brunch.

    You may have seen this post I am linking to, but I am using it instead of a snapshot.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Saturday Snapshot

  15. Wow, Sheila … your book room is wonderful, and I love the antique table. It’s perfect! I’ll bet you’ll have lots of fun at your brunch.

  16. I love that room! A book lovers haven!

  17. Wow! your room is amazing!!!

  18. I love your library and notice some empty spots on the shelves that need to be filled! lol

  19. What a room! I’d love something like that. I was astonished to see space on your shelves- so that is a possibility…. Your table is lovely.

  20. I love this room! I want a book room (at the very least a book wall) in the next place we live.

  21. How great to have a book room. Perhaps you should call it “The Library”.

  22. I have built-in shelves in my study. When my husband finished them, he said I would never fill them up. Ho, ho, ho! Speaking of, I hope Santa was watching when you did the freezer. You were very good, don’t you think? Love the table.

  23. I’m very envious of a book room! What a lovely space :-)

  24. Oh I love your book room – love all those shelves along the walls. I so need a friend who’ll push me to go to the gym! :) Happy weekend!

  25. OK, I literally felt like I was in a Room of Requirement! This room is AMAZING! The table is PERFECT! The chairs, the shelves—EVERYTHING! Don’t be surprised if you don’t walk into the room one day and I’m curled up in one of those chairs or working on that table! See, THIS is the kind of motivation for me to finally learn how to apparate! ;)

  26. The book room looks so inviting and you found the perfect spot for that table. I would love to have a library room but I have to settle for shelves in my office. I have no trouble finding a freezer to clean out around here – never high on my to-do list though.

    • The freezer is not high on my to do list either :D I think I was just tired of digging for what I was looking for and things falling out when I did… *sigh* :razz:

      • I’m laughing because I need outside motivation too. I just cleaned it because I couldn’t get the four frozen pizzas I bought onto the back shelf without emptying half of it out. At that point it was easier to just clean it and be done with it! Lots of room now. :)

        • When my son was home last week and opened it to look for something and things fell out I just looked at him and said, “Why? Why would you ever open that?” Then…. I knew I had a problem…LOL

          • Ah, tempted every time you’re near a fireplace, I bet ;) I was never fond of the messiness, and after Harry’s mishap…although it beats getting splinched! lol

            • LOL… I am cracking up here. Got to love the Harry Potter references… it never gets old! :D

              • So true! I can’t imagine it ever will for me, and I spent a few months truly immersed in it all, back with Half-Blood Prince was released. I had SUCH a blast :D I don’t do it as often—almost never, but whenever I’m around a fellow HP fan, it naturally comes out in certain situations :D I used to know it all—SO many little details—now I have to strain my brain for some of the simplest things *sigh*

  27. Oh it looks gorgeous, all shots! Love the table too

  28. That table was a wonderful addition to your book room, Sheila. It adds a certain character :) Makes me wish I had a room to devote to my book passion!

  29. Wow lots of books :D I am still waiting for bf to make shelves in our new home

  30. Wow! So many books! That looks great! I love that table too ;)

  31. Oh, that room! The PERFECT room — books right to the ceiling. So cozy!
    That table looks like it would have a rich history. And stories to tell.

  32. So many books. A reader’s dream. What do you need such a large table for? It’s gorgeous but large. I would probably put a couch in there (to nap) and a cushy chair for when I am awake and reading. LOL. I foolishly gave my loft to the kids. What a mistake that was.

  33. I am loving that table more and more :)

    So jealous of the book room, when i move out and get my own place the only requirement is a separate room just fr my reading area.

    Ashley
    Books Buying Beauty

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,543 other followers