Safe Haven (Movie Review)

1a1a1

Katie (actress Julianne Hough) has had enough of walking on egg shells whenever her husband, Tierney (David Lyons), is near.  The abuse both physical and mental raises to such a level that Katie fears for her life.  One night she decided there is only one thing she can do.

She runs.

After cutting and dyeing her hair, Katie seeks shelter in a small North Carolina town where townsfolk are curious about this newcomer who keeps to herself and has rented the small home in the woods on the outskirts of town.  Alex (Josh Duhamel), a widowed store owner seems particularly curious about Katie, as she turns down any offer of help he gives for home improvements or transportation.  Eventually Katie befriends another single girl named Jo who lives not far from Katie and becomes a kind of confidant. 

But as Katie is starting to relax into her new life, Tierney has not given up on looking for his wife and the longer it takes to find her the angrier he becomes.  Practically psychotic with thoughts of her with someone else he finds a clue that sets him in the right direction.

2a1a1

 

Holy awesomeness!  When I read Safe Haven a few months back, I was so impressed by the book that I was nervous about the movie not living up to it.  I need not have feared.  Once I put this DVD on, I stopped everything and just watched. 

Safe Haven was beautifully done, and while you may think you have it all wrapped up in a neat “Sparks like” bow you will (oh yes you will!) find yourself blown away by a plot twist that is ovation worthy and really took me for a loop – yes, even after I had read the book.  I loved this movie.  The acting was well done, I was fully engaged in the story line – Tierney was every bit of whacked out creepy that I felt he should be for a crazed abusive nut case husband (think Sleeping With The Enemy creepy… and then double it). 

I hope you will consider renting or purchasing this movie.  Not only is a good cold evening chick flick, it also would make for a good couples or girls night in showing.  I was impressed and I will definitely watch this one again.

 

Thank you to 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment

for the review copy of  this movie in exchange for an honest review.

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on June 5, 2013, in Movie review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I really loved this movie as well! Tierney was so very creepy!

  2. How did I miss this one? The movie blew you away even though you had already read the book. Now that says a lot about how good this movie is.

  3. It had been awhile since I’d read the book (2011); but the movie brought me right back into it. And I agree that it was well done, not cheesy at all. Definitely one to watch.

  4. I hadn’t though much of the film from the ads on tele but your review makes me want to give it a chance. It sounds gripping!

  5. I saw the movie but never read the book . . Terrible, I know, but now I definitely need to read it if the movie lived up to it!

  6. I can’t recommend seeing this movie unless you want to be bored with a romance that’s not even anything special. Good review Sheila.

  7. I liked the book up until the plot twist that you mentioned but I thought it worked better in the book than it did in the movie. I did like the movie more than The Lucky One. That was a disappointment to me (though I didn’t read the book so maybe it is better than the movie).

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,543 other followers