Morning Meanderings…. Bookies annual FAVORITE book exchange

1j

Good morning!

Tuesday evening of this week was our Bookies get together around our review of The Fate Of Mercy Alban by Wendy Webb.   I am not sure why – but I did forget to take pictures of the food…

So…. picture this:

French onion soup with crunchy garlic bread

chicken breast tenderloin plain, and some with orange sesame sauce served with chicken broccoli rice

a pepperoni pasta salad

cole slaw salad

chocolate cake

rhubarb cake

Some of the foods are out of a meal they had in the book on page 85.

I will tell you more about the book review later, but for now I want to focus after the review.  This is our second year doing a favorite book exchange.  The rules are:

1.  The book should be a favorite of yours

2.  You have read the book and LOVED it

3. put a post it note in the inside cover sharing why you loved this book and if you want it back or if it is to keep

4.  Wrap up the book.

1

Then what we did was put the wrapped books on the floor and we each took a turn choosing a book, opening it and hearing why it was the givers favorite book. (That is my favorite part, listening to the given share why they loved a particular book).

1

This is such a great time.  Now our task is to read the book we have chosen and talk about next month at our annual Queen event and potluck celebration.  SO EXCITED!

As for life… I am busy working on the 5k that we are putting on this Saturday morning.  I put 10 hours in yesterday and who knows what I will do today to make sure we are ready.  Its good fun though – 116 registrants at the time I left work yesterday.  Today I will help assemble the swag bags – t-shirt, water bottle – and yes, a book, Every Body Matters by Gary Thomas. :D

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on June 13, 2013, in Being Bookie, Meanderings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. I want a list of titles – I can’t tell what they all are in the little photos! Y’all have so much fun!!

  2. I love that you put a book in the bag for running. The favorite book exchange sounds interesting. I think I might get some if my friends together to try this. (None of them want to commit to a book club monthly)

  3. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    Sounds like a fabulous night, I’m jealous!

  4. What a fun and unique way to share books. I am smiling from ear to ear to see that my new novel was among the favorite books!!!!!

  5. Wow, I love your idea of a book club! :-)

  6. This is a fun idea, and a good way to get to know your book club members too by the books they love to read.

  7. Your book club is such a fun group! Thanks for sharing….

  8. You are one busy lady. And…this sounds like such fun.

    Great idea for book exchanges.

    Have a good one. It is still raining here. We sure were lucky the weather was good for the BEA. Can you imagine going everywhere in the rain. Ugggghhhhh.

    Elizabeth

  9. What a neat thing for a book club to do! I may have to steal the idea for my book club… I’m not sure what I’d bring. though. Maybe a favorite Terry Pratchett, he’d go over well with just about anyone in my group!

  10. I am part of the Jane Austen Society and we did a similar book exchange. It was so much fun! What book did you get? And what book did you choose to give?

    • Oh fun Hannah! I got The Rescue, Nicholas Sparks. I am not a big Sparks fan but I will read it :D I actually gave two as one girl forgot to bring one so I covered her – Ready Player One (LOVED!!!!) and Six Years by Harlan Coben. Awesome reads!

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,543 other followers