Morning Meanderings…. Spending Time In The Library

2a1

Good morning!  Happy Saturday.  Current Brainerd Minnesota weather -21.   :shock:   NO kidding… I just looked.  No wonder the dogs were like “are you kidding me?” when I let them out this morning.  

For today’s Saturday Snapshot, I thought I would show you where I have been this week and what I have been doing. :D 

This past week I have spent quite a bit of time in our local library. This week I spent time working on the display window changing it out to good December reading.

2b

Last weekend a group of the Friends came in on Sunday when the Library is closed and decorated for the holidays.  It was the first time I participated in this and it was a lot of fun.  We put up three trees and decorations on shelves, greenery everywhere and wreaths too.

3

3aa

3aaa

3c

Yesterday I was at the library for most of the day.  I went in the morning to drop off my lap top and pick out donated books to make a “book tree”.  As usual, I underestimated the amount of time it would take to do such a project.  After an hour of picking out the right size books, I left for a coffee meet up I had with a friend.  Then I came back for a meeting on the Friends logo that we are working on designing.  This meeting went 2 1/2 hours.  Then I went back to work on my tree which took me about another hour and a half.  I left the library at 5:20 pm.   I neglected to take a picture of the book tree but I will try to capture that today.

Today is the Friends Of The Brainerd Public Library Open House.  This is the day that we invite the public to come and check out the decorated library and enjoy a cookie and coffee or juice.  I am excited to go and hang out with the friends from 10 -2 today.  If you live in the area, stop by and say hi! 

3a

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on December 7, 2013, in Meanderings, Saturday Snapshots and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. That’s really cool that you helped decorate the library. It looks good!

  2. Fun times at the library! Looking forward to your book tree.

  3. I want to visit your library! It looks wonderfully cozy and beautifully decorated.

  4. What a fun way to show off your local library ! Bet the Open House will be great fun! Enjoy those cookies and cider!

  5. Your volunteer hours at the library are impressive. I love the library! Here’s Mine

  6. I look forward to seeing your book tree! I haven’t checked out the library here yet. Just been too busy since the move.

  7. The library looks cozy and festive…conducive to lots of reading! Nice job on the display! Can’t wait to see the tree!

  8. The open house should be fun – and the decorations make it look warm and inviting even though everyone will have to go out in the crazy cold to get there.

  9. Love the trees! Sounds like you have so much fun volunteering at the library. I think I may check into that after my library opens back up.

    Hope today is a big success!

  10. It looks brilliant :-)

  11. How great to be involved in decorating the library. It looks great, so welcoming.

  12. Thanks for sharing your fabulous day/weekend. Your library looks great!

  13. I made a book tree at my library and it definitely took more time (and books) than I thought it would! We put up the book tree instead of using our regular tree for something different. Our other decorations include holiday themed “I Spy” boxes (each one has a riddle and represents a holiday story like The Polar Express) that were used for our kids’ program.

    The trees you helped decorate look really cute and I love the book display!

  14. Look forward to your Book Tree! I tried to make a little one and it was um… epic failure :p

    Hubby would not allow me to actually have a Book Tree as our Christmas Tree as according to him it’s fire hazardous so I can only look at other people’s photos :D

  15. Decorating is work, but can be so much fun—especially when surrounded by BOOKS! I’m trying to catch up on a few days of blogs and hope you’ve put up a pic of the Book Tree. Can’t wait to see it!

    P.S. I love the knit hat in the case :D

  16. You have so much fun at your library.

    Everything looks GREAT!!

    THANKS for sharing.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  17. That is so cool. I just assumed the librarians were the only one who were allowed to do displays. I would love to do book displays! And I’m curious on making a Christmas book tree, have seen a few online and it looks neat

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,533 other followers